SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4859 (Misses Skirts)

9 more reviews
Viewed 771 times 
Reviewed by:merteuil
photo

 
 
About merteuilstar
SWITZERLAND
Member since: 3/18/08
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 8
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/1/08 6:53 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 9 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
morzel said...
The contrast is just what I like with this skirt! I find the colours much better chosen than the example on the patternpage. So go for it! Why not sew something matching for it? Black tee with cream neckband or such?
6/1/08 7:43 AM
merteuil said...
thanks morzel. I have some of both fabrics left over, and was considering using them to make a top. I was thinking of Vogue 8393 View C, with the upper part in cream, just as you suggest.
6/1/08 7:55 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
High contrast is high style.. great skirt... Great selection & execution. Wear it.. it is fabulous! So perfect for a little summer sizzle.
6/1/08 8:10 AM
nglalala said...
the skirt looks great!
6/1/08 10:08 AM
fabeins said...
That's beautiful. DO wear it!
6/1/08 10:27 AM
edot said...
I think it's excellent! Sometimes contrast works better in theory, other times better in person; and while I don't think I'm adventurous enough to have thought to put black and white together, I think the result is much more striking and fantastic than a lesser contrasting pair. Kudos! It looks lovely on you.
6/1/08 11:13 AM
CarolynGM said...
I love the drama of the high contrast. This is a beautiful skirt.
6/1/08 11:41 AM
Tiner W said...
Beautiful! I love the contrast!
6/1/08 1:20 PM
Sic said...
Lovely skirt - the contrast is very striking, but tasteful! Choosing linen for the fabric was truly inspired!
6/1/08 2:25 PM
Beek said...
Great skirt. I bet it will look flattering when you walk in it. It will have movement and style.
6/1/08 2:39 PM
okie2thdoc said...
I think the high contrast is what makes this skirt great. I'd definitely wear it with some cute strappy heels. If I had the ability to mix like that, I'd do it more often- wear it with a little attitude;) it's very fashionable.
6/1/08 4:50 PM
sew42mom said...
Wear it!!!
6/1/08 5:02 PM
MareeAlison said...
To be honest I wasn't sure at first about the contrasting fabrics but when I saw your photo album I was convinced. This is fantastic - you should really wear it.
6/1/08 6:58 PM
MagpieJen said...
That is a smashing skirt! I love the flare of the hem, and I think the contrast really flatters the figure.
6/2/08 0:23 AM
cathy45 said...
The contrast is well done--This is soo chic looking!
6/2/08 8:54 AM
Hikerbeth said...
Lovely clear and detailed photographs really enhance this review. Especially as most of us sewers are visual people. Well Done!
12/4/09 0:50 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Vogue Patterns 1027

photo
by: emr

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2011-108

photo
by: nicegirl

Review
Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Christine Jonson Travel Trio Two

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Jamie Christina Honey Girl Dress and Top Pattern (JC304HG)

Buy Now