SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Contest> MY Pattern 2008 

7 more reviews
Viewed 904 times 
Reviewed by:Luckylibbet
photo

 
 
About Luckylibbetstar
CA USA
Member since: 7/28/03
Reviews written: 21
Favored by: 9 people
patterns reviewed: 20
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/15/08 5:59 PM
Last Updated:8/1/08 1:51 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
AnneM said...
Great jacket! Congratulations. Love your buttonholes.
8/11/08 9:02 PM
Marji said...
Love the relationship of the blouse to the inspiration piece, and so happy you were able to save it after the sleeve cutting. Isn't it the truth about sewing a garment that you've designed - if you had to write or follow directions for it, you wouldn't get it made?!? Great fit and wonderful blouse. Congrats on finishing this complex garment.
8/8/08 2:47 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great blouse! I really like your interesting design line and the way you thought outside the square. I can't believe you did all the drafting manually . Wow, that's a lot of work! Well done and great review!
8/7/08 4:53 AM
trishapatk said...
Great job! Your fitted assymetrical jacket is very pleasing ... visually balanced. The band like sections at the front of the neckline and hemline really pull it together nicely. Keep up the good work!
8/3/08 9:58 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Splendid!!! And such a detailed review to inspire all of us. Excellent workmanship...you are so talented!
8/1/08 6:55 AM
prudence rabbit said...
Fabulous jacket!
7/31/08 2:55 PM
Christine B said...
I really enjoyed reading your review and seeing the entire process described in such wonderful detail. (Great taste in music, too!)
7/31/08 2:17 PM
Mahler said...
Bravo, this project is a great success. Your blouse looks wonderful !
7/31/08 12:11 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Congratulations! The buttons are beautiful and really fit the top well. I love that you took an bracelet and transformed it into a top - Fabulous job!
7/31/08 8:02 AM
Annette1 said...
I'm SO GLAD you sent me a note to tell me your jacket was done, or I may very well have missed it, especially since I'm behind on my newsletters and notices in the first place, and once you get so far behind, there's no catching up. At any rate, how TOTALLY COOL! I LOVE this jacket. Surely you wouldn't mind just WHIPPING OUT a pattern for ME, would you? :o)) This fits you to a T, and I REALLY like the picture of the jacket on you, first of all, AND the close-up picture that shows your in-seam buttonholes and the texture of the fabric. You deserve whatever your reward of choice is for finishing this off to such perfection. I know it's a unique jacket, but I hope you'll make another one anyway, you've put so much work into this. So what albums will you be playing for you NEXT project? :o) (You can tell I'm getting old, as I still call them "albums.") MOVE OVER, CLAUDE, HEATHER IS IN THE HOOOOOOOOUSE!!! :O)
7/31/08 4:26 AM
Johanna Lu said...
Really cool jacket, and I really enjoyed following your process (oh, and the drama - I can soo relate, I have cut into everything). The details are really cool too, love the inseam button holes and the binding (it looks like it matches the buttons)
7/31/08 3:37 AM
Heatherrique said...
Wow, a sensational looking jacket!
7/30/08 9:35 PM
Athene said...
A very attractive asymetrical jacket. Really great to see the final picture on you.
7/30/08 9:31 PM
bananaoil said...
I'm looking forward to see what fabric you have in mind for this. It looks good.
7/17/08 0:03 AM
Larkin said...
Wow! This is great fun to watch - looks like it will be a truly wonderful outfit!
7/16/08 4:57 PM
Laurasews said...
LL..I hope you are on top of the health issues. Can't wait to see the results. Best of health to you.
7/16/08 0:41 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Looks like your making good progress. I really does look like you drawing and inspiration!
7/15/08 11:05 PM
Athene said...
I am continuing to follow with great interest and eagerly await your next update.
7/15/08 10:20 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
This looks incredible!! Please keep all of us updated as to the progress of this striking and chic ensemble.
7/15/08 8:45 PM
Annette1 said...
The only bad thing is now that this has posted as a finished review, we won't see it listed in the daily newsletter or get an email that our favorite reviewer has done a new review. :o( I don't like that feature. I wish updated reviews would be shown as "new" for those purposes. As it is, this means we'll just have to keep our eyes peeled for an updated review in the gallery. I can barely keep my eyes open half the time, much less peeled. I suppose you could start a new review and then link to this one somehow. MY Pattern: Part 1 and Part 2. Just let me know if you want any more unsolicited opinions. :o)
7/15/08 8:12 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, you're making WONDERFUL progress! I love the FIT of this. And I REALLY like the bands on the bottom and that asymmetrical closure. But I'd have to say my FAVORITE part at this point, anyway, is the BACK, with that curved, pointed yoke and the vertical seaming. MOVE OVER, ISSEY, LUCKYLIBBET IS IN THE HOOOOOOUUUUUUSE!
7/15/08 8:06 PM
Athene said...
Love your sketch outfit and am following your progress with great interest. All of this is so fascinating to me.
6/18/08 2:15 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Your progress looks good to me! Looking forward to the finished garment.
6/13/08 7:32 AM
LorelleD said...
There's nothing wrong with your drawing skills or your drafting skills. I like your design. Looking forward to seeing more of this.
6/12/08 9:29 PM
goldesdottar said...
This looks so good; seeing well-drafted pattern pieces seems a bit like watching a good architectural piece in construction, sort of like "Euclid alone has looked on Beauty Bare" idea. And we get to watch yours in process - do you feel like you're working without a net in public ;-} ...so please don't apologize! It is thrilling (and dare i say educational for the less experienced) to watch & see the momnet that odd bits chopped off a moulage (or sloper) suddenly reveal what the shape of the garment will be...
6/12/08 5:26 PM
Sigrid. said...
Very inspiring. Love your starting point, how original. And I'm looking forward too seeing this coming along.
6/12/08 5:21 PM
Annette1 said...
HURRY UP, WOULD YA'? I'm dying to see it all done up! :o)) This is so neat (and inspiring) to follow you through this process. :o)
6/12/08 2:13 PM
LaShan said...
This is nice. I can't wait to see the finished project...
6/12/08 1:18 PM
Membear said...
I love the idea!!
6/9/08 10:15 PM
Don McCunn said...
I wish I could draw as well as you do. Looking forward to your next step.
6/7/08 11:58 AM
Annette1 said...
VERY cool, and I think your artistic skills are great! I can very easily envision the finished product by looking at your sketches.
6/7/08 1:25 AM
ITAdmin said...
I love this idea. Hope it will all come together for you.
6/6/08 7:18 AM
Johanna Lu said...
Such a cool idea! A very creative use of your inspiration. I am really looking forward to follow your work
6/6/08 2:48 AM
JenniferBee said...
Nothing wrong with your drawing skills and I'm also looking forward to the finished product.
6/5/08 4:01 AM
LorelleD said...
I too look forward to what you make from this.
6/3/08 9:04 PM
Rustybobn said...
OK! I can't wait to see what this becomes.
6/3/08 8:19 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Burda 7447

photo
by: Fashionabl...

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2013-101

photo
by: tsedai

Review
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

More Info
Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

More Info