SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Downloadable> 3607 (Jakob)

Viewed 290 times 
Reviewed by:squirrellypoo
photo

 
 
About squirrellypoostarstarstarstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 3/27/05
Reviews written: 262
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 101 people
patterns reviewed: 252
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:6/3/08 7:56 AM
Last Updated:6/3/08 8:18 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vintage Joan said...
Hi again -- not to get nitpicky, but I just noticed that the Burdastyle pattern number for the Jakob shirt is actually - 6013 -. ;)
9/9/08 12:45 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking shirt. I guess I'm going to get Coffin's book about shirt making. Thanks for all the info.
6/5/08 10:08 AM
Karen6790 said...
Bravo to you for such a beautiful shirt, and bravo to James for picking out black buttons and having a thought about how he wants to wear the shirt. Reading David Coffin's book changed the way I do a lot of things, it's definitely one of those "can't go back" books. Did I mention I love the color?
6/4/08 1:27 PM
EveS said...
Thank you for this review! I downloaded this pattern a while ago after reading other good feedback about it...I guess I'll have to pull it out now. Beautiful work on the details! I love it!
6/3/08 9:00 PM
sewinglinda said...
super shirt melissa, it looks great and the black buttons give it a designer touch. well done!
6/3/08 7:43 PM
Marji said...
Thanks for the great review. I've got the book, and you make a great argument for getting it out and following the directions and making a shirt the right way. Happy to know that the pattern is true-to-size too.
6/3/08 3:01 PM
Sigrid. said...
Melissa, that's some result! Great fit and beautiful details. James is a lucky guy. I have this book and it has so much information. Thanks for all detail pictures too.
6/3/08 1:37 PM
Lucia/Lyonel said...
Love that Burda 8471 and LOVE Coffin's Shirtmaking book. Both winners! Great job on this one (I hate that bound placket too, heheh)
6/3/08 1:15 PM
Luckylibbet said...
Terrific shirt! Boyfriend looks absolutely amazing in it.
6/3/08 1:10 PM
MagpieJen said...
*swoon* I love menswear! That's a smashing shirt, and the tips are great, thanks so much!
6/3/08 11:53 AM
Christina Sonja said...
This inspires me to crack open my Coffin book. Fabulous shirt.
6/3/08 11:35 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Excellent shirt! Thank you for the very detailed review and book recommendation.
6/3/08 10:55 AM
michellep74 said...
Great looking shirt! Your boyfriend looks great in it! Thanks for the detailed review--I may have to take a look at the David Coffin book.
6/3/08 10:49 AM
Elona said...
What a great shirt! Your guy looks terrific in it.
6/3/08 10:47 AM
squirrellypoo said...
thanks, Joan1954 - I didn't know it was a Burda envelope pattern, too (some of the BurdaStyle ones are reprints but some are originals)!
6/3/08 10:41 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Thanks for the review -- great shirt!! I agree with your boyfriend, the black buttons are a nice touch. By the way, for those of you who don't know, this is the same pattern as the famous Burda 8471 "easy" men's shirt. Great to have it available now on BurdaStyle! :)
6/3/08 10:17 AM
SewKnitYKnot said...
The shirt looks great! All the added touches really make such a difference. Glad you persevered with all the new techniques and customizations.
6/3/08 8:49 AM
Darla in PA said...
The shirt turned out great. All the details are wonderful. He's a lucky guy!
6/3/08 8:33 AM
dbsewer said...
Really lovely shirt. Remind him daily how lucky he is to have a GF who sews.
6/3/08 8:32 AM
Karla Kizer said...
I "discovered" this pattern 2 days ago, and I'm really pleased to see a review of it. I share your enthusiasm for the DPC book, too. Your shirt looks fantastic. Congratulations!
6/3/08 8:11 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Vogue Patterns 1224

photo
by: jenleeC

Review
SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

SewBaby Snappy Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
Summer Tote

Summer Tote

Buy Now
Simplicity 2151

photo
by: Lori9999

Review