SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5191 (Jean Jacket)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1060 times 
Reviewed by:JMarie1962
photo

 
 
About JMarie1962star
Member since: 2/3/07
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/22/08 5:41 PM
Last Updated:6/27/09 2:33 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 28 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aixoise said...
Nice jackets! I've made this a couple of times and agree that it gives a very roomy fit. Your more fitted version is (I think) an improvement over the original. Nice work.
6/27/09 2:01 PM
Christas said...
Perfect! Both versions are so nice! Love your button choice also.... and the topstitching is wonderful!
6/27/09 11:18 AM
carolynw said...
Great looking jackets and your top stitching is way more than just passable - it's great!!
6/27/09 9:18 AM
halleyscomet said...
I love jean jackets! Great job!
6/27/09 8:31 AM
Rebecca D said...
Beautiful work.
6/27/09 7:39 AM
Barb in Northwoods said...
WOW! Very nice. Beautiful, classic jacket, I love the color of fabric. Thank you for an exellent review. I can't wait to try this one!
1/5/09 9:54 PM
Hawkeye fan said...
This is a wonderful pattern! In a recent Marta Alto (of Palmer/Pletsch) seminar she advised using the HIGH BUST measurement, not the full bust. I made up the jacket in a bold black & white stretch cotton that took 1st place at our state fair. I enjoy reviewing patterns on this site but have not written any reviews, yet. Your jacket is beautiful!
9/13/08 8:48 PM
JAS said...
I love jean jackets and live in them spring through fall. Yours is perfect and you look wonderful in it.
6/30/08 1:53 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a lovely jacket and your finishing touches make it perfect.
6/30/08 9:35 AM
CurlyCrafter said...
love, love, love it! What a great color and style!
6/29/08 8:55 PM
Lori V said...
Great looking jacket and I think your topstitching looks fantastic.
6/29/08 8:40 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Great looking jacket! Love the color too.
6/29/08 7:46 PM
Kbenco said...
Your jacket looks wonderful. I am topstitching denim at the moment (at least I would be if I wasn't on the computer!), so I really appreciate the perfection of your stitching. Thanks for the fitting tips. Will you show the jacket on you so we can really appreciate the fitting? Maybe the white one!
6/29/08 6:13 PM
Bonnie O said...
Terrific jacket! It looks great on you and I also really love the color.
6/29/08 3:14 PM
Heatherrique said...
Awwwwww ;-} I'm so glad you're wearing the jacket which looks so much better on you! You know how to work it (trying to update my lingo, here!) Sizzling, JMarie!
6/29/08 3:11 PM
Annette1 said...
I forgot: I think your topstitching looks pretty darn good!!
6/24/08 5:12 PM
Annette1 said...
What a GREAT review, not to mention the jacket itself! :o) I've got this pattern and have always liked it, mulled it over, pulled it out, etc., and just never have gotten around to making it. I too thought it looked like it ran big, but I didn't know there was THAT much ease -- ha! All great information. I like the shorter length much better, too. This is going to be SO neat in WHITE DENIM. I can't wait!
6/24/08 5:11 PM
Stitchcakes said...
Really nice job! Want!
6/24/08 11:40 AM
ITAdmin said...
Love your jacket. Nice work on all the details.
6/24/08 8:34 AM
Heatherrique said...
Yowza! Your jacket is marvelous! I adore the style, details, luscious color, and I admire all the work you put into it, down to the neat seam finishes and impeccable looking topstitching. The result is a well-fitting and customized jacket, so much better than RTW! Commendable!
6/23/08 10:53 AM
LaShan said...
That looks like something from the GAP! nice color!
6/23/08 10:19 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
What a CUTE jacket!!!! I just LOVE the color!!!! You did an excellent job!!!
6/23/08 9:56 AM
nancy2001 said...
Geat looking jacket with beautiful details. It looks like you have a new TNT.
6/23/08 9:08 AM
patrica said...
Very pretty. What wonderful work you do, wish my top stitching was as perfect.
6/23/08 8:55 AM
AuntieShel said...
Very nice jacket, love the color.
6/23/08 8:54 AM
JMarie1962 said...
Hmm not sure why the pics won't pull up. I've tried redirecting them to picasaweb. Hopefully, they work now
6/23/08 0:26 AM
khurtdvm said...
Can't see the pictures :(
6/22/08 8:34 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
More Knits
More Knits

Class Details

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

J Stern Designs The Hobo Bag Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

More Info