SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB032SC (Sophia Carry-All)

15 more reviews
Viewed 670 times 
Reviewed by:MegVS
photo

 
 
About MegVS
MI USA
Member since: 2/20/08
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/17/08 8:54 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
okie2thdoc said...
I love your choice of colors. I have heard Timex is great. You might want to read some of the reviews and the suggestions of those who have made bags/purses. Wonderful job as your first bag- I hear this one is tough.
6/17/08 9:13 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
That is such a CUTE purse!!! I ABSOLUTELY LOVE your choice of fabric!!! I just LOVE it!!!
6/17/08 9:17 PM
shesflipped said...
Your choice of fabric is fantastic! I feel it really sets off the design of the bag perfectly. Bravo!
6/18/08 7:18 AM
Kbenco said...
Your bag looks so cute, the fabric choice and placement is inspired. Please make more bags and put up pictures of them!
6/18/08 7:25 AM
ColorMeHome said...
You did a terrific job! Your fabric choice really adds life to this bag.
6/18/08 9:19 AM
Gelbean said...
I love your purse. Your fabric choice and placement are perfect.
6/19/08 9:29 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Beautiful purse and well done job. Love the fabric you choose.
6/23/08 2:52 PM
kellymailinglist said...
Thanks a bunch for showing the *inside* of the purse. I'd been wondering about these patterns--if you just have to throw everything in there in a jumble, but I'm glad to see the pockets (which look very well sewn, by the way!)
6/28/08 9:57 AM
misscoleen said...
Really nice. Love the fabric choice and your choice of fabric for the lining. It looks very professional!
6/28/08 7:35 PM
rebija said...
Beautiful bag! Maybe one day I'll get the courage to make one myself !
6/30/08 12:53 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fab bag using some great fabric. I'm sure you'll use this a lot.
7/2/08 6:58 AM
AnneM said...
What a perfect little bag. That came out fantastic. I haven't tried one of these myself, but I think Timtex is pretty stiff.
7/5/08 1:52 PM
CarolynGM said...
Beautifully put together. I love the interior.
7/5/08 4:56 PM
Darla in PA said...
Your bag turned out cute. Unfortunately, timex is no longer available. You might try one of the Peltex products - 70 is a sewin, 71 is a single-sided fusible, 72 is a double-sided fusible. Good luck with your next bag!
7/7/08 7:54 PM
SewElegant said...
After reading your review I tried the interfacing called "stiffy" in the main panel lining pieces to make the bag hold shape a little better. I used the lining pieces thinking it would be too hard to add to the exterior because of the piping. I cut the Stiffy 3/4" smaller all around than the panel. I attached the Stiffy to the lining main panels using a decorative stitch before applying the pockets. It is very hard to handle, though, in sewing the lining into the bag. However, it does stiffen the bag and it holds its shape.
7/11/08 4:58 PM
Athene said...
A fabulous bag very neatly done and I love the fabric choices.
7/11/08 7:32 PM
Avienndha said...
So so cute! I have this pattern lurking around, I really should pull it out to sew it up. Great fabrics btw!
7/11/08 9:05 PM
bluesgirrl said...
Very nice choice of fabrics! As to interfacing, as a learning tool, try using your fabrics for your project and test various samples of interfacing, then you are able to make an informed decision as to the type of interfacing to use in your finished project.
2/3/09 5:09 PM
dthneece said...
Good info for beginners--like myself.
2/4/09 2:43 PM
Bunny7 said...
Meg, on your next try, I would use the Temtex or other heavy stiffner for the sides and the bottom. Bravo to you for trying this bag after a few months of sewing. Your mom's a lucky girl and she'll love this bag. Keep up the good work. Bunny 7
2/25/09 10:28 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

Vogue Patterns 8649

photo
by: wingamajig

Review
New Look 6658

photo
by: Achallengi...

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Irish Coat Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Candice

Candice

Buy Now