SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 6996 (60's Short Jacket, Dress)

Viewed 520 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 101 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/1/08 10:13 PM
Last Updated:6/1/08 10:13 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Speech girl said...
Your jacket is cute--love the yellow.
6/1/08 10:31 PM
Frogstitcher said...
I hear ya, having just completed my own disappointing "coulda been wadder" jacket. The combine color and style certainly are au courant. Cute pattern and color.
6/1/08 10:53 PM
CynthiaSue said...
i think this was a complete success-not even close to a wadder! Yours looks just as good as the designer examples you showed us! Thank you for the heads up on trendy style. I had no idea! Your jacket is gorgeous!
6/1/08 11:30 PM
Sew Confused said...
Props to you for sticking with it and turning a would-be wadder into a wearable garment! Well done.
6/1/08 11:57 PM
Annette1 said...
Hey, I happen to LIKE that funky collar! My favorite part is the "martingale" belt, though (which, oddly enough, I didn't even notice on the pattern itself). This is super cute on you! If you don't care for it as a work jacket or whatever, wear it as outerwear. Think how bright and cheerful it would be on a dreary day. :o) Great review!
6/2/08 0:10 AM
Em's Summer said...
Oh! I know exactly how you feel as I've had my share of projects that didn't turn ou the way I thought they would. I'm soo sorry that this pattern was problematic! Even if it didn't quite work out the way you wanted it to, I think you picked a great style and color! This style looks good on you. Maybe make another one using a different pattern?
6/2/08 1:06 AM
JMarie1962 said...
I really admire you for having the patience to keep working on this jacket and making it into a really remarkable garment. It's very eye-catching and a great color! (I love yellow, but can't wear it with my lily-white skin!) Nice job... and as always - fun review
6/2/08 1:31 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Oh, ouch! Well, I adore the color :-). But underlining seems to be a technique that was fairly recently rediscovered and which is being really abused. It really has only 2 applications where you should ever consider such a horrible pain. One is when you live in Alaska and need all the warmth you can get. That is when you think for some reason (trial at the Supreme Court?) you can't just wear the best Malden Mills has to offer :-). But if you can afford thicker wool melton (or just silk undies) that works much better. And the other application is if you have fabric that's so lightweight, so ravely, so utterly bodyless that it'll droop and dissolve on contact. Then you may think you have to underline it to give it a bit of oomph. But if you know you want a jacket it's much easier to pick fabric that you know will make a good jacket to begin with. And if you underline you -must- use organza, the only thing with the body/weight ratio that works satisfactorily without giving you a winter coat. Or you can use flannel if you're trying to make a chiffon jacket for some odd reason. Much easier to use fusible interfacing. Let me point out that underlining is a technique developed before the invention of fusible interfacing, and which got out of favor as soon as the better alternative was available. I've done the flannel-for-warmth thing once, that was the easy version where things don't slip. Since then I prefer to live in warmer climates, and donate unsuitable jacket fabric to the unsuspecting..
6/2/08 1:38 AM
Gelbean said...
I see no wadder here. Simply a chic jacket in a vibrant color. Since it's too heavy for Spring you can save it for Fall.
6/2/08 3:42 AM
Kbenco said...
I admire your persistance. I think vogue has some really strange ideas about what is "easy", I made a jacket with more than 20 pieces to sew together (V2925) that vogue thought was "easy". I ended up reading about 20 tailoring books before I could make it! Thanks for your review pointing out all the tricky areas - you have done some great work on this cool colour jacket!
6/2/08 6:12 AM
ryan's mom said...
I'm so glad you stuck with it! The jacket is definitely not a wadder, but I can empathize with your frustration on projects like this. I think it can totally change how we feel about the garment in general. And I just love how you link the retro looks with the modern, in vogue styles! I could never do that being the fashion dullard that I am LOL.
6/2/08 6:47 AM
Karen8320 said...
The only person who ever thinks a garment is a wadder is the sewist. No-one else ever really casts such a critical eye over a project. I actually think this looks really good on you. I also think your funky collar looks heaps more interesting than the collar pictured on the pattern envelope! I, also, have a major problem with underlining things as it is so time-consuming so I try to find alternatives. You've obviously learned a lot with this project and I would strongly encourage you to give it another shot soon. The style looks good on you.
6/2/08 7:40 AM
CA Eisenhour said...
Oh Louella, I feel your pain!!! LOL! Never-the-less, your jacket turned out really cute. I too was going to make bound button holes; practiced and practiced on scraps until finally giving up due to the FABRIC!! Good for you for sticking with your project and seeing it to the end! As always, Great review!! ~Connie
6/2/08 8:35 AM
emo said...
I know how you feel! But the color on this is so great; I'm sure you'll wear it, maybe when it gets a bit colder?
6/2/08 8:37 AM
michellep74 said...
That yellow is a great color on you! I'm so glad that you decided to persevere on and save this jacket!
6/2/08 10:49 AM
wvsher said...
Yes, the short double breasted jacket crops up again and again every decade or so and probably always will, as long as people dress up once in a while. You did a nice job with a difficult project. The dress looks super-cute. I hope you sew it if you haven't already.
6/2/08 11:55 AM
Heatherrique said...
Thanks for your sweet words, everyone! Fuzzygalore, thanks for that useful info...You deserve very helpful stars for that!
6/2/08 6:32 PM
kim*brown said...
I love the variety of styles you choose. I love this color on you. The eyes are scaring me though. LOL. I appreciate your sharing the good and the bad. I always learn so much from people's mistakes or the pattern co. mistakes. Thanks for sharing!
6/4/08 4:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Chris W Designs Evelyn

photo
by: heemee

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Buy Now