SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> My Pattern 2008 (Lauren's Dress)

Viewed 1062 times 
Reviewed by:Marji
photo

 
 
About Marjistarstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 9/19/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 95 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/31/08 11:50 PM
Last Updated:9/1/08 9:39 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy K said...
That combo will look gorgeous! Are you adding lace too, or is it just the draping that you are copying?
6/3/08 12:32 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Wonderful designs! Am so totally looking forward to the end result.
6/3/08 1:32 PM
Birgitte said...
I can't wait to follow this!
6/3/08 2:25 PM
cindyann said...
Coming along very nicely!
7/11/08 4:54 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a wizard you are! A custom gown in, what?, scarcely more than 24 hours? The dress is adorable on Lauren. I can't wait to see the silk version.
7/11/08 5:46 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
Wow - great job!!!
7/11/08 6:06 PM
Johanna Lu said...
Very cute dress and inspiring for me to read, since the dress bodice is fairly similar to my entry. But you clearly saved a lot of time draping rather than drafting. And the result is gorgeous.
7/12/08 10:01 AM
Athene said...
A beautiful style - I look forward to seeing the final dress.
7/12/08 3:45 PM
Nancywin said...
This turned out beautifully. I love the draped bodice. Any chance she'll model for you?
8/1/08 0:46 AM
LauraLo said...
This is stunning, Marji! I love it, love it, love it! What a great colour too. Good luck with the contest, this is a winner in my book!
8/1/08 4:48 AM
woole bully said...
absolutely love the dress. liked the process.
8/1/08 7:25 AM
jbsew said...
Simply elegant and beautiful!
8/1/08 7:25 AM
cindyann said...
What a great dress you've got there. Such a beautiful color and the draping is fantastic.
8/1/08 10:05 AM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous dress! I love the draping work that you did with this!
8/1/08 10:58 AM
Athene said...
Beautiful dress and lovely draping.
8/1/08 5:12 PM
Athene said...
Beautiful dress and lovely draping.
8/1/08 5:12 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Beautiful dress(es)! The style is timeless and she will be able to wear this many times. Lucky girl :))
8/1/08 7:26 PM
Nancy K said...
Beautiful dress Marji and I love being able to see your process.
8/2/08 9:38 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
That dress is beautiful! I love the fabric color. Thanks for the link to that fabric store, they really have some nice things.
8/2/08 9:15 PM
MissCelie said...
Absolutely beautiful. It's got this very cool Grecian element to it. Love it. Wow.
8/4/08 3:50 PM
CarolynGM said...
Gorgeous design and stunning fabric.
8/4/08 4:39 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful dress! Love the colour and the fabric you used.
8/7/08 5:01 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Marji-I just realized I never left a final comment after you finished-WOW! You did such a great job in a notoriously difficult fabric and you made it look EASY. I sure hope Lauren appreciates the amazing amount of work that went into this. And the notes on your blog are really useful as well. Thanks for such a great review!
8/10/08 2:56 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautifully crafted, Marji. Thanks for the details.
8/13/08 11:35 PM
RuthieSews said...
Glorious dress! How fabulous for Lauren to have you make this for her.
8/23/08 5:26 AM
DaisyEsq said...
Wow! You did a wonderful job on both of these beautiful dresses.
9/1/08 9:50 PM
CynthiaSue said...
oh Marji, what a wonderful piece of workmanship. And to outline the construction process for us-absolute heaven to read and learn! THank you! By the way how did you know royal blue was absolutely the perfect color for these girls!!?
9/2/08 1:07 AM
Nancy K said...
Fabulous! I have watched your progress on your blog and they really came out great! What a pleasure that your sil let the girls pick styles and a color that they loved. These are dresses that they will wear again. The girls look wonderful. I have passed on your website find in several posts. It is great to have such a great resource.
9/2/08 7:51 AM
cindyann said...
Just awesome! Really fantastic!
9/2/08 4:37 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Marji, your work on this dress (as well as Katie's dress) is quite awesome. I hope you got as much satisfaction from your Labour of Love as Lauren clearly did. Thank you for sharing your skill. Lovely, Lily
9/2/08 10:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Sewing Workshop Chicago Jacket

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 7903

photo
by: ManiMayor

Review