Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5191 (Jean Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1055 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 28 people   
Reviewed by:JMarie1962
photo
About JMarie1962star
Member since: 2/3/07
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 26
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/22/08 5:41 PM
Last Updated:6/27/09 2:33 AM
Pattern Size:Regular Petite 


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
khurtdvm said...
Can't see the pictures :(
6/22/08 8:34 PM
JMarie1962 said...
Hmm not sure why the pics won't pull up. I've tried redirecting them to picasaweb. Hopefully, they work now
6/23/08 0:26 AM
AuntieShel said...
Very nice jacket, love the color.
6/23/08 8:54 AM
patrica said...
Very pretty. What wonderful work you do, wish my top stitching was as perfect.
6/23/08 8:55 AM
nancy2001 said...
Geat looking jacket with beautiful details. It looks like you have a new TNT.
6/23/08 9:08 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
What a CUTE jacket!!!! I just LOVE the color!!!! You did an excellent job!!!
6/23/08 9:56 AM
LaShan said...
That looks like something from the GAP! nice color!
6/23/08 10:19 AM
Heatherrique said...
Yowza! Your jacket is marvelous! I adore the style, details, luscious color, and I admire all the work you put into it, down to the neat seam finishes and impeccable looking topstitching. The result is a well-fitting and customized jacket, so much better than RTW! Commendable!
6/23/08 10:53 AM
ITAdmin said...
Love your jacket. Nice work on all the details.
6/24/08 8:34 AM
Stitchcakes said...
Really nice job! Want!
6/24/08 11:40 AM
Annette1 said...
What a GREAT review, not to mention the jacket itself! :o) I've got this pattern and have always liked it, mulled it over, pulled it out, etc., and just never have gotten around to making it. I too thought it looked like it ran big, but I didn't know there was THAT much ease -- ha! All great information. I like the shorter length much better, too. This is going to be SO neat in WHITE DENIM. I can't wait!
6/24/08 5:11 PM
Annette1 said...
I forgot: I think your topstitching looks pretty darn good!!
6/24/08 5:12 PM
Heatherrique said...
Awwwwww ;-} I'm so glad you're wearing the jacket which looks so much better on you! You know how to work it (trying to update my lingo, here!) Sizzling, JMarie!
6/29/08 3:11 PM
Bonnie O said...
Terrific jacket! It looks great on you and I also really love the color.
6/29/08 3:14 PM
Kbenco said...
Your jacket looks wonderful. I am topstitching denim at the moment (at least I would be if I wasn't on the computer!), so I really appreciate the perfection of your stitching. Thanks for the fitting tips. Will you show the jacket on you so we can really appreciate the fitting? Maybe the white one!
6/29/08 6:13 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Great looking jacket! Love the color too.
6/29/08 7:46 PM
Lori V said...
Great looking jacket and I think your topstitching looks fantastic.
6/29/08 8:40 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
love, love, love it! What a great color and style!
6/29/08 8:55 PM
Mary Stiefer said...
What a lovely jacket and your finishing touches make it perfect.
6/30/08 9:35 AM
JAS said...
I love jean jackets and live in them spring through fall. Yours is perfect and you look wonderful in it.
6/30/08 1:53 PM
Hawkeye fan said...
This is a wonderful pattern! In a recent Marta Alto (of Palmer/Pletsch) seminar she advised using the HIGH BUST measurement, not the full bust. I made up the jacket in a bold black & white stretch cotton that took 1st place at our state fair. I enjoy reviewing patterns on this site but have not written any reviews, yet. Your jacket is beautiful!
9/13/08 8:48 PM
Barb in Northwoods said...
WOW! Very nice. Beautiful, classic jacket, I love the color of fabric. Thank you for an exellent review. I can't wait to try this one!
1/5/09 9:54 PM
Rebecca D said...
Beautiful work.
6/27/09 7:39 AM
halleyscomet said...
I love jean jackets! Great job!
6/27/09 8:31 AM
carolynw said...
Great looking jackets and your top stitching is way more than just passable - it's great!!
6/27/09 9:18 AM
Christas said...
Perfect! Both versions are so nice! Love your button choice also.... and the topstitching is wonderful!
6/27/09 11:18 AM
Aixoise said...
Nice jackets! I've made this a couple of times and agree that it gives a very roomy fit. Your more fitted version is (I think) an improvement over the original. Nice work.
6/27/09 2:01 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

McCall's 2233
photo
Review by Renee B on 8/30/09
Read Review

Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Overall / Romper/ Jumpsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)
Oliver + S Sleepover Pajamas Digital Pattern (Size 6M-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Stretch & Sew 304 Leotard etc.
photo
Review by Kay Y on 7/25/10
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Travel Trio One
Christine Jonson Travel Trio One

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5627 Pattern ( Size 16 )
Butterick 5627 Pattern ( Size 16 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6827 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 6827 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us