SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 05-2008-121 (dress)

13 more reviews
Viewed 546 times 
Reviewed by:Sigrid.
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sigrid.starstarstarstar
NETHERLANDS
Member since: 11/14/06
Reviews written: 148
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 136 people
patterns reviewed: 143
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/6/08 5:13 PM
Last Updated:6/6/08 5:15 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MelissaB in WA said...
Beautiful dress!
6/9/08 11:17 PM
Nancy K said...
Great dress. You look cool and classy in this one. Very flattering. I love your tips on the blog for this. Should make this a much easier sew.
6/8/08 7:08 AM
cathy45 said...
Love that bold print, perfect for this breezy summery dress. And your shoes are just too cute.
6/7/08 10:49 AM
blue mooney said...
Love the fabric you chose for this, and the contrast bands. It looks great! Sigrid, thanks so much for your alternate method of doing the front bands! I think I will do mine that way when the time comes.
6/7/08 10:35 AM
Seamingly Simple said...
Your dress is gorgeous and you found the perfect shoes to go with it. The print is very eye-catching: I love the large yet subtle numerals.
6/7/08 9:19 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Lovely dress!
6/7/08 9:02 AM
MissCelie said...
I want you to know I dreamt about this dress last night and I know the perfect fabric. Thanks for putting together such a great tutorial!
6/7/08 8:06 AM
Annette1 said...
Oh, Sigrid, you really outdid yourself on this one. This is SO flattering, and I love that print. The dress looks rather "blah" in the magazine picture, but both yours and Kay's have turned out BEAUTIFULLY! I haven't seen the other reviews yet, but this dress seems to be becoming a favorite for lots of us. :o)
6/7/08 1:41 AM
Karen6790 said...
The pictures in the magazine were beyond useless in showing what a great dress this is. Sigrid, thanks for the tip on the top construction - I'll see how I make out with the BWOF instructions, but yours make more sense to me already.
6/6/08 11:01 PM
Lori V said...
Such a wonderful dress. Great job.
6/6/08 9:50 PM
Kay Y said...
You and I agree perfectly on prints and patterns! Love your version - and I edited my review to note I too had raised the neck by 3cm - the perfect amount.
6/6/08 8:34 PM
Birgitte said...
Another fantastic version of this dress- I might just have to bite the bullet, if I can only find away around that v neck (just not good on me :-()
6/6/08 7:39 PM
Beek said...
You were up for the challenge and you succeeded with style! Beautiful dress.
6/6/08 7:25 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
I love that bold fabric - this dress seems perfect for it and it looks terrific!
6/6/08 7:24 PM
michellep74 said...
Very cute! All of the versions of this dress that have been posted here have been much nicer than the one in the magazine--yours is no exception.
6/6/08 5:41 PM
cabinbaby said...
Super cute! I really like the dress with those shoes too.
6/6/08 5:35 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Butterick 5796

photo
by: michellep7...

Review

Pattern

Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Petite Plus 203 Pattern

Buy Now
HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

HANDBAG CONSTRUCTION - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Buy Now