Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: 7798 (Dress blouse and top) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 700 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:Phisch
photo
About Phischstar
CA USA
Member since: 3/17/05
Reviews written: 7
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/2/08 3:00 PM
Last Updated:6/2/08 3:00 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $7.46 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $7.46  List Price: $9.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
phthooey said...
Great-looking dress! I like the blue fabric. I sewed some bias binding on a Simplicity dress recently that "puckers" out, if that's the same thing you are describing. I think mine was too long and didn't stretch enough, but I'm not sure. I might have to pick up this Burda pattern! Thanks!
6/2/08 3:48 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Great review and I love the dress. I've been sewing for 34 years off and on and zippers freak me out. Make the dress again this one is a success.
6/2/08 4:05 PM
Kellie R. said...
You did a great job!!! The dress is so cute and fun. I hope you enjoy wearing it! Thanks for the great review!
6/2/08 5:03 PM
Lucia/Lyonel said...
What a great look for you! Tres cute, you should definitely make another.
6/2/08 8:49 PM
Vintage Joan said...
So pretty! Thanks for reviewing this pattern -- I was thinking about getting it, and now I'm definitely going to.
6/3/08 8:55 PM
Phisch said...
Wow, thanks for the comments, folks! I have enjoyed wearing it (compliments truly matter when my hubby makes them, you know? ;). It was really easy to do. I got over the zipper fear by not making it so invisible. It looks just fine especially since it's been 3 years since I have done any sewing (or at least since my last review). I'm pretty pleased with it and am itching to leave the house and head for a fabric store.
6/4/08 8:33 PM
Mufffet said...
Beautiful! Love it...:) I have admired this pattern. I think it would be good for a lot of different figures.
6/6/08 12:32 PM
Mufffet said...
Love your dress. the color is very zingy! Good work. That neckline wanted to gap when I made this too and I stretched the fabric a bit while sewing the binding so that it wouldn't do it as much. the woven materials are kind of stretchy on the bias so this worked.
8/17/08 2:37 PM
viola33 said...
Lovely dress!
1/31/11 9:08 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Vogue Patterns 8805
photo
Review by BarrieHayw... on 6/12/12
Read Review

Simplicity 2146 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 2146 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6139 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 6139 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2009-120 Knit Henley
photo
Review by Elizabeth ... on 4/7/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern
Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us