Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5049 (Butterick by Connie Crawford) - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 828 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 29 people   
Reviewed by:jbsew
photo
About jbsewstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 9/9/05
Reviews written: 89
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 30 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/12/08 4:15 PM
Last Updated:6/12/08 4:15 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CurlyCrafter said...
That's such lovely material and looks like a comfy and pretty dress for summer!
6/12/08 5:43 PM
dbsewer said...
Is this pattern sized for knits? It's awfully cute and looks like a perfect summer dress. I love your fabric choice.
6/12/08 5:57 PM
LorrieAnn said...
I love your fabric - gorgeous colors - and you did a beautiful sewing job. I see the pattern (online, at least) only specifies 60" fabric. Could 44" be used?
6/12/08 6:53 PM
Athene said...
Lovely colors - it looks like a great summer dress.
6/12/08 10:18 PM
jbsew said...
Thanks for the kind comments. The widest width on the size 16 was 20" so it would work on 44" fabric. I think as the sizes increase it would not work because of the flare of the skirt. Here is what the pattern says about fabric choices - " soft light to mediumweight fabrics: rayon, knits, cotton or linen."
6/13/08 7:37 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Beautiful spring dress!
6/13/08 7:39 AM
wvsher said...
Very pretty dress! Thanks for the review.
6/13/08 3:28 PM
Cherr said...
Thanks, I plan to make this dress soon in a linen fabric with a matching jacket.
6/26/08 7:09 PM
CAgirl said...
Lovely! I almost bought this pattern today, but resisted until I checked for a review! Thank you. Did you buy this pattern online or from a fabric store? She says the online patterns differ in paper /envelope quality and that customer support is for the online shopper. Just wondering... also, is a zipper required or is the neck opening large enough? Again... lovely dress!
7/15/08 3:51 PM
jbsew said...
I purchased the pattern at the local fabric store for $1.50 when Butterick patterns were on a great sale. I don't know about the on line service. No zipper - it is easy to slide on and off. I've had lots of compliments on the dress and have worn it to 2 weddings this summer.
7/16/08 6:19 AM
SavannahSue said...
Great review and Great dress! I've got several of her patterns and wonder why most of them have no darts for us "mature figures". Would you recommend adding one?
8/2/08 8:00 PM
jbsew said...
on this pattern the twin tucks work for the shaping and I don't think a dart is necessary
8/10/08 5:34 PM
carlton said...
have just bought this pattern,in the instructions you do not place the cb to the fold but it does not tell you to seam the cb,very odd do like it though,jane
5/21/09 7:48 AM
Klutzy said...
I just bought this and am encouraged by the look of your lovely dress! I was urged to get this particular pattern by an expert seamstress who says it flatters every figure type.
3/31/12 9:10 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2009-121 Skirt
photo
Review by Kbenco on 1/29/10
Read Review

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Medium Black
PerfectFuse Medium Black

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Cathy Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Cathy Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick Free LUV letters
photo
Review by HanPanda on 4/6/13
Read Review

McCalls 4646 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
McCalls 4646 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $11.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5829 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Butterick 5829 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us