Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 02-2008-119 (Sleeveless Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 850 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Cynthaz
photo
About Cynthaz
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 8/20/06
Reviews written: 3
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/3/08 8:14 AM
Last Updated:6/3/08 8:23 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
squirrellypoo said...
Your shirt looks fabulous!! I'm so sorry you had such trouble with the collar instructions - they really are awful, but one of the first reviewers of this pattern took the time to write out and photograph exactly how to construct it which made this so much easier when I was sewing this up! Rule one of PR: read previous reviews before tearing your hair out! ;)
6/3/08 8:21 AM
dbsewer said...
You did a great job. Love the fabric. Aren't you brave to tackle BWOF as a beginner.
6/3/08 8:29 AM
Nancywin said...
Your top turned out great! Sorry you had to spend so much time on the collar - lesson learned: read the reviews BEFORE you make the garment (I have to keep reminding myself of that.) I made a tutorial on how to do the collar on my review of this top :-) Glad you figured it out - it turned out really well.
6/3/08 9:08 AM
Sigrid. said...
Your top is wonderful. Really nice to see your results. Wouldn't have thought you just started sewing. (And you're proof that BWOF is not as difficult as a lot of people seem to think).
6/3/08 9:38 AM
sewing for fun said...
Great top, fun print! I suggest using artsist's or drafstsmans parchment type tracing paper, thinnest weight you can get for tracing instead of wax paper (get mine form an art supply shop). I use Sharpie markers with extra fine point. I trace a LOT of Burda patterns. My dining room table has a glass top, I put a lamp without shade underneath and voila - a light box perfect for tracing Burda patterns.
6/3/08 10:35 AM
michellep74 said...
Wow--I can't believe that this is only your third garment. It looks great! Congrats on tackling your first BWOF.
6/3/08 10:52 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Congratulations you did a fantastic job, your top looks great and you picked a perfect fabric for it. I've been sewing BWOF for years and I could not figure out that collar at all without help from other reviewers here.
6/3/08 10:53 AM
NicholeMc said...
AWESOME job. I would never have guessed this was only your third garment ever. Love the print, love the style. Keep up the great work - you should be very proud!
6/3/08 10:56 AM
Marji said...
Congratulations! on several counts - Congrats on being the first entry finished in the contest. Big congrats on a garment beautifully constructed and well done. I'd say you have a bright sewing future ahead of you.
6/3/08 10:57 AM
VtMartha said...
Great blouse - your print is wonderful in this top!
6/3/08 11:11 AM
inkstain said...
Great top! I use rolls of tissue paper sold in our grocery store for gift-wrapping. One side is glazed and the other side isn't--the plain side actually clings to the Burda sheet so there's less slippage and Iuse a simple sharpened pencil to trace the stitching line. Then I use a Clover wheel edging along plain carbon paper, held just clear of the side of the pencil line, to add the cutting line along a seam allowance of 1.5 cm. Best of luck with your future projects.
6/3/08 11:25 AM
lcavagnolo said...
So cute! Instead of a sharpie, you could always use your tracing wheel, too. I've found this works really well with the BWOF patterns, or you can trace them onto interfacing instead. Best of luck in the contest! :)
6/3/08 11:27 AM
fabeins said...
Very nice top.
6/3/08 11:43 AM
Annette1 said...
Your perserverance has definitely paid off, as your top turned out SO beautifully! I LOVE that collar -- it was worth the two hours, ha! You'd better whip up a couple more, now than you have it mastered. :o)
6/3/08 5:25 PM
patrica said...
Congrats on your top very nice, great job.I use a double tracing wheel on waxed paper, for bwof it works just fine.
6/3/08 7:24 PM
Gelbean said...
BWOF doesn't provide easy instructions for beginners. You seem to have mastered the foreign language of BWOF perfectly. Your shirt is beautiful. Excellent job!
6/3/08 7:35 PM
misscoleen said...
Wow, i'm really impressed and inspired. Great looking top on you! Coleen
6/4/08 7:46 AM
MagpieJen said...
Great review! Groovy Pucci-inspired top - I adore it! For tracing I always use sheet plastic (I get mine in rolls at the hardware store for very cheap) and felt markers ('Sharpies').
6/10/08 12:36 PM
Cynthaz said...
Sadly Sharpies are not available in Australia. I'm currently trying a plain old ball point pen on the waxed lunch paper. It's actually working pretty well!
6/11/08 10:21 PM
kellymailinglist said...
Beautiful job! Don't worry about how long it took... you've ended up with a project to be proud of!
6/28/08 10:00 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Really nice top! Awesome job for your third garment, especially trying to follow Burda's instructions. Btw, Sharpie pens are now available in Oz. Safeway sell them and I'm sure other outlets would too.
7/2/08 6:27 AM
AnneM said...
Fun top, congratulations. The advantage of sewing is that you can make your tops as distinctive as you want! (re your comment about not wanting to make a boring top.)
7/5/08 1:51 PM
Athene said...
Your top turned out great and such a fabulous print fabric. Congratulations on figuring out the collar - I made this pattern previously and I couldn't figure out the collar on my own, I had to refer to Nancywin's instructions on PR.
7/6/08 2:45 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

No Pattern Used 2012-3 large totes
photo
Review by katlew03 on 1/31/12
Read Review

Vogue 8649 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8649 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 9769 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 9769 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2615
photo
Review by annakeeton on 9/30/13
Read Review

Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver + S Pinwheel tunic + slip dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo V-Neck Cardigan Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern
J Stern Designs Ribbon Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us