SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Advance Pattern Company> 8599 (Girls dress or slip)

Viewed 227 times 
Reviewed by:vespabelle
photo

 
 
About vespabellestar
OR USA
Member since: 9/18/03
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/08 6:59 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Primatoidefutile said...
I like the dress and the combination of shapes and colors very much (plus, it is a twirly dress, I spent my childhood longing for this kind of dresses, could never have enough)
6/8/08 4:48 AM
lilyofthevalley said...
OMG, Vespabelle, when I clicked on your Project Photo of your sweet and lean little Darling, I had a major deja vu flashback! Not only as a child did I HAVE this dress in green and white (made by my Aunt), but the dress was taken back to add the same solid color bodice piece to accommodate for my unexpected height. History has repeated itself! And you've made this little dress as beautifully as my Aunt did for me. Thanks for the Memories. -Lily
6/5/08 6:11 PM
CarolynGM said...
Your daughter looks quite pleased to be wearing your creation. It's a charming dress for a little girl.
6/4/08 4:18 PM
Heatherrique said...
This is such a delightfully beautiful dress! I adore your take on this vintage giving it a modern edge, yet timeless appeal! Spectacular and clever use of color, fabric, and detailing! Your daughter is a sparkling jewel!
6/4/08 7:48 AM
bell N said...
I hope we never live in a world where little girls don't like twirly dresses. I like the style and the material you chose. I'm trying to narrow down my vote for the vintage contest, and this is certainly one of the top 5. So hard to choose.
6/3/08 7:44 AM
Kellie R. said...
What a beautiful dress! You did such a great job capturing the essence of the vintage styling and your daughter is just gorgeous! Fantastic job!
6/1/08 11:32 PM
Johanna Lu said...
Soo cute, and I love your choice of colours and print. This is the sort of dress that puts a smile on everyone face :) Great work!
6/1/08 4:50 AM
Em's Summer said...
Your daughter looks so cute and cheerful in this adorable dress! I love the cherry print! And great save on the bodice length! It looks like it was part of the original design. Doesn't look like a save at all! Great job!
5/31/08 11:17 PM
sew42mom said...
Adorable dress! Nothing is more fun than a twirly dress.
5/31/08 10:27 PM
sew42mom said...
Adorable dress! Nothing is more fun than a twirly dress.
5/31/08 10:27 PM
pterion said...
My 7 yr old daughter is looking at reviews with me and she especially likes this dress (me too!). The colors and print are so fun and the style is so creative! She would like you to make her one too ;-)
5/31/08 9:30 PM
Kbenco said...
The red waistband and skirt addition take this use of the pattern from a pretty dress to a beautiful, individual garment, so I'm glad it was too short!. Your daughter seems very pleased with the dress, twirly skirts are the best!
5/31/08 9:21 PM
MagpieJen said...
That is darling! I would never had known the dress wasn't designed with the extra waist and hem panel - they flow together in the overall design really nicely.
5/31/08 8:38 PM
Tiner W said...
Sweet dress!
5/31/08 7:59 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
What a CUTE dress!!!! I think my mom has this pattern; I'll have to look!!! You did a wonderful job!!!
5/31/08 7:44 PM
cindy-lou said...
this is BEAUTIFUL! Fantastically done.
5/31/08 7:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Other Sinbad & Sailor

photo
by: hazelbobv

Review
J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Buy Now