SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3621 (Misses Pull-Over Tops)

2 more reviews
Viewed 768 times 
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 137
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/08 9:56 PM
Last Updated:6/9/08 0:03 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
julie w said...
I love your collar treatment, very clever!
6/8/08 10:24 PM
Rebecca D said...
Thanks for this review. I traced out my pattern last night and I appreciate the notes about the sleeves and the neckline finish. I think your collar treatment looks great.
6/9/08 6:16 AM
Doris Stewart said...
Very nice - I like your top and your review is great, thanks.
6/9/08 7:57 AM
Heatherrique said...
Delightfully attractive top, Patti! You look superb!
6/9/08 8:07 AM
carolynw said...
I love all the customizing you have done to this - makes it so diferent and eye catching
6/9/08 8:33 AM
Peggy L said...
I want one!!! That looks so cool and nice for summer. Great job.
6/9/08 9:34 AM
2BSewing said...
Beautiful top! You did a great job with matching the stripes. Looks great!
6/9/08 9:52 AM
MaryBeth said...
Very nice outcome, Patti. It looks like the hard work paid off :)
6/9/08 10:09 AM
JDpenelope said...
It couldn't have turned out any better. Your customizing is so clever and looks great. Fit is perfect, too. Here's another pattern that I wish there were time to sew!
6/9/08 10:29 AM
Callie 3 said...
Really a sharp looking shirt with all your changes. I wondered how you got the collar to match so well. The change of direction of the stripes in the placket and the collar make this look like a very expensive item!
6/9/08 11:40 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a cool way to make the collar!
6/9/08 11:45 AM
Rustybobn said...
Hey I'll box up some of this summer we're having here in Georgia and send it right along--101 degrees on my back porch yesterday. That's really cute and I love your special touches.
6/9/08 11:54 AM
Winifred said...
This is very beautiful and all your matchings are perfect. I would love it if you could tell me what thread you used for the topstitching in the collar ?
6/9/08 6:03 PM
Patti B said...
Winifred, I used two spools of Madeira rayon embroidery thread for the collar topstitching thinking the sheen would help it stand out against the green. Thanks for the kind words!
6/9/08 6:51 PM
Terri Smith said...
I really like your collar details! Very nice top, and the color looks good on you too.
6/9/08 8:14 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Beautiful top and you color coordination is right on the mark. Lovely.
6/9/08 8:35 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, that's downight ingenious, what you've done with that collar and the extra little piece on the placket. I'm so glad you included the close-up pictures. EVERYTHING is just PERFECT. I wouldn't even have looked twice at this pattern, and now I seem to think I can't live without it. Thanks a lot. :o) GREAT review! I was just looking at your pictures again. Did you have to raise the neckline at all? It looks low on the pattern, but yours looks just right. Thanks.
6/10/08 6:28 PM
Patti B said...
Annette, I did nothing to the neckline; this is how it was drafted. I wondered how the collar would lay but it turned out just fine. BTW I should have mentioned that this pattern eliminates the 'fussing with corner' problem that plackets may present. The shirt below the placket is a separate piece so that it is sewn to the bottom of the placket and then this piece is sewn all the way around to the shirt. Easy-peasy.
6/11/08 10:31 AM
Winifred said...
Thanks for your reply - I do appreciate it. Still a little uncertain ( or really thick!) Do you mean that you used two strands of the Madeira on the spool ? ?Madeira on the bobbin or ordinary Gutterman or whatever? Really want to try to replicate this. At last I've found someone to ask as a bit reticent with experimenting - dont know why, I've been sewing long enough!!
6/11/08 5:09 PM
Patti B said...
Winifred, you're spot on with what you've figured out -- 2 threads through the needle and regular thread in the bobbin. Hope it works for you.
6/12/08 10:47 AM
bugsnchita said...
Thank you, Patti for this thorough review of this pattern. This is lovely. I'm inspired to try a pullover top pattern. I love your details. The pleating really makes it for me. Thank you for all the photos of the details. The top looks really nice on you.
6/19/08 11:15 AM
cherylzone said...
Wonderful custom details that make this shirt very special. I wanted to see if anyone had made this in a lightweight wool with the hood for winter. I now live in Oregon and find I want a hood on every garment I own (rain). Thanks for the very complete review!
12/20/08 1:48 AM
samisews said...
I have made this pattern twice now. Be careful when you put in the sleeves that they don't look puffy. It your fabric doesn't ease well just pinch down the cap to shorten it slightly.
6/21/10 11:07 AM
Calendria said...
LOVE it. Can't wait to try it. Its in my catalogue, just haven't gotten to it yet, thanx.
8/30/11 12:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Folkwear 240

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Vogue Patterns 2964

photo
by: Jessamaka

Review
Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Favorite Things Prairie Girl Pattern

Buy Now
Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Ava Jacket Paper Pattern

Buy Now