Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Mrs. Stylebook Magazine: #150 pg. 55 (Blouse with puffed sleeves) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 302 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
Reviewed by:madhatter
photo
About madhatterstar
GERMANY
Member since: 3/27/06
Reviews written: 44
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
patterns reviewed: 42
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/21/08 8:59 AM
Last Updated:6/21/08 9:01 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
18 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mastdenman said...
It's so cute. I'm glad to see a MSB pattern reviewed here.
6/21/08 9:20 AM
phthooey said...
I've never heard of Mrs. Stylebook but I'd love to see it now that I've seen your blouse! Wonderful creation. I like how you have made this black blouse pop with the sleeves and the brightly colored applique!
6/21/08 9:22 AM
kellymailinglist said...
Gorgeous applique and piping! This is something along the lines of what I was thinking I'd like to do, once I improve my skills. That curved portion must've been quite difficult to make so precise. It's adorable!
6/21/08 9:42 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
What a CUTE top!!!!! I LOVE that fabric!!!! You did an excellent job!!!!!
6/21/08 9:48 AM
SewingSusan said...
This is lovely. You did an amazing job. That applique is just incredible.
6/21/08 10:41 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Gorgeous! This blouse combines the best elements of couture style and artistic embellishment! Thanks so much for sharing your inspiring creation.
6/21/08 10:51 AM
Kay Y said...
I know how much work it is to start with the little bitty diagrams in MSB, no matter how precise, and come up with a finished garment. This one is stunning! Love the phrase "appliquéd where no appliqué should be" :)
6/21/08 10:58 AM
greenandlilac said...
I like the applique.
6/21/08 11:33 AM
DorothyK said...
Very interesting blouse. I think you did a great job. I like the applique and piping. It must have been fun making this.
6/21/08 11:33 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Very unique! Looks so good on you! As an aside question - how do you tell which issue of MSB one has? I picked one up at Kinokinuya in San Francisco but have no idea how one tells, aside from the year.
6/21/08 1:08 PM
Markie1 said...
Wow Wow Wow! I love this blouse. I didn't know about Mrs. Stylebook, but i am so gladI do now. Beautiful!
6/21/08 3:17 PM
Birgitte said...
I like your version better- looks fantastic on you!
6/21/08 3:20 PM
ALY said...
Great job on this blouse! It was one of my favorites in that issue of Mrs. Stylebook.
6/21/08 10:12 PM
amy in mpls said...
SOOO Cute! I love the black with the applique fabric.
6/21/08 10:48 PM
madhatter said...
thank you for your lovely comments! ^-^ @luckylibbet: the issue number is on the front cover in the upper right area, where the date is :)
6/22/08 5:14 AM
meli88a said...
Those sleeves are so unique, and I love your use of applique!
6/22/08 12:36 PM
Annette1 said...
LOVE your blouse, and I LOVE the hugely puffy sleeves. :o) I say, if you're going to puff, then PUFF, with no apologies! This looks great on you. I don't even know you, and yet I can just tell it suits your style perfectly. :o)
6/23/08 6:12 PM
JamieLiz said...
You did a really beautiful job on this. It's very inspiring to see such creativity!
10/1/08 7:10 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Simplicity 4014 Dress and Coat
photo
Review by usbeckers on 12/30/12
Read Review

McCalls 3274 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
McCalls 3274 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1595 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )
Simplicity 1595 Pattern ( Size 4-5-6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8529
photo
Review by Blooms on 9/6/10
Read Review

Dixie DIY Movies in the Park Shorts
Dixie DIY Movies in the Park Shorts

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Simone Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King
THE SKIRTS - A CD Book By Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us