SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Contest> MY Pattern 2008 (Dior knock off)

7 more reviews
Viewed 683 times 
Reviewed by:josie e
photo

 
 
About josie estar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 7/31/07
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 44
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/08 7:24 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Laurasews said...
I can't wait to see it. You really seem to know what you are doing. I will have to get the Aldrich book.
6/7/08 11:49 PM
petro said...
what did you try for the sleeve cut per the Dior example? I'd do a slanted kimono cut with an integral gusset in the bottom arm and bodice piece to get the movement. Is ths what you tried?
6/8/08 2:45 AM
josie e said...
Hi Petro, to be truthful I haven't done more than plan that bit in my head - it's been a busy week. I'm actually planning to do a modified raglan sleeve cut on with a yoke. I have a good set of illustrations in Aldritch's book on tailored jackets for women. I try to avoid gussets where possible they don't feel nice under my arm!
6/12/08 10:08 AM
echolalia said...
Hi Josie, nice to see yet another Australian reviewing. I have made a couple of garments using vintage patterns in recent months and I love the kimono sleeve with gusset - gives a fabulously close fit without restricting movement. Makes the layout difficult sometimes - particularly as we are not used to seeing this style. Either the garment front & back or the sleeve are on the cross-grain unless the entire thing is on the bias. I'm looking forward to seeing the final suit.
7/3/08 9:02 AM
JenniferBee said...
Very interesting process, I'm looking forward to the finished product
7/9/08 4:20 AM
Johanna Lu said...
Great looking suit. You've done a great work with all the details, I esp love the high skirt waist with the fabric covered belt and the draped front placket. I saw a picture of CBS in this suit too, stepping out of a plane and I was completely blown away.
7/30/08 8:57 AM
nancy2001 said...
Beautiful little suit that captures the style and spirit of the designer original.
7/30/08 10:48 AM
Athene said...
A very attractive and appealing suit. You have done a lot of work - I look forward to seeing a picture of you in it on PR sometime in the future.
7/30/08 9:26 PM
Marji said...
Very classy looking suit, and it looks like a lot of work went into this.
8/8/08 3:06 PM
AnneM said...
Congratulations! Lovely, classic suit. Love that front vent; it came out so nicely.
8/11/08 9:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

McCall's 6038

photo
by: Lori V

Review
Veronica Pocketbook

Veronica Pocketbook

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Equinox Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Other Magpie Dress

photo
by: punkmik

Review