Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5395 (Misses' Unlined Jackets) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1270 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 10 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:tashainflorence
photo
Friend of PR
About tashainflorencestar
ITALY
Member since: 11/21/07
Reviews written: 23
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 10 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/15/08 9:35 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
36 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mahler said...
Brava, la sua giaccheta e totalmente riuscita. Mi piacionno le maniche corte. This project is really a great success. Congratulations for all those well done firts!
6/15/08 9:59 AM
Beek said...
Beautifully executed! Your first jacket is outstanding. I would think that you could tackle any level of difficulty and succeed from what I see! Congrats!!!
6/15/08 10:02 AM
TrixieD said...
Very fine work, and it's your first jacket. Bravo.
6/15/08 10:24 AM
CurlyCrafter said...
wow - I can't believe this was for your beginner contest. It's fabulous and you did a wonderful job! I have this pattern and reallywant to try it now.
6/15/08 10:52 AM
wvsher said...
Lovely little jacket, looks very professionally made. Great job on it!
6/15/08 10:53 AM
JMarie1962 said...
All the things I've seen you sew here are just beautifully done. This jacket is no exception. Great job and Congratulations on your first jacket!
6/15/08 11:29 AM
AnneM said...
Congratulations on your top. It looks fantastic. It shows that some effort and care really pays off. The binding tape gives a very polished look to the inside, perfect for an unlined jacket.
6/15/08 11:48 AM
Lori V said...
Beautiful jacket, and what a wonderful jacket for your very first attempt.
6/15/08 12:02 PM
Heatherrique said...
Cool, crisp and very cute jacket! Impeccable!
6/15/08 12:03 PM
Erica B. said...
Your jacket is fabulous and does not look like a beginner project! Fantastic work!
6/15/08 12:39 PM
Em's Summer said...
Your jacket looks fabulous in white! You did an exceptional job in workmanship!
6/15/08 1:44 PM
Athene said...
Your jacket turned out wonderful - very nice finishing on the inside also.
6/15/08 4:41 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Great effort! I am sure my first jacket did not look that good :)
6/15/08 8:24 PM
jlg said...
Beautifully made. Congratulations. It's very cute.
6/15/08 8:26 PM
Gelbean said...
You did an excellent job on your first jacket. It's beautiful.
6/16/08 0:55 AM
yorkshire lass said...
Wow, gorgeous jacket beautifully made and finished. Well done on your first jacket which looks really professional. Bet you get loads of positive comments as it is really cute.
6/16/08 3:58 AM
nglalala said...
looks great!
6/16/08 12:54 PM
nellc said...
This is lovely, a great first jacket, and so nicely finished on the inside.
6/16/08 3:16 PM
Timmithea said...
What a fun summer jacket. I love the white fabric. The pockets look pretty darn good for winging it!
6/16/08 9:15 PM
amy in mpls said...
Beautiful Jacket and perfect for the summer! I think I might have to attempt one for myself!
6/19/08 3:42 PM
Jane S said...
Wonderful summer jacket. Congrats on so many achievements in one garment.
6/20/08 11:17 AM
misscoleen said...
Great looking jacket and I really love the way you finished the inside!
6/24/08 9:47 AM
kellymailinglist said...
Wonderful, wonderful job--You could probably get a job as a tailor! Lovely seams, too!
6/28/08 10:20 AM
shesflipped said...
This is a stunning jacket! Great job on all of your 'first's'. Bravo!
6/29/08 3:49 PM
Amanda S. said...
It's like looking in my closet!!! I made this exact view in a white linen with a white button! You did a great job. I love the puff sleeves on this design.
6/30/08 8:51 AM
rebija said...
Absolutely beautiful! I love the finish on your inside seams. Great job!
6/30/08 12:39 PM
sb1280 said...
Wow! This looks great! You did a terrific job, I can't believe its your first jacket!
7/1/08 8:52 AM
Katie B said...
Nice Job!
7/3/08 12:38 PM
Fictionfan said...
Are you sure you are a beginner? This is an amazing looking jacket! Beautiful details!
7/7/08 6:44 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Nice jacket! The inside seams are very nicely finished and well done on tackling a SBA for the first time. I'm sure you'll get a lot of wear out of this.
7/10/08 7:30 AM
bjsewsagain said...
Really cute jacket. Great job.
7/17/08 7:55 PM
ocean girl said...
What a great looking jacket!! I think I will make one.
7/19/08 8:12 PM
carole said...
yes, i would like to ask if the front seam and side seam when sewn together fun through the middle of the apex or if the seam runs up about 1/4 to 1/2 in. beside the middle of the apex . your jacket is very very nice . carole
7/28/08 6:03 PM
tashainflorence said...
Carole, the princess seams run about 1&3/8" to the side (toward the arm) from a long dart (on each side) which stops 1/2" below the apex of the breast point. In the back, the jacket consists of only two princess seams and the CB seam. I hope that is more clear. Thanks
7/29/08 8:19 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Outstanding job on the jacket and an impressive list of "first."
9/23/09 5:21 PM
HLT said...
Very nicely done!
6/17/10 11:38 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2005-108 tee shirt
photo
Review by SueV on 2/6/05
Read Review

SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern
SewBaby Quick Kitchen Gifts Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern
Shapes Six Sense Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Bershire Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Bershire Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)
Lazy Days Skirt (FREE!)

Details
Price: $0
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2047 (vintage)
photo
Review by Cowtown Ka... on 10/7/11
Read Review

Simplicity 8523 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18 )
Simplicity 8523 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6137 Pattern( Size One Size )
McCalls 6137 Pattern( Size One Size )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us