SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Contest> MY Pattern 2008 (Dior knock off)

7 more reviews
Viewed 683 times 
Reviewed by:josie e
photo

 
 
About josie estar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 7/31/07
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 44
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/30/08 7:24 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
10 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Laurasews said...
I can't wait to see it. You really seem to know what you are doing. I will have to get the Aldrich book.
6/7/08 11:49 PM
petro said...
what did you try for the sleeve cut per the Dior example? I'd do a slanted kimono cut with an integral gusset in the bottom arm and bodice piece to get the movement. Is ths what you tried?
6/8/08 2:45 AM
josie e said...
Hi Petro, to be truthful I haven't done more than plan that bit in my head - it's been a busy week. I'm actually planning to do a modified raglan sleeve cut on with a yoke. I have a good set of illustrations in Aldritch's book on tailored jackets for women. I try to avoid gussets where possible they don't feel nice under my arm!
6/12/08 10:08 AM
echolalia said...
Hi Josie, nice to see yet another Australian reviewing. I have made a couple of garments using vintage patterns in recent months and I love the kimono sleeve with gusset - gives a fabulously close fit without restricting movement. Makes the layout difficult sometimes - particularly as we are not used to seeing this style. Either the garment front & back or the sleeve are on the cross-grain unless the entire thing is on the bias. I'm looking forward to seeing the final suit.
7/3/08 9:02 AM
JenniferBee said...
Very interesting process, I'm looking forward to the finished product
7/9/08 4:20 AM
Johanna Lu said...
Great looking suit. You've done a great work with all the details, I esp love the high skirt waist with the fabric covered belt and the draped front placket. I saw a picture of CBS in this suit too, stepping out of a plane and I was completely blown away.
7/30/08 8:57 AM
nancy2001 said...
Beautiful little suit that captures the style and spirit of the designer original.
7/30/08 10:48 AM
Athene said...
A very attractive and appealing suit. You have done a lot of work - I look forward to seeing a picture of you in it on PR sometime in the future.
7/30/08 9:26 PM
Marji said...
Very classy looking suit, and it looks like a lot of work went into this.
8/8/08 3:06 PM
AnneM said...
Congratulations! Lovely, classic suit. Love that front vent; it came out so nicely.
8/11/08 9:00 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Buy Now
My Favorite Duffle Bag

My Favorite Duffle Bag

Buy Now
Simplicity 1798

photo
by: Alice Wang

Review