Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1051 (Alice & Olivia flared pants) thumbsup - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 926 times 42 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Blooms
photo
About Bloomsstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 5/2/06
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 106
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/21/08 0:03 AM
Last Updated:6/21/08 0:05 AM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
Well, Miss Smarty-Britches, these are some smart britches indeed! Your altered pants look PERFECT on you, so don't let the fitting issues put you off. You've got them mastered now, and it would be a shame not to make good use of this pattern. (I LOVE that color, too.)
6/21/08 1:10 AM
Dei said...
Elephant pants. That was funny! Well you've done a great job altering them into a cute pair of pants.
6/21/08 6:01 AM
Sheila457 said...
I applaude you on tweaking the pants -they came out great.
6/21/08 8:31 AM
Sew4Fun said...
I'm glad to see a review of this pattern. Your pants look very nice. Well done on tweaking the fit.
6/21/08 9:22 AM
carolynw said...
Not at all elephant pants when you were finished with your tweaking - nice fit - I wonder if you started with too large a size?
6/21/08 9:32 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!!! Those look SOOO NICE!!!! You did an EXCELLENT job!!!!!
6/21/08 9:53 AM
Kay Y said...
Take comfort from the fact that when others see you they will mostly see you on the move, and they'll think - what a great looking, fluid & drapey pair of trousers.
6/21/08 11:02 AM
Luckylibbet said...
I don't see any elephant - fit looks pretty good to me. The question as always - Is it better than RTW? I love the wide leg look on you. These are terrific!
6/21/08 1:11 PM
ButtonFaith said...
i'm always so impressed when poeple get their pants to fit so well...yourare no exception! They look GREAT! What a wonderful job!
6/22/08 0:42 AM
meli88a said...
Nice save! These look great after your adjustments!
6/22/08 12:39 PM
selvage said...
I don't know if you've tried this pattern again yet, but you might try just going down a size--or if the waist fits, taper down from the top of the waist and cut the smaller size everywhere else. I made them in the size that matches my measurements exactly and they were too big; like you, I ended up taking in seams everywhere to get them to work. I'm thinking of following Dei's tip and going one size down next time.
11/1/08 1:10 AM
Athene said...
Your altered version is a great fit. Excellent before and after photos - very inspiring.
1/20/09 0:38 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Simplicity 4295OOP
photo
Review by Norsecross on 1/1/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kimono Tee
Kimono Tee

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

brerrabbit.com 1
photo
Review by ltmc on 1/23/12
Read Review

SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern
SewBaby Fleece-Easy Baby Wardrobe Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Perfect Pouches
Perfect Pouches

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6196 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Butterick 6196 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5725 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )
Butterick 5725 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us