SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5049 (Butterick by Connie Crawford)

3 more reviews
Viewed 838 times 
Reviewed by:jbsew
photo

 
 
About jbsewstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 9/9/05
Reviews written: 89
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/12/08 4:15 PM
Last Updated:6/12/08 4:15 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 30 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CurlyCrafter said...
That's such lovely material and looks like a comfy and pretty dress for summer!
6/12/08 5:43 PM
dbsewer said...
Is this pattern sized for knits? It's awfully cute and looks like a perfect summer dress. I love your fabric choice.
6/12/08 5:57 PM
LorrieAnn said...
I love your fabric - gorgeous colors - and you did a beautiful sewing job. I see the pattern (online, at least) only specifies 60" fabric. Could 44" be used?
6/12/08 6:53 PM
Athene said...
Lovely colors - it looks like a great summer dress.
6/12/08 10:18 PM
jbsew said...
Thanks for the kind comments. The widest width on the size 16 was 20" so it would work on 44" fabric. I think as the sizes increase it would not work because of the flare of the skirt. Here is what the pattern says about fabric choices - " soft light to mediumweight fabrics: rayon, knits, cotton or linen."
6/13/08 7:37 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Beautiful spring dress!
6/13/08 7:39 AM
wvsher said...
Very pretty dress! Thanks for the review.
6/13/08 3:28 PM
Cherr said...
Thanks, I plan to make this dress soon in a linen fabric with a matching jacket.
6/26/08 7:09 PM
CAgirl said...
Lovely! I almost bought this pattern today, but resisted until I checked for a review! Thank you. Did you buy this pattern online or from a fabric store? She says the online patterns differ in paper /envelope quality and that customer support is for the online shopper. Just wondering... also, is a zipper required or is the neck opening large enough? Again... lovely dress!
7/15/08 3:51 PM
jbsew said...
I purchased the pattern at the local fabric store for $1.50 when Butterick patterns were on a great sale. I don't know about the on line service. No zipper - it is easy to slide on and off. I've had lots of compliments on the dress and have worn it to 2 weddings this summer.
7/16/08 6:19 AM
SavannahSue said...
Great review and Great dress! I've got several of her patterns and wonder why most of them have no darts for us "mature figures". Would you recommend adding one?
8/2/08 8:00 PM
jbsew said...
on this pattern the twin tucks work for the shaping and I don't think a dart is necessary
8/10/08 5:34 PM
carlton said...
have just bought this pattern,in the instructions you do not place the cb to the fold but it does not tell you to seam the cb,very odd do like it though,jane
5/21/09 7:48 AM
Klutzy said...
I just bought this and am encouraged by the look of your lovely dress! I was urged to get this particular pattern by an expert seamstress who says it flatters every figure type.
3/31/12 9:10 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Kwik Sew 3696

photo
by: DebLee

Review
Katy Bags

Katy Bags

Buy Now
Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Buy Now