SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> My Pattern 2008 (Lauren's Dress)

Viewed 1062 times 
Reviewed by:Marji
photo

 
 
About Marjistarstarstarstar
MO USA
Member since: 9/19/06
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 96 people
patterns reviewed: 45
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/31/08 11:50 PM
Last Updated:9/1/08 9:39 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 17 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
30 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy K said...
That combo will look gorgeous! Are you adding lace too, or is it just the draping that you are copying?
6/3/08 12:32 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Wonderful designs! Am so totally looking forward to the end result.
6/3/08 1:32 PM
Birgitte said...
I can't wait to follow this!
6/3/08 2:25 PM
cindyann said...
Coming along very nicely!
7/11/08 4:54 PM
CarolynGM said...
What a wizard you are! A custom gown in, what?, scarcely more than 24 hours? The dress is adorable on Lauren. I can't wait to see the silk version.
7/11/08 5:46 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
Wow - great job!!!
7/11/08 6:06 PM
Johanna Lu said...
Very cute dress and inspiring for me to read, since the dress bodice is fairly similar to my entry. But you clearly saved a lot of time draping rather than drafting. And the result is gorgeous.
7/12/08 10:01 AM
Athene said...
A beautiful style - I look forward to seeing the final dress.
7/12/08 3:45 PM
Nancywin said...
This turned out beautifully. I love the draped bodice. Any chance she'll model for you?
8/1/08 0:46 AM
LauraLo said...
This is stunning, Marji! I love it, love it, love it! What a great colour too. Good luck with the contest, this is a winner in my book!
8/1/08 4:48 AM
woole bully said...
absolutely love the dress. liked the process.
8/1/08 7:25 AM
jbsew said...
Simply elegant and beautiful!
8/1/08 7:25 AM
cindyann said...
What a great dress you've got there. Such a beautiful color and the draping is fantastic.
8/1/08 10:05 AM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous dress! I love the draping work that you did with this!
8/1/08 10:58 AM
Athene said...
Beautiful dress and lovely draping.
8/1/08 5:12 PM
Athene said...
Beautiful dress and lovely draping.
8/1/08 5:12 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Beautiful dress(es)! The style is timeless and she will be able to wear this many times. Lucky girl :))
8/1/08 7:26 PM
Nancy K said...
Beautiful dress Marji and I love being able to see your process.
8/2/08 9:38 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
That dress is beautiful! I love the fabric color. Thanks for the link to that fabric store, they really have some nice things.
8/2/08 9:15 PM
MissCelie said...
Absolutely beautiful. It's got this very cool Grecian element to it. Love it. Wow.
8/4/08 3:50 PM
CarolynGM said...
Gorgeous design and stunning fabric.
8/4/08 4:39 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Beautiful dress! Love the colour and the fabric you used.
8/7/08 5:01 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Marji-I just realized I never left a final comment after you finished-WOW! You did such a great job in a notoriously difficult fabric and you made it look EASY. I sure hope Lauren appreciates the amazing amount of work that went into this. And the notes on your blog are really useful as well. Thanks for such a great review!
8/10/08 2:56 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Beautifully crafted, Marji. Thanks for the details.
8/13/08 11:35 PM
RuthieSews said...
Glorious dress! How fabulous for Lauren to have you make this for her.
8/23/08 5:26 AM
DaisyEsq said...
Wow! You did a wonderful job on both of these beautiful dresses.
9/1/08 9:50 PM
CynthiaSue said...
oh Marji, what a wonderful piece of workmanship. And to outline the construction process for us-absolute heaven to read and learn! THank you! By the way how did you know royal blue was absolutely the perfect color for these girls!!?
9/2/08 1:07 AM
Nancy K said...
Fabulous! I have watched your progress on your blog and they really came out great! What a pleasure that your sil let the girls pick styles and a color that they loved. These are dresses that they will wear again. The girls look wonderful. I have passed on your website find in several posts. It is great to have such a great resource.
9/2/08 7:51 AM
cindyann said...
Just awesome! Really fantastic!
9/2/08 4:37 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Marji, your work on this dress (as well as Katie's dress) is quite awesome. I hope you got as much satisfaction from your Labour of Love as Lauren clearly did. Thank you for sharing your skill. Lovely, Lily
9/2/08 10:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 2899

photo
by: Cosso

Review
Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

Buy Now
Lily Pocket Purse

Lily Pocket Purse

Buy Now
Butterick 5353

photo
by: Jessamaka

Review