SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5471 (Princess Seam Shirt)

7 more reviews
Viewed 507 times 
Reviewed by:kim*brown
photo

 
 
About kim*brownstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 10/16/06
Reviews written: 121
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 53 people
patterns reviewed: 121
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/4/08 9:43 PM
Last Updated:6/4/08 9:50 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Heatherrique said...
Alluring and amazing blouse! You are electrifying!
6/6/08 9:49 PM
kim*brown said...
Thank you all so much! Too sweet!
6/6/08 4:33 PM
MissCelie said...
I adore these types of sleeves, I think they are so fun and feminine.
6/6/08 1:48 PM
Annette1 said...
What a lovely blouse. In fact, the entire outfit looks great on you (and I love your picture, by the way). :o)
6/6/08 0:06 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Beautiful fit, really sleek shirt!
6/5/08 7:49 PM
Dei said...
Kim, lovin' this blouse. It's so polished with a little bit of kick. You look fabulous in the whole outfit. Doesn't it feel good to step out in your own creation.
6/5/08 7:45 PM
Mahler said...
You look stylish and beautiful with that great top !
6/5/08 2:59 PM
wvsher said...
Very nice and stylish blouse! The skirt & blouse both look great on you.
6/5/08 11:59 AM
kim*brown said...
LouisS - Thanks so much for your advise. Believe you me...I have tried all different types of fittings, adjustings etc.. My body measurements are almost exact to the pattern envelope for a 14. Depending upon how I feel prior to checking pieces before cutting, at times I increase bust or more than likely I will add an inch vertically at shoulders in back pieces. There are times when I do taper in the waist, but a 12 is always too tight. The only time I cut a 12 is for sleeves tops or for pieces constructed from knits etc.. Thanks for the input though!!
6/5/08 9:42 AM
KrystalL said...
Kim, your shirt looks really good. Great job!
6/5/08 8:20 AM
ITAdmin said...
Very sharp blouse. The tiny stripes in the fabric give it that extra something.
6/5/08 7:35 AM
Kbenco said...
This is a great looking blouse. The sleeves are very interesting, but not too much for a sharp work outfit. Thanks for the review.
6/5/08 6:15 AM
MareeAlison said...
Gorgeous.
6/5/08 2:08 AM
MagpieJen said...
I love this blouse! Classy, a wee bit edgy and sexy. Very nice work!
6/5/08 1:29 AM
Nancywin said...
and here is the answer to my last question! Nice blouse. I have this pattern and hope to get to it in the near future.
6/5/08 0:46 AM
Elke said...
This looks very pretty on you! Love the entire outfit.
6/5/08 0:42 AM
JMarie1962 said...
Your entire outfit looks really sharp! Thanks for mentioning the interfacing at the buttonholes. Great review!
6/4/08 10:10 PM
LouiseS said...
Kim- your blouse is just beautiful! Love the lines and the fact you didn't have to fit it. Hope your tootsies feel better (I'm contemplating foot surgery myself). Suggestion - you may require a smaller size with a FBA. I wear a size 10 or 12 in RTW blouses but use a size 12 pattern based on chest (high bust) measure and adjust from there. Just a thought. Thanks for the review and interfacing tip. -Louise
6/4/08 10:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Simplicity 2750

photo
by: KellyJo27

Review
McCall's 5625

photo
by: Futuralon

Review
WhatNots

WhatNots

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Buy Now