Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 03-2008-101 (Jacket/Parka) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 560 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 177
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 153 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/18/08 0:41 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
regine said...
A beautiful jacket, extremely well made, congratulations
6/18/08 1:09 AM
Peacock Chic said...
ok....now I feel like a jacket stalker but I have to put a comment here too as well as on your blog. Love it and will definitely make it. I even looked up the fabric you used as I have never seen it before. I was also just talking about only Northface having jackets and me wanting something a little more stylish. This could be IT! Great job.
6/18/08 1:17 AM
CurlyCrafter said...
I really enjoy the reviews you post and your style. Thanks again for a great project!
6/18/08 1:36 AM
morzel said...
Great coat! Great topstitching.
6/18/08 1:46 AM
Gelbean said...
What a great coat and very well made.
6/18/08 2:12 AM
Sigrid. said...
Beautiful coat. Great job on all that topstitching. I like yours much better than the magazine version. You made us see how this pattern can be used for something you wear in daily life. Thanks.
6/18/08 5:13 AM
Lori V said...
Great jacket, you did a fantastic job.
6/18/08 7:06 AM
Kbenco said...
Your jacket looks so smart, even in "workhorse" fabric. I love all the details in the pattern and how beautifully you have made this jacket. Thank you for your review.
6/18/08 7:19 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Great jacket! It looks so professional!
6/18/08 7:24 AM
merteuil said...
A great jacket! Very nice details. And I like your fabric choice.
6/18/08 7:26 AM
nellc said...
Your jacket looks really nice, I have had my eye on this pattern so it is nice to see it made up, thanks for the review.
6/18/08 8:15 AM
meli88a said...
This is so chic but practical in the fabrics you chose - nice job!
6/18/08 9:36 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Your lining idea is great - I'm sure you are going to get lots of wear out of this jacket.
6/18/08 10:15 AM
Dynamo said...
Awesome jacket! I would never even attempt something like this ...yet! I'm so impressed.
6/18/08 11:21 AM
Sic said...
Thank you for the review - I really like your version better than the BWOF!
6/18/08 11:36 AM
Elke said...
Beautiful jacket...I'm sure you will get to wear it alot!
6/18/08 11:38 AM
GoSewGirl said...
I love this jacket! I want this jacket! Now I have to make my own! Thanks for a good review and the details from your blog as well! Liz H
6/18/08 11:48 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Great jacket and I like it in that color.
6/18/08 12:06 PM
LaShan said...
Wow, that looks like something you purchased! Great job....
6/18/08 12:50 PM
Athene said...
Great jacket and I love your pose on the blog. You look much better than the Burda model.
6/18/08 1:32 PM
Karen6790 said...
Definitely better than the Burda model (and more dressed!) I'm impressed - it's hard to visualize this jacket while looking at the silly silver one in the magazine, but I like yours way better.
6/18/08 1:43 PM
fuzzygalore said...
AH, Karen didn't go see the blog :-). Her loss.. Love the jacket, and thanks for posting all those back details, I'm always frustrated the Burda site doesn't do backs. You'll be warm, cozy, and very very cute :-).
6/18/08 2:34 PM
mochalover said...
Definitely looks RTW. Great job!
6/18/08 2:39 PM
VtMartha said...
Super jacket and great blog photos!
6/18/08 3:10 PM
blue mooney said...
Love that jacket! How much? Well....I'm actually cutting it out right now, so I really appreciate the review.
6/18/08 5:54 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Excellent jacket!
6/19/08 0:41 AM
Margie T said...
Great jacket! Love the lining. Thank you for the link to the zipper tutorial
6/19/08 3:59 AM
Fran G said...
Love this jacket--color is rich--nice work!
6/19/08 7:22 AM
anetJay said...
WOW !! Great coat, Dawn !! You like a model wearing it :) Jan
6/19/08 7:34 AM
Jane S said...
Wow, you made a flattering, sexy casual jacket, how wonderful! Thanks for such a detailed review and useful pics.
6/19/08 7:42 AM
Ann's Fashion Studio said...
I love your jacket! It looks great on you. Very nice touch lining it with fleece. Well done :)
6/21/08 9:22 PM
Kathleen Fasanella said...
I always check out the coat and jacket reviews on PR, always curious about how they set zippers. :) I keep meaning to do one specifically for this type jacket.
6/23/08 12:15 PM
Michele19 said...
Super looking!
8/11/08 8:55 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $34.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Jalie 2684
photo
Review by cindysewsa... on 6/28/09
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio A-line dress Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio A-line dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6640
photo
Review by mbaker on 11/19/07
Read Review

SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern
SewBaby Animal Wrappers Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5586 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5-6 )
Butterick 5586 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5-6 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2430 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 2430 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us