Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5471 (Princess Seam Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 507 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
Reviewed by:kim*brown
photo
About kim*brownstarstarstar
MD USA
Member since: 10/16/06
Reviews written: 114
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 50 people
patterns reviewed: 114
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/4/08 9:43 PM
Last Updated:6/4/08 9:50 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
LouiseS said...
Kim- your blouse is just beautiful! Love the lines and the fact you didn't have to fit it. Hope your tootsies feel better (I'm contemplating foot surgery myself). Suggestion - you may require a smaller size with a FBA. I wear a size 10 or 12 in RTW blouses but use a size 12 pattern based on chest (high bust) measure and adjust from there. Just a thought. Thanks for the review and interfacing tip. -Louise
6/4/08 10:02 PM
JMarie1962 said...
Your entire outfit looks really sharp! Thanks for mentioning the interfacing at the buttonholes. Great review!
6/4/08 10:10 PM
Elke said...
This looks very pretty on you! Love the entire outfit.
6/5/08 0:42 AM
Nancywin said...
and here is the answer to my last question! Nice blouse. I have this pattern and hope to get to it in the near future.
6/5/08 0:46 AM
MagpieJen said...
I love this blouse! Classy, a wee bit edgy and sexy. Very nice work!
6/5/08 1:29 AM
MareeAlison said...
Gorgeous.
6/5/08 2:08 AM
Kbenco said...
This is a great looking blouse. The sleeves are very interesting, but not too much for a sharp work outfit. Thanks for the review.
6/5/08 6:15 AM
ITAdmin said...
Very sharp blouse. The tiny stripes in the fabric give it that extra something.
6/5/08 7:35 AM
KrystalL said...
Kim, your shirt looks really good. Great job!
6/5/08 8:20 AM
kim*brown said...
LouisS - Thanks so much for your advise. Believe you me...I have tried all different types of fittings, adjustings etc.. My body measurements are almost exact to the pattern envelope for a 14. Depending upon how I feel prior to checking pieces before cutting, at times I increase bust or more than likely I will add an inch vertically at shoulders in back pieces. There are times when I do taper in the waist, but a 12 is always too tight. The only time I cut a 12 is for sleeves tops or for pieces constructed from knits etc.. Thanks for the input though!!
6/5/08 9:42 AM
wvsher said...
Very nice and stylish blouse! The skirt & blouse both look great on you.
6/5/08 11:59 AM
Mahler said...
You look stylish and beautiful with that great top !
6/5/08 2:59 PM
Dei said...
Kim, lovin' this blouse. It's so polished with a little bit of kick. You look fabulous in the whole outfit. Doesn't it feel good to step out in your own creation.
6/5/08 7:45 PM
mylittleelephant said...
Beautiful fit, really sleek shirt!
6/5/08 7:49 PM
Annette1 said...
What a lovely blouse. In fact, the entire outfit looks great on you (and I love your picture, by the way). :o)
6/6/08 0:06 AM
MissCelie said...
I adore these types of sleeves, I think they are so fun and feminine.
6/6/08 1:48 PM
kim*brown said...
Thank you all so much! Too sweet!
6/6/08 4:33 PM
Heatherrique said...
Alluring and amazing blouse! You are electrifying!
6/6/08 9:49 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Butterick 4686 6 sew easy
photo
Review by alimmay on 11/12/12
Read Review

Suzi Purse Insert
Suzi Purse Insert

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King
THE BASIC SLEEVE, a CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S Birthday Party Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8655
photo
Review by Blooms on 4/15/10
Read Review

Vogue 8849 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Vogue 8849 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4201 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12 )
Butterick 4201 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us