Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3621 (Misses Pull-Over Tops) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 759 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:Patti B
photo
Friend of PR
About Patti Bstarstarstarstar
OR USA
Member since: 9/29/02
Reviews written: 162
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 70 people
patterns reviewed: 135
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/8/08 9:56 PM
Last Updated:6/9/08 0:03 AM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
24 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
julie w said...
I love your collar treatment, very clever!
6/8/08 10:24 PM
Rebecca D said...
Thanks for this review. I traced out my pattern last night and I appreciate the notes about the sleeves and the neckline finish. I think your collar treatment looks great.
6/9/08 6:16 AM
Doris Stewart said...
Very nice - I like your top and your review is great, thanks.
6/9/08 7:57 AM
Heatherrique said...
Delightfully attractive top, Patti! You look superb!
6/9/08 8:07 AM
carolynw said...
I love all the customizing you have done to this - makes it so diferent and eye catching
6/9/08 8:33 AM
Peggy L said...
I want one!!! That looks so cool and nice for summer. Great job.
6/9/08 9:34 AM
2BSewing said...
Beautiful top! You did a great job with matching the stripes. Looks great!
6/9/08 9:52 AM
MaryBeth said...
Very nice outcome, Patti. It looks like the hard work paid off :)
6/9/08 10:09 AM
JDpenelope said...
It couldn't have turned out any better. Your customizing is so clever and looks great. Fit is perfect, too. Here's another pattern that I wish there were time to sew!
6/9/08 10:29 AM
Callie 3 said...
Really a sharp looking shirt with all your changes. I wondered how you got the collar to match so well. The change of direction of the stripes in the placket and the collar make this look like a very expensive item!
6/9/08 11:40 AM
Em's Summer said...
What a cool way to make the collar!
6/9/08 11:45 AM
Rustybobn said...
Hey I'll box up some of this summer we're having here in Georgia and send it right along--101 degrees on my back porch yesterday. That's really cute and I love your special touches.
6/9/08 11:54 AM
Winifred said...
This is very beautiful and all your matchings are perfect. I would love it if you could tell me what thread you used for the topstitching in the collar ?
6/9/08 6:03 PM
Patti B said...
Winifred, I used two spools of Madeira rayon embroidery thread for the collar topstitching thinking the sheen would help it stand out against the green. Thanks for the kind words!
6/9/08 6:51 PM
Terri Smith said...
I really like your collar details! Very nice top, and the color looks good on you too.
6/9/08 8:14 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
Beautiful top and you color coordination is right on the mark. Lovely.
6/9/08 8:35 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, that's downight ingenious, what you've done with that collar and the extra little piece on the placket. I'm so glad you included the close-up pictures. EVERYTHING is just PERFECT. I wouldn't even have looked twice at this pattern, and now I seem to think I can't live without it. Thanks a lot. :o) GREAT review! I was just looking at your pictures again. Did you have to raise the neckline at all? It looks low on the pattern, but yours looks just right. Thanks.
6/10/08 6:28 PM
Patti B said...
Annette, I did nothing to the neckline; this is how it was drafted. I wondered how the collar would lay but it turned out just fine. BTW I should have mentioned that this pattern eliminates the 'fussing with corner' problem that plackets may present. The shirt below the placket is a separate piece so that it is sewn to the bottom of the placket and then this piece is sewn all the way around to the shirt. Easy-peasy.
6/11/08 10:31 AM
Winifred said...
Thanks for your reply - I do appreciate it. Still a little uncertain ( or really thick!) Do you mean that you used two strands of the Madeira on the spool ? ?Madeira on the bobbin or ordinary Gutterman or whatever? Really want to try to replicate this. At last I've found someone to ask as a bit reticent with experimenting - dont know why, I've been sewing long enough!!
6/11/08 5:09 PM
Patti B said...
Winifred, you're spot on with what you've figured out -- 2 threads through the needle and regular thread in the bobbin. Hope it works for you.
6/12/08 10:47 AM
bugsnchita said...
Thank you, Patti for this thorough review of this pattern. This is lovely. I'm inspired to try a pullover top pattern. I love your details. The pleating really makes it for me. Thank you for all the photos of the details. The top looks really nice on you.
6/19/08 11:15 AM
cherylzone said...
Wonderful custom details that make this shirt very special. I wanted to see if anyone had made this in a lightweight wool with the hood for winter. I now live in Oregon and find I want a hood on every garment I own (rain). Thanks for the very complete review!
12/20/08 1:48 AM
samisews said...
I have made this pattern twice now. Be careful when you put in the sleeves that they don't look puffy. It your fabric doesn't ease well just pinch down the cap to shorten it slightly.
6/21/10 11:07 AM
Calendria said...
LOVE it. Can't wait to try it. Its in my catalogue, just haven't gotten to it yet, thanx.
8/30/11 12:23 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Anna Maria Mariposa Dress/Tunic
photo
Review by mim.tribe on 1/18/11
Read Review

Cake Patterns Espresso Leggings Digital Pattern
Cake Patterns Espresso Leggings Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)
Simple Things Little Kickers Digital Pattern (001)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2320 Toddlers'
photo
Review by ashleyjewe... on 2/9/12
Read Review

You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern
You Sew Girl Hobo Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6920 Pattern
Burda 6920 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8821 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Vogue 8821 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us