SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4819 (Women's Shirt)

3 more reviews
Viewed 750 times 
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Annette1starstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 153
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 149
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/5/08 3:48 AM
Last Updated:6/8/08 4:23 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Plus    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
37 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kbenco said...
This looks like a cute shirt to me. I am glad you are making it again. I think the more fitted shirt looks very svelte on you.
6/5/08 6:08 AM
ITAdmin said...
I think it looks great on you, too. In fact I like it that length. I'm always on the lookout for a good shirt pattern, and this is cute. Love your fabric, too.
6/5/08 7:22 AM
2BSewing said...
This shirt looks wonderful on you. The fit is perfect. Well done!
6/5/08 7:37 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Uh oh ... looks like you have two reviews for the same blouse. Or am I experiencing some deja vu? But since I'm here (again), I'll say (again) how nicely I think this top fits you.
6/5/08 8:16 AM
Grammy Gin said...
Great job as usual! I left you a note on the Flicker site....hope you get a chance to read it. Ginny
6/5/08 8:25 AM
Helen near Sydney said...
Thanks for a great review, haven't laughed so much in a long while!
6/5/08 8:40 AM
Beek said...
Fun review and a beautiful blouse! I love that fabric. The color looks great on you.
6/5/08 8:50 AM
cathy45 said...
So much good info--didn't know the plus sizes were based on D-cups. I love the blouse on you. You always add so much flair to your projects.
6/5/08 10:08 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
This looks great on you. Glad to see a review of plus sizes and love how this fits you. Thanks for all the wonderful information.
6/5/08 10:45 AM
Em's Summer said...
This top is a great basic and looks really good on you. The length looks good, too, even if you think you cut it too short! Great job!
6/5/08 11:37 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I like the bias cuffs - thanks for reviewing this pattern and bringing it to my attention! The fit on you is fantastic - can't wait to see your next version!
6/5/08 11:56 AM
Irene Q said...
I love how this top looks on you, although it is much more fitted than the pattern envelope shows.
6/5/08 12:21 PM
Luckylibbet said...
My first thought was 'What a great fitted blouse' and after reading your review realized that was so not your intention! But it looks absolutely terrif on you - esp that gorgeous to-die-for red! and as always your sewing is wonderful. Thanks for ALWAYS writing such informative reviews!
6/5/08 12:28 PM
Mahler said...
Annette, if it is too small, well it does not show. Oh well I admit liking tight clothes... If you do not feel comfortable, a tank top with the shirt open will be beautiful. Plus your hair looks so god like that. Very luscious ! For using nipple, as a biologist, we use that word as a technical word. It is very decent. For the disappearing reviews, click on your name, you will see the full table of your reviews. The ones not showing on the review gallery are missing the thumbnail picture that's it. Deepika can erase the double buble. thank you for those great reviews.
6/5/08 1:00 PM
ryan's mom said...
Oh my gosh! I would have never realized looking at your pic that you had any issues with your blouse. It looks terrific on you!!!
6/5/08 1:37 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
I think it looks like it came out great, too! I wouldn't be able to tell you had any difficulty at all and it looks very flattering on you.
6/5/08 3:14 PM
lilyofthevalley said...
Initial sidenote: Annette, what a beautiful woman you are! (And could you please fed-ex me your full luscious lips and hair?) Now, the blouse: I agree with Mahler that it looks very *fine* indeed in its fitted mode, and I do love the front vertical darts having so much bias in the sew-up. It's not nearly as snug as you imagine, so give it a try. Your review, as usual, leaves us a very content 'fly on the wall' view of your creative and technical process. I'm in awe of your talent. -Lily
6/5/08 4:59 PM
HeyJane said...
Love the shirt and your pattern improvements. I'm sure your next one will be exactly the way you want it. You're right about odd numbered visuals. Professional landscapers do the same, if you notice they will always plant shrubs, etc. in odd numbers.
