Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 09-2007-104 (Coat) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 386 times 8 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:rivergum
photo
About rivergumstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/17/06
Reviews written: 128
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 123
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/14/08 6:58 AM
Last Updated:6/14/08 7:15 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
You did a fantastic job on this coat and it looks realy professional from the photos. I like what you did with the buttons. I can understand the buttonhole issue but really you got a good opening with the block and chisel which, IMHO, is the best method. This coat may have proved a challenge but you were certainly up to it. Thanks for a great review.
6/14/08 8:02 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Nice work on the coat! I like the belt detail in the back.
6/14/08 8:10 AM
BettyMike said...
Nice looking coat! I'm working on the short version now. Really struggling with the collar. Your collar looks great!
6/14/08 8:19 AM
Sigrid. said...
Fantastic that you could squeeze this coat out of 1,5 mtr. It doesn't seem shortened, I see what you mean by not being long enough for skirts, but it certainly DOES NOT look "shortened because I didn't have enough fabric". Great result, this coat will give you much pleasure, I can read that from your review.
6/14/08 8:28 AM
Karen8320 said...
Frantic, I think you've done a great job with this coat! To my eye, there is certainly nothing wrong with the proportions. This looks almost the same as a short coat that I bought in London a few years ago which is shorter than I would like and that I only wear with jeans. In fact, I think your length looks perfect. I'm also really impressed by your feat of engineering in managing to have so little fabric left over. Great stuff! I also like your half belt at the back. It's a nice touch and gives the back a bit of added interest. I'm impressed!
6/14/08 8:42 AM
mastdenman said...
Nice coat. I like the belt too. It looks like a nice length on you.
6/14/08 9:31 AM
Mahler said...
I like the colour you chose. It is a simple and classy coat. The back-belt (or martingale in French) looks great. I think is the way you are standing that makes it look crooked.
6/14/08 10:04 AM
blue mooney said...
Gee, I think it looks really nice! And you get the "Queen of Thrift" award for making full use of the fabric!
6/14/08 10:44 AM
Elona said...
What a handsome coat! I think the length looks just fine on you, and your resourcefulness with that tiny amount of fabric is enviable.
6/14/08 11:32 AM
Aixoise said...
"A triumph of stubbornness over common sense." What a great line! Describes me perfectly. The coat is lovely and very practical at the length it is, as in "rudely cold" weather you probably will be wearing trousers anyway. Great review--thanks for the chuckles.
6/14/08 3:14 PM
Leslie in NZ said...
Very, very nice. You did an excellent job. I don't think it looks out of proportion. I particularly like the lining. I love a "surprise" lining, RTW ones are soooooooo boring!! It looks very luxurious in the photo, what did you use?
6/14/08 3:39 PM
LindsayT said...
Well done!
6/14/08 4:12 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, I LOVE this. Here I am already WISHING for winter, and it's only June 14, and then you have to rub my nose in it with this fabulous coat! I really like the line formed by the closely spaced rows of buttons on the front, and I LIKE that length! I've been eyeing patterns in that length because, as you say, it's long enough to actually keep you warm, but on the other hand, I don't have to fight the hem every time I get in and out of the car to go to work or, worse yet, have it dangling out the bottom of the car door as I'm driving. I might add, I also LOVE your boots. I've got a real problem with boots (as in WAY too many of them). I just had to restrain myself last night from buying another pair. But now that I think of them ... :o) GREAT job!
6/14/08 6:18 PM
pelli78500 said...
Absolutely delightful! Great job, great review!
6/15/08 0:35 AM
Darla in PA said...
Your coat is wonderful. I'm impressed with the squeezing it out of 1.5 m. Enjoy your coat.
6/15/08 7:22 AM
sewsue said...
That is a lovely coat, and I am amzed you squeezed it out of so little fabric. Great work.
6/15/08 5:26 PM
donna mel said...
i am so impressed! i will attempt a jacket when it gets closer to winter...thanks for the inspiration!
6/16/08 8:44 AM
Marilyn N. said...
The coat looks great! I am about to make this coat & I really appreciate your review. I like the curved flaps; now I know to plan ahead & decide where to stop stitching!
11/22/08 5:21 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Vogue Patterns 7998
photo
Review by Tallahasse... on 11/23/09
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Double Green Shopping Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Stella Dress and Top Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Stella Dress and Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Stella Sun Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Amy Butler AB025FB Frenchy Bags
photo
Review by SarahSM on 9/3/07
Read Review

Simplicity 2160 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 2160 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1564 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L )
Simplicity 1564 Pattern ( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us