Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 2889 (Oscar de la Renta gown) - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 689 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Georgene
photo
About Georgenestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 10/5/02
Reviews written: 110
Sewing skills:Expert/Couture
Favored by: 97 people
patterns reviewed: 40
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/08 3:18 AM
Last Updated:6/8/08 3:37 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
Beautiful, Georgene--awe-inspiring, actually!
6/8/08 3:26 AM
Athene said...
A very beautiful gown and your DD looks fabulous in it.
6/8/08 4:19 AM
Georgene said...
Just wanted to add that the double layer skirt is actually an effect made by bustling the longer length front skirt up to the lip of the underbodice structure. (all sewn by hand, of course). This was sooooo unclear from the instructions, it took me several readings to even come close to understanding this.
6/8/08 4:53 AM
lyra said...
Wow, it's gorgeous. I really love the deep blue color and that amazing skirt. :)
6/8/08 5:54 AM
Karla Kizer said...
The results are fabulous and the review is both helpful and frightening. What a project! Warn your lovely DD that she will be getting married in this dress.
6/8/08 6:57 AM
LorelleD said...
A beautiful dress. Your daughter looks gorgeous in it. I really like the choice of accessories.
6/8/08 7:04 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Stunning! Thanks for the heads up about being on your own.
6/8/08 8:42 AM
Kay Y said...
That is one amazing dress!
6/8/08 8:55 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Beautiful, fabulous, jawdropping! Oh, and the dress is pretty too! ;-)
6/8/08 9:03 AM
MaryBeth said...
Fabulous outcome especially considering the difficult pattern and fabrics. We're lucky to have the extra resources like Kenneth King and Susan Khalje's works as well as Els' zipper tutorial to see us through these types of often last minute, truly must-be-head-turning sewing jobs. Congrats to you and DD both!
6/8/08 11:14 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Wow, this dress is gorgeous. I can't even imagine the hours you and your DD put into create this beauty.
6/8/08 11:19 AM
Erica B. said...
What a fabulous "red carpet worthy" dress on a beautiful young lady! THIS is how young ladies should look for prom!
6/8/08 12:13 PM
Ann Smith said...
Fantastic dress on your beautiful daughter! I think your last minute shoulder/back coverage is brilliant and to me looks totally compatible with the dress design.
6/8/08 12:31 PM
Liana said...
Beautiful. A real work of art, and a labor of love. Vague indeed! It took someone with actual knowledge and practice to make this work, and you did it with no problem. Great job, and a beautiful (and helpful!) DD.
6/8/08 1:22 PM
Cecile Owens said...
The dress and your daughter are a knockout! The boots are a terrific addition. She must have been(or will be) the Belle of the Ball & I think this pattern would make a beautiful wedding dress (maybe shelve the boots).
6/8/08 2:06 PM
Irene said...
Your DD looks wonderful--and why not, having all her expectations met by Mom's skillful hands? What a fabulous way to celebrate these last days of high school.
6/8/08 2:20 PM
AnneM said...
Wow. And Wow again. Beautiful dress. I really like the shoulders you added; they go so perfectly with the character of the dress.
6/8/08 7:54 PM
solosmocker said...
Exquisite gown!
6/8/08 9:22 PM
rmardel said...
What a beautiful, elegant dress (and daughter). Your knowledge and expertise shine here (and part of that is knowing when and where to turn for assistance) and the dress reaally shines. I think the last-minute sleeves look like they were part of the design of the dress. Great save.
6/9/08 6:56 AM
joan said...
Georgene, the gown (and DD) are absolutely stunning. What a work of love you and she created. Love the denim, Doc Martens and make-up to enhance the whole image. Will we get to see it at BABES???
6/9/08 11:01 AM
meli88a said...
wow, wow, wow - your daughter was the belle of the ball in the dress!
6/9/08 11:21 AM
Harriet Rogers said...
Georgene: I WANT ONE! This is absolutely fabulous: just the dress for my "fantasy" life: nightly attendance at balls and operas with a handsome, worshipping escort! What a great dress: the order I would place with you would be for black silk taffeta. Thanks for "dressing" my dream-life!
6/9/08 12:24 PM
Nancy K said...
A beautiful girl in a gorgeous dress! Am I wrong or did the Vogue designer patterns of old actually have good directions? A labor of love. I loved the accessories that make the dress 'fierce' and fun.
6/9/08 1:22 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
A collaborative coup for you and DD. This is one amazing and crackin gown on the elusive and beautiful DD.
6/10/08 1:12 AM
Mahler said...
A piece of Art !!!! with a capital A. The shoulder straps are brillant... and I love the dress and dr martens combination. Vous êtes mon idole de la couture. M-a-g-n-i-f-i-q-u-e! et quelle belle fille également.
6/10/08 7:19 PM
cindyann said...
Georgene, I've been out of it so I missed this post until today. Can I say WOW? Just fantastic. Very chic save with the addition of the shoulder straps. They really look fantastic.
6/12/08 4:42 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Outstanding!
6/20/08 12:05 PM
Maileen said...
I am currently sewing my wedding dress from this pattern, and I'm so glad to have found your review! So far I am about halfway through, though I skipped the invisible zipper part; I'll have to check out the link you provided. Thanks so much for the photos and for writing about it, this will surely help me as I'm sewing.
8/22/08 0:06 AM
pammieh said...
Gorgeous dress!! Thanks for the honest and entertaining review!
7/26/09 8:53 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Simplicity 2264
photo
Review by Crys0904 on 4/11/12
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3389 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3389 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1376 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )
Simplicity 1376 Pattern ( Size 20W-28W )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCall's 5979
photo
Review by maedchen on 12/31/09
Read Review

Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Ethan Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Birthday Girl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Birthday Girl Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern
SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us