6/5/08 5:00 PM
Peggy L said...
I'm another one who thinks it looks great on you! Great review.
6/5/08 5:12 PM
carolynw said...
Oh Annette you make me laugh- I really, really like your top - I think the length looks "short and sassy". Not sure about wearing it open without a cami LOL. Thanks for such a wonderful review and I will now be off to get this pattern.
6/5/08 7:04 PM
Sewing Jane said...
Nice shirt! The pattern is on my to do list.
6/5/08 7:58 PM
Kay Y said...
Add my voice to those who really like this on you, even though you complain it is too short and fitted. Wear it with pride as it suits you very well.
6/5/08 9:06 PM
Dee2 said...
I think you look great in this blouse. The fabric is very pretty & I love the color on you.
6/5/08 11:42 PM
mkhpaintsew said...
I think this is a nice top. Normally I would never mention this, but since you did, I do think the bust area is a bit too snug. The buttons seem to be pulling a bit. As a plus size woman, that would bother me, but maybe that is just me.
6/6/08 11:07 AM
kim*brown said...
Ok...this truly fits you great. Great color, lines and style on you!
6/6/08 4:32 PM
Heatherrique said...
Tres merveilleuse, Annette! I missed seeing you model your "better than RTW" creations. I adore the flattering design and the amazing fit! The length looks fine to me and that smashing collar! I want a shirt with that collar!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! You inspired me to make more shirts! Thanks for sharing another informative and enjoyable review!
6/7/08 0:02 AM
angie.a said...
Annette, I would never have guessed it didn't fit well, it looks great! Love the color. If it's too tight in the bust area (it doesn't seem to be, it just looks like a nicely fitted top!) you could wear it unbuttoned a little with a cami under it maybe?
6/7/08 8:57 AM
mClones said...
Very becoming on you.
6/7/08 10:45 PM
Karen8320 said...
Nice work, Annette. Only you know about the snugness of the fit because the photo of the buttoned shirt looks good. However, I do think it will look absolutely fabulous unbuttoned and with a tank top underneath. I'm now looking forward to seeing what you do with it when you make it again!
6/8/08 7:30 AM
2BSewing said...
Your blue floral jacket is very pretty. I had a nice chuckle about your fabric pile...because I can totally relate. I probably have more piles than you. :) Love the hooks you used. Very unique. Well done!
6/8/08 4:35 PM
Kay Y said...
"SRP3" - tee hee! I have a few (dozen) of those myself! But you knew exactly where to look for the perfect fabric to make another of these lovely shirts. I am very fond of this one too. Keep it up!
6/8/08 4:41 PM
rivergum said...
Very pretty shirt and beautifully made, as usual. It looks very classy on you.
6/8/08 6:10 PM
Mahler said...
This new bleu version is b-e-a-u-t-i-f-u-l !!! oh well as usal.
6/8/08 9:27 PM
USMCMom said...
What can I say that hasn't already been said? First, I absolutely love your fabric---cute, but sophisticated and casual. And what a great review! No detail left to the imagination. And for a newcomer like me, reviews like this are more helpful than I can say. Thanks so much! Oh, and I think it looks great on you!
6/9/08 0:33 AM
mkhpaintsew said...
Very nice! The fit looks perfect.
6/9/08 11:11 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Great next version too. I almost bought this pattern the other week based on your first review but had a brain fade at the store and couldn't remember if the one I had in hand was this one. It was. And so I felt let down when I got home. :wink: But it's seared into the brain now and I will get it next time I'm at J's/H's at the same time as a B'ick sale.
6/21/08 1:05 PM
Debbie Cook said...
So I just made this top this weekend. I had problems with the darts too, and I did do a FBA. Something is just wrong there. And that facing ... I should've re-read this review before I started. I like the look of the blouse on the envelope but I think it's going to be less work to convert a TNT with a side bust dart and real front facing into this style with the open waist dart.
1/4/09 2:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Vogue Patterns 2899

photo
by: Cosso

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2010-104

photo
by: Merche

Review
PerfectFuse Medium Black

PerfectFuse Medium Black

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Little Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now