Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 4745 (Lifestyle Wardrobe) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 396 times 13 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
Reviewed by:Irene Q
photo
Friend of PR
About Irene Qstarstarstarstar
NH USA
Member since: 3/19/04
Reviews written: 123
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 96 people
patterns reviewed: 109
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/21/08 11:38 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Learn To Sew said...
I would say you gave it your best shot, but this pattern is not up to your fab standards. I do like the color on you, though. Thanks for reviewing something that did not work out for you.
6/21/08 12:13 PM
sewbehind said...
I think the colour and cut of the pattern looks very nice on you. I think it is worth tweaking to get it there. I personally did several knit muslins of a twist top to get it just where I wanted it to be.
6/21/08 12:13 PM
Luckylibbet said...
So sorry to hear you don't like it! My first thought on seeing the photo was "OOOh, another cute top from Irene." FWIW, I think it looks great.
6/21/08 12:59 PM
dr. liz said...
Irene, your "didn't work" would be a "works great" for me. I agree, it's very flattering in color and design. You can always wear a cami underneath.
6/21/08 2:47 PM
CarolynGM said...
Great save. The top ended up looking quite nice in the photo.
6/21/08 3:50 PM
RuthieSews said...
Looks quite good to me, but I know what you mean about necklines coming too low, its hard to get the happy medium :-)
6/21/08 6:15 PM
Debbie Cook said...
It is cute and I agree the color is great. Too bad it wasn't what you had hoped to get with the pattern.
6/21/08 9:02 PM
Karla Kizer said...
My reaction was like Luckylibbet's - hey, cute top, great color, very flattering. I'm sorry you're not completely satisfied with it. From here, it looks wonderful.
6/21/08 9:25 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Irene, my first reaction was that you used a size too large. Then when I read what size you used, yikes. I think if you made it a smaller size and enlarged right where you need too, you would have better luck.
6/21/08 10:11 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Irene wouldn't you love it if the pattern photo actually had a variety of body shapes modeled so we would know when we see it "Stop that's not for you" that would help alot and keep us from not liking something which is actually cute. Great color hope you had enough fabric to make you something else.
6/22/08 0:11 AM
Danvillegirl said...
I can appreciate choosing the wrong fabric. I think we all do that from time to time. The color is lovely on you. I think it is a doable pattern for you when you find the right fabric.
6/22/08 7:36 AM
OP Gal said...
Very helpful. It sounds like you've learned enough about sewing this top for yourself that you will probably find the next try a better fit.
6/22/08 4:49 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I do like the color on you - thanks for the warnings and helpful advice.
6/23/08 2:56 PM
Annette1 said...
Well, for my two cents, I say it looks great, so enjoy it! This has always been one of my favorite patterns (although I've not made it). Your info will come in very handy. I don't like tops that are too low either. I figure everybody KNOWS I'm busty, so I don't care to advertise it.
6/23/08 6:21 PM
Aunt Gail said...
YOu have a GREAT smile, and the color seemed okay, but I do agree with you. Despite your best efforts the pattern is just not for you. I am right behind you in the line Low Necklines NOT for ME Club! You gave a good analysis of the pattern.
7/2/08 2:20 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Christine Jonson 1010
photo
Review by SueV on 6/29/10
Read Review

Towne Purse
Towne Purse

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

PerfectFuse Medium White
PerfectFuse Medium White

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)
Angela Osborn Bobby Shorts Digital Pattern (SS10-11-401)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Sundress Digital Pattern
Salme Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 2759
photo
Review by drsue on 2/4/05
Read Review

McCalls 6105 Pattern ( Size )
McCalls 6105 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5964 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5964 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us