SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2008-121 (dress)

13 more reviews
Viewed 546 times 
Reviewed by:Sigrid.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sigrid.starstarstarstar
Netherlands
Member since: 11/14/06
Reviews written: 150
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 137 people
patterns reviewed: 144
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/6/08 5:13 PM
Last Updated:6/6/08 5:15 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MelissaB in WA said...
Beautiful dress!
6/9/08 11:17 PM
Nancy K said...
Great dress. You look cool and classy in this one. Very flattering. I love your tips on the blog for this. Should make this a much easier sew.
6/8/08 7:08 AM
cathy45 said...
Love that bold print, perfect for this breezy summery dress. And your shoes are just too cute.
6/7/08 10:49 AM
blue mooney said...
Love the fabric you chose for this, and the contrast bands. It looks great! Sigrid, thanks so much for your alternate method of doing the front bands! I think I will do mine that way when the time comes.
6/7/08 10:35 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Your dress is gorgeous and you found the perfect shoes to go with it. The print is very eye-catching: I love the large yet subtle numerals.
6/7/08 9:19 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Lovely dress!
6/7/08 9:02 AM
MissCelie said...
I want you to know I dreamt about this dress last night and I know the perfect fabric. Thanks for putting together such a great tutorial!
6/7/08 8:06 AM
Annette1 said...
Oh, Sigrid, you really outdid yourself on this one. This is SO flattering, and I love that print. The dress looks rather "blah" in the magazine picture, but both yours and Kay's have turned out BEAUTIFULLY! I haven't seen the other reviews yet, but this dress seems to be becoming a favorite for lots of us. :o)
6/7/08 1:41 AM
Karen6790 said...
The pictures in the magazine were beyond useless in showing what a great dress this is. Sigrid, thanks for the tip on the top construction - I'll see how I make out with the BWOF instructions, but yours make more sense to me already.
6/6/08 11:01 PM
Lori V said...
Such a wonderful dress. Great job.
6/6/08 9:50 PM
Kay Y said...
You and I agree perfectly on prints and patterns! Love your version - and I edited my review to note I too had raised the neck by 3cm - the perfect amount.
6/6/08 8:34 PM
Birgitte said...
Another fantastic version of this dress- I might just have to bite the bullet, if I can only find away around that v neck (just not good on me :-()
6/6/08 7:39 PM
Beek said...
You were up for the challenge and you succeeded with style! Beautiful dress.
6/6/08 7:25 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
I love that bold fabric - this dress seems perfect for it and it looks terrific!
6/6/08 7:24 PM
michellep74 said...
Very cute! All of the versions of this dress that have been posted here have been much nicer than the one in the magazine--yours is no exception.
6/6/08 5:41 PM
cabinbaby said...
Super cute! I really like the dress with those shoes too.
6/6/08 5:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 150mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

More Info
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

More Info