Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Advance Pattern Company: 8599 (Girls dress or slip) - Type:Kids(boys & girls)    printable version
Viewed 225 times
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:vespabelle
photo
About vespabellestar
OR USA
Member since: 9/18/03
Reviews written: 13
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 13
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:5/31/08 6:59 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindy-lou said...
this is BEAUTIFUL! Fantastically done.
5/31/08 7:11 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
What a CUTE dress!!!! I think my mom has this pattern; I'll have to look!!! You did a wonderful job!!!
5/31/08 7:44 PM
Tiner W said...
Sweet dress!
5/31/08 7:59 PM
MagpieJen said...
That is darling! I would never had known the dress wasn't designed with the extra waist and hem panel - they flow together in the overall design really nicely.
5/31/08 8:38 PM
Kbenco said...
The red waistband and skirt addition take this use of the pattern from a pretty dress to a beautiful, individual garment, so I'm glad it was too short!. Your daughter seems very pleased with the dress, twirly skirts are the best!
5/31/08 9:21 PM
pterion said...
My 7 yr old daughter is looking at reviews with me and she especially likes this dress (me too!). The colors and print are so fun and the style is so creative! She would like you to make her one too ;-)
5/31/08 9:30 PM
sew42mom said...
Adorable dress! Nothing is more fun than a twirly dress.
5/31/08 10:27 PM
sew42mom said...
Adorable dress! Nothing is more fun than a twirly dress.
5/31/08 10:27 PM
Em's Summer said...
Your daughter looks so cute and cheerful in this adorable dress! I love the cherry print! And great save on the bodice length! It looks like it was part of the original design. Doesn't look like a save at all! Great job!
5/31/08 11:17 PM
Johanna Lu said...
Soo cute, and I love your choice of colours and print. This is the sort of dress that puts a smile on everyone face :) Great work!
6/1/08 4:50 AM
Kellie R. said...
What a beautiful dress! You did such a great job capturing the essence of the vintage styling and your daughter is just gorgeous! Fantastic job!
6/1/08 11:32 PM
bell N said...
I hope we never live in a world where little girls don't like twirly dresses. I like the style and the material you chose. I'm trying to narrow down my vote for the vintage contest, and this is certainly one of the top 5. So hard to choose.
6/3/08 7:44 AM
Heatherrique said...
This is such a delightfully beautiful dress! I adore your take on this vintage giving it a modern edge, yet timeless appeal! Spectacular and clever use of color, fabric, and detailing! Your daughter is a sparkling jewel!
6/4/08 7:48 AM
CarolynGM said...
Your daughter looks quite pleased to be wearing your creation. It's a charming dress for a little girl.
6/4/08 4:18 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
OMG, Vespabelle, when I clicked on your Project Photo of your sweet and lean little Darling, I had a major deja vu flashback! Not only as a child did I HAVE this dress in green and white (made by my Aunt), but the dress was taken back to add the same solid color bodice piece to accommodate for my unexpected height. History has repeated itself! And you've made this little dress as beautifully as my Aunt did for me. Thanks for the Memories. -Lily
6/5/08 6:11 PM
Primatoidefutile said...
I like the dress and the combination of shapes and colors very much (plus, it is a twirly dress, I spent my childhood longing for this kind of dresses, could never have enough)
6/8/08 4:48 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

McCall's 5616 Girl's Dress
photo
Review by Erica B. on 5/19/08
Read Review

Butterick 5281 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5281 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4201 Pattern ( Size 20-22-24 )
Butterick 4201 Pattern ( Size 20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2178
photo
Review by Johanna Lu on 7/5/11
Read Review

Oliver S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )
Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us