Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4699 (Wardrobe Elements) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 620 times 16 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 19 people   
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR
About Annette1starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 147
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/1/08 2:34 PM
Last Updated:6/1/08 3:36 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Beek said...
Great review. Yes, I know EXACTLY what you mean about sheet rock interfacing. Why can't these chain stores carry some of the good stuff???? Anyway, your Aunt Anna Ruth is going to look great in her new jacket. Very nice of you to whip it up for her!
6/1/08 2:55 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Annette, what a GORGEOUS 2nd jacket for Aunt Anna Ruth. The back shaping, the sleek front, and the unique sleeve cuffs, together with your beautiful linen jacquard, absolutely speaks to a Lady of Style from Galveston. I suspect, also, that this fit is going to be closer to the mark, given Aunt Anna Ruth's mysterious 'good fit, looser' remark. Finding her exact shape may be a multiple mystery-dinner-theater experience, so buy an econo size bottle of Excedrin. Regardless of precise fit (or no), there's not a Southern Lady alive who could resist this Summer Dream of a jacket. Quite Yummy, Lily
6/1/08 3:20 PM
Heatherrique said...
Wow! Another breathtakingly beautiful jacket for Aunt Anna Ruth (lucky lady!) Thanks for another helpful review...I like the tip on using rayon seam binding.... That would have been so useful for a previous project! Your work is what I aspire to achieve. Aunt Anna Ruth will keep wanting more for her wardrobe! ;-)
6/1/08 3:54 PM
Athene said...
Another beautiful jacket. Your aunt will love it. I enjoy your reviews so much - always full of good info and great pictures.
6/1/08 4:39 PM
HeyJane said...
I want to be Aunt Anna Ruth ! I have been gardening lately instead of sewing, oh well. This is a beautiful jacket and that seam binding looks really pretty. Thanks for the info on this pattern - I would not have noticed the detail on those seams otherwise.
6/1/08 5:01 PM
lmg said...
Pretty jacket in a lovely colour. Aunt Anna Ruth is a lucky gal.
6/1/08 5:36 PM
cmarie12 said...
I love the jackets that you make and this one is no exception! You always make me look at patterns differently!
6/1/08 5:43 PM
Peggy L said...
Great jacket! You must be #! niece with the great clothes you are making your aunt.
6/1/08 7:05 PM
Kay Y said...
Gorgeous fabric - this simple pattern shows it off perfectly!
6/1/08 8:14 PM
Mahler said...
You made me laugh with this so well written and humorist review. The jacket is gorgeous and all the little squares match... time consuming cutting steps ! ;-) Beautiful. Will we see pictures of Anna Ruth wearing it ? Plus how is your hair going ?
6/1/08 8:16 PM
Darla in PA said...
Very nice jacket! Thanks for pointing out this pattern. Anna Ruth is one lucky lady!
6/1/08 8:25 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Love the jacket - I hope it fits!!
6/1/08 8:25 PM
carolynw said...
Absolutely gorgeous - Aunt Ruth is one lucky lady. Hey Annette - can I be your Aunt Carolyn? You can get really nice interfacing on-line - will PM you with my faves
6/1/08 10:00 PM
Kbenco said...
I would have a headache if I had to match that plaid. Your matching looks great. I think this looks like a great jacket. Thanks for pointing out the interesting wrap around side front, I am now much more interested in this pattern!
6/2/08 6:19 AM
ITAdmin said...
This struck a chord with me, since I'm in a "don't like any interfacing I use" mood. You made a beautiful jacket, though, and wrote a very useful review as always.
6/2/08 6:24 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Another great looking jacket. I like the back details you mentioned. After looking at the line drawings it helped to see this feature with the fabric.
6/2/08 6:48 AM
Karen8320 said...
Annette, you've done another great job! This looks like a really casual, yet smart jacket and the fabric is perfect for summer. I like the shaping at the back and your photos pick it up really well. I think shaping is always a good thing!
6/2/08 7:49 AM
Rustybobn said...
Love the jacket and enjoy your reviews. I have this pattern and haven't looked twice at the jacket--until now! Thanks.
6/2/08 9:49 AM
Jane S said...
Thanks for such a useful review...and I'm sure Anna Ruth is even more grateful for such a lovely jacket. I have this pattern (of course,LOL) but didn't realize there was no side seam. Now I'm inspired to look more closely at it!
6/2/08 12:03 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, I second clin, if you ever feel like adopting another auntie -I- would be glad to send you every measurement of mine you ever need, and let you publish them on the web no less :-). Seriously, this looks fabulous, and I'm sure a puckered fabric will be heaven in steambath Texas. Do you really not know anyone there who could take some sneak pictures of her wearing your jackets? I've been inspired by a friend who did a long-distance wedding dress with photo fittings to do the same, and it works. But it sounds like you'd probably have to be sneaky with Anna Ruth, she's not likely to button it up so you can see she needs more bust room or anything like that.. Sigh. Maybe she'll loosen up, with time..
6/2/08 2:42 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Other Merckwaerdigh BHS10 Bras
photo
Review by Sigrid. on 3/7/12
Read Review

Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern
Oliver & S Woodland Stroll Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Open Toe Slingbacks Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Open Toe Slingbacks Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2638 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by sachalsmom on 3/10/11
Read Review

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Chelsea
Chelsea

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1333 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 1333 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1268 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )
Vogue 1268 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us