SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 09-2007-104 (Coat)

8 more reviews
Viewed 386 times 
Reviewed by:rivergum
photo

 
 
About rivergumstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/17/06
Reviews written: 128
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 123
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/14/08 6:58 AM
Last Updated:6/14/08 7:15 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
You did a fantastic job on this coat and it looks realy professional from the photos. I like what you did with the buttons. I can understand the buttonhole issue but really you got a good opening with the block and chisel which, IMHO, is the best method. This coat may have proved a challenge but you were certainly up to it. Thanks for a great review.
6/14/08 8:02 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Nice work on the coat! I like the belt detail in the back.
6/14/08 8:10 AM
BettyMike said...
Nice looking coat! I'm working on the short version now. Really struggling with the collar. Your collar looks great!
6/14/08 8:19 AM
Sigrid. said...
Fantastic that you could squeeze this coat out of 1,5 mtr. It doesn't seem shortened, I see what you mean by not being long enough for skirts, but it certainly DOES NOT look "shortened because I didn't have enough fabric". Great result, this coat will give you much pleasure, I can read that from your review.
6/14/08 8:28 AM
Karen8320 said...
Frantic, I think you've done a great job with this coat! To my eye, there is certainly nothing wrong with the proportions. This looks almost the same as a short coat that I bought in London a few years ago which is shorter than I would like and that I only wear with jeans. In fact, I think your length looks perfect. I'm also really impressed by your feat of engineering in managing to have so little fabric left over. Great stuff! I also like your half belt at the back. It's a nice touch and gives the back a bit of added interest. I'm impressed!
6/14/08 8:42 AM
mastdenman said...
Nice coat. I like the belt too. It looks like a nice length on you.
6/14/08 9:31 AM
Mahler said...
I like the colour you chose. It is a simple and classy coat. The back-belt (or martingale in French) looks great. I think is the way you are standing that makes it look crooked.
6/14/08 10:04 AM
blue mooney said...
Gee, I think it looks really nice! And you get the "Queen of Thrift" award for making full use of the fabric!
6/14/08 10:44 AM
Elona said...
What a handsome coat! I think the length looks just fine on you, and your resourcefulness with that tiny amount of fabric is enviable.
6/14/08 11:32 AM
Aixoise said...
"A triumph of stubbornness over common sense." What a great line! Describes me perfectly. The coat is lovely and very practical at the length it is, as in "rudely cold" weather you probably will be wearing trousers anyway. Great review--thanks for the chuckles.
6/14/08 3:14 PM
Leslie in NZ said...
Very, very nice. You did an excellent job. I don't think it looks out of proportion. I particularly like the lining. I love a "surprise" lining, RTW ones are soooooooo boring!! It looks very luxurious in the photo, what did you use?
6/14/08 3:39 PM
LindsayT said...
Well done!
6/14/08 4:12 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, I LOVE this. Here I am already WISHING for winter, and it's only June 14, and then you have to rub my nose in it with this fabulous coat! I really like the line formed by the closely spaced rows of buttons on the front, and I LIKE that length! I've been eyeing patterns in that length because, as you say, it's long enough to actually keep you warm, but on the other hand, I don't have to fight the hem every time I get in and out of the car to go to work or, worse yet, have it dangling out the bottom of the car door as I'm driving. I might add, I also LOVE your boots. I've got a real problem with boots (as in WAY too many of them). I just had to restrain myself last night from buying another pair. But now that I think of them ... :o) GREAT job!
6/14/08 6:18 PM
pelli78500 said...
Absolutely delightful! Great job, great review!
6/15/08 0:35 AM
Darla in PA said...
Your coat is wonderful. I'm impressed with the squeezing it out of 1.5 m. Enjoy your coat.
6/15/08 7:22 AM
sewsue said...
That is a lovely coat, and I am amzed you squeezed it out of so little fabric. Great work.
6/15/08 5:26 PM
donna mel said...
i am so impressed! i will attempt a jacket when it gets closer to winter...thanks for the inspiration!
6/16/08 8:44 AM
Marilyn N. said...
The coat looks great! I am about to make this coat & I really appreciate your review. I like the curved flaps; now I know to plan ahead & decide where to stop stitching!
11/22/08 5:21 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Butterick 5185

photo
by: mochimo

Review
McCall's 6503

photo
by: zoe

Review
Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Petite Plus 651 Pattern

Buy Now
SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

Buy Now