Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5181 (Misses Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 858 times 19 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Peacock Chic
photo
Friend of PR
About Peacock Chicstar
CA USA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 21 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/10/08 10:14 AM
Last Updated:6/10/08 7:30 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $15.95     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
28 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MissCelie said...
Yes.... but, really. It's so lovely. So lovely in fact that I have added it to my wishlist. I'm sorry it was a PITA and didn't meet your expectation, but it's pretty darn fabulous on you.
6/10/08 10:41 AM
merteuil said...
Great dress. And I love the shoes
6/10/08 11:01 AM
dbsewer said...
Pluck that dress right out of the garbage. It looks really cute on you. In fact, my first reaction was, hers is much prettier than the pattern envelope would suggest.
6/10/08 11:32 AM
JMarie1962 said...
Despite your disappointment with this dress, it really is awfully cute on you. I've been avoiding a lot of the dress patterns with gathers at the front this year as it's been my experience that the illustrations are not true and there is far more fabric than necessary. Next time (if there is one), maybe you could reduce the gathers and make the skirt more A-line to get the look you want? This dress turned out so pretty though! And yes - I too want your shoes! They rock! :)
6/10/08 11:48 AM
CurlyCrafter said...
That's too bad about the problems along the way. But what a wonderful job you did perfecting it and making a lovely dress! Well done.
6/10/08 12:10 PM
bananaoil said...
I had to see the up close photos to realize you have a camisole under the dress. You're right, a v that deep takes this into evening wear territory. Nonetheless, despite the things you don't like about it, it looks really nice on, I think the fabric choice makes it, those flowers on the border are lovely. I don't know how tall you are, but it occurs to me that v-neck wouldn't be so deep on a woman who's taller than the average 5'4". I know I have had to shorten bodices between top of shoulder, armhole and waistline. Don't forget those length measurements. I think I read somewhere the big four draft for a gal who is 5'6" tall.
6/10/08 12:11 PM
EveS said...
Seriously, I hope you only threw out the pattern and not the dress!! :o I really LIKE the dress! Fabulous fabric (I can see how it inspired you). I agree about the gathered fronts (they really are a crap shoot) but this dress is so trendy and cute! Please give it a chance. :)
6/10/08 12:34 PM
Peacock Chic said...
Thanks for the wonderful compliments and advice on this dress. I definitely kept the dress. I will wear it again and when I get tired of it I will recycle that bottom fabric because I love it so much. I have a bit more too so we shall see what else I can come up with.

JMarie1962 - I guess I forgot to say that I did add a bit of an A-line to the skirt and it is still quite substantial. Guess I should have gone for the brodie and taken more out.

bananaoil - Thanks for the suggestion. I measure 5'2" so the doctors say... I like to say I am 5'3" to 5'4" depending on my mood :O). The bodice length actually fits at a size 16, any shorter and the band would be mid breast. The pattern actually had shortening lines in the middle band but that would not have compensated for the dip. I think this dress was just meant to be va va va VOOOM!
6/10/08 1:09 PM
Charlene McGill said...
Your dress looks really nice on you.
6/10/08 1:25 PM
ocotillo said...
This looks fabulous on you! I think the pain of sewing it has paid off with a dress that really suits you.
6/10/08 1:58 PM
KrystalL said...
I love your fabric on this! So pretty!
6/10/08 2:10 PM
mochalover said...
I agree with the others your dress is absolutely fabulous.
6/10/08 3:03 PM
Lori V said...
The dress looks fabulous on you, thanks for the heads-up on the pattern.
6/10/08 3:06 PM
mylittleelephant said...
You "chucked it back with disdain" to the garbage...very funny and I know the feeling! :-) Still the dress is REALLY lovely and you do look lovely in it, love the way you play with fabric pattern.
6/10/08 3:20 PM
kim*brown said...
I must say you worked some magic because it turned out fabulous!
6/10/08 3:56 PM
Annette1 said...
I love this review! You have a unique "voice" that's all your own when you write. :o)) As for your dress, I think it looks GREAT, and that fabric just MAKES it. I had never thought about a style like this needing no ease in the bust, but I can see now that that would be right. What PLANET are these people on who are cutting these necklines so low? It's starting to really TICK ME OFF. I don't feel inclined to remake EVERY STINKIN' NECKLINE, so I just won't buy those patterns anymore. :o) In closing, I would only say I figured you for at least 5'6." Heh-heh-heh. Great review and great dress!
6/10/08 5:03 PM
born2bead said...
Yes, I made this same dress and could not believe how low-cut the neckline was! I doubt I will ever use the pattern again either. I think yours turned out really nice though. Love the 2 different fabrics and some may have been distracted by the yellow shoes but I love the "pop" of color myself! All and all it turned out really nice even with the issues that you had!
6/10/08 6:43 PM
Gold said...
Very cute dress!The fabric is nice.
6/10/08 7:10 PM
Izzie said...
Sorry you were so dissappointed in the pattern but your dress is really cute on you! I'm glad you're keeping it and that fabric really is fab. P'tahk pattern company has no honor! :-)
6/10/08 8:15 PM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
You look stunning in this dress, it is perfect for you.
6/10/08 8:23 PM
Peacock Chic said...
Izzie - OMG you so rock breaking out with the Klingon shoutout! Qa'Pla! Today is a good day to Sew!!! (For all the non-nerdy, non-Star Trek lovin' sewers out there...I am sorry you had to witness this :OP but it may bring more of you out of the Star Trek closet because Resistance is futile. hee hee)

Annette1 - thanks for the height boost. They say age is a state of mind so why not height too, eh?!
6/10/08 8:24 PM
narcissaqtpie said...
hot dress! you look great!
6/10/08 10:14 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
PC~ LOVE your style, sewing skills and especially your sense of humor. LOVE LOVE LOVE the coat you made too! The dress and coat both look sensational on you! Amazing work with only one year under your belt; you are truly gifted and talented. ~Connie
6/10/08 11:12 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such a fun and fabulous dress! You are so adorable!
6/11/08 8:54 AM
li'l miss muffett said...
Seriously, my first thought was "Damn! that's CUTE!!!" I'm sorry you don't like it but it look so adorable in the picture.... I'm with you on the gathering, though. I hate gathering.
6/11/08 11:32 AM
carolynw said...
I looked at the photo and thought "what do you mean it didn't work for you??" - then realised after I read your review the problems you had - ended up pretty darn smashing is what I say.
6/11/08 3:16 PM
ButtonFaith said...
I looked at your dress and thought 'wow! that's great!" and then ir ead your review! I was surprised you really didn't like it. I love the border print and think it goes great with that pattern and agree that the cami even adds to the dress. And the shoes! POP! Good job!
6/11/08 5:02 PM
edupraz said...
Well, I love the dress, even with all the problems you had with the pattern! I esp. love your yellow shoes with it! :)
6/12/08 2:04 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Self Drafted Pattern 234865-1001 Designer Slip
photo
Review by pegsewer on 2/17/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )
Peek-A Boo Classic T-Strap Booties Digital Pattern ( Size 3-18 mos )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Cappuccino Dress & Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4047
photo
Review by Anabolina on 7/1/08
Read Review

9 inch Bent Handle Scissors
9 inch Bent Handle Scissors

Details
Price: $24.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jackets for Real People DVD
Jackets for Real People DVD

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1910 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Simplicity 1910 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns Robson Coat Pattern
Sewaholic Patterns Robson Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $17.98
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us