Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Amy Butler: AB032SC (Sophia Carry-All) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 670 times 15 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:MegVS
photo
About MegVS
MI USA
Member since: 2/20/08
Reviews written: 2
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 2
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/17/08 8:54 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
okie2thdoc said...
I love your choice of colors. I have heard Timex is great. You might want to read some of the reviews and the suggestions of those who have made bags/purses. Wonderful job as your first bag- I hear this one is tough.
6/17/08 9:13 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
That is such a CUTE purse!!! I ABSOLUTELY LOVE your choice of fabric!!! I just LOVE it!!!
6/17/08 9:17 PM
shesflipped said...
Your choice of fabric is fantastic! I feel it really sets off the design of the bag perfectly. Bravo!
6/18/08 7:18 AM
Kbenco said...
Your bag looks so cute, the fabric choice and placement is inspired. Please make more bags and put up pictures of them!
6/18/08 7:25 AM
ColorMeHome said...
You did a terrific job! Your fabric choice really adds life to this bag.
6/18/08 9:19 AM
Gelbean said...
I love your purse. Your fabric choice and placement are perfect.
6/19/08 9:29 PM
Leslie Bonner said...
Beautiful purse and well done job. Love the fabric you choose.
6/23/08 2:52 PM
kellymailinglist said...
Thanks a bunch for showing the *inside* of the purse. I'd been wondering about these patterns--if you just have to throw everything in there in a jumble, but I'm glad to see the pockets (which look very well sewn, by the way!)
6/28/08 9:57 AM
misscoleen said...
Really nice. Love the fabric choice and your choice of fabric for the lining. It looks very professional!
6/28/08 7:35 PM
rebija said...
Beautiful bag! Maybe one day I'll get the courage to make one myself !
6/30/08 12:53 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fab bag using some great fabric. I'm sure you'll use this a lot.
7/2/08 6:58 AM
AnneM said...
What a perfect little bag. That came out fantastic. I haven't tried one of these myself, but I think Timtex is pretty stiff.
7/5/08 1:52 PM
CarolynGM said...
Beautifully put together. I love the interior.
7/5/08 4:56 PM
Darla in PA said...
Your bag turned out cute. Unfortunately, timex is no longer available. You might try one of the Peltex products - 70 is a sewin, 71 is a single-sided fusible, 72 is a double-sided fusible. Good luck with your next bag!
7/7/08 7:54 PM
SewElegant said...
After reading your review I tried the interfacing called "stiffy" in the main panel lining pieces to make the bag hold shape a little better. I used the lining pieces thinking it would be too hard to add to the exterior because of the piping. I cut the Stiffy 3/4" smaller all around than the panel. I attached the Stiffy to the lining main panels using a decorative stitch before applying the pockets. It is very hard to handle, though, in sewing the lining into the bag. However, it does stiffen the bag and it holds its shape.
7/11/08 4:58 PM
Athene said...
A fabulous bag very neatly done and I love the fabric choices.
7/11/08 7:32 PM
Avienndha said...
So so cute! I have this pattern lurking around, I really should pull it out to sew it up. Great fabrics btw!
7/11/08 9:05 PM
bluesgirrl said...
Very nice choice of fabrics! As to interfacing, as a learning tool, try using your fabrics for your project and test various samples of interfacing, then you are able to make an informed decision as to the type of interfacing to use in your finished project.
2/3/09 5:09 PM
dthneece said...
Good info for beginners--like myself.
2/4/09 2:43 PM
Bunny7 said...
Meg, on your next try, I would use the Temtex or other heavy stiffner for the sides and the bottom. Bravo to you for trying this bag after a few months of sewing. Your mom's a lucky girl and she'll love this bag. Keep up the good work. Bunny 7
2/25/09 10:28 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2009-106
photo
Review by Lisette on 3/26/10
Read Review

Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 103821-1003
photo
Review by mowse on 7/8/08
Read Review

Veronica Pocketbook
Veronica Pocketbook

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pants Sewing DVD
Pants Sewing DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8839 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8839 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8828 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8828 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us