SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> M4817 (6 great looks, 1 easy pattern)

6 more reviews
Viewed 125 times 
Reviewed by:heathercampbell29
photo

 
 
About heathercampbell29star
Member since: 5/23/08
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/22/08 11:13 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy Anne said...
What a stinkin' cute dress! I am sure your daughter is thrilled with it!
8/18/08 1:01 PM
Amanda S. said...
Your girls dresses are so pretty. I have 2 boys and wish I had a little girl to sew for.
6/30/08 3:11 PM
Kbenco said...
A really pretty dress, it is great that you could find a fabric similar to that on the pattern envelope to keep your little one happy. Gathering is a pain. I get my girls to help pull up the threads, and 4 or so is a great age for "help"!, then they think they have sewn it themselves. - or maybe I should look for a ruffling foot too, that twirl factor is very important!
6/24/08 9:14 PM
Annette1 said...
My gosh, that IS a lot of gathering -- ha! -- but so worth it for the resulting twirl factor! Such a cute and summery little dress, I know your daughter will love it.
6/23/08 7:25 PM
pterion said...
This is a very sweet little dress. All the time spent gathering was worth it.
6/22/08 8:10 PM
heathercampbell29 said...
Heatherrique, I read your review before I started sewing and was worried about that bottom tier, but I didn't have any trouble with having enough fabric. The one thing that was a bit unexpected is that you are supposed to cut 3 of the bottom tier and sew them together (I expected 2) so maybe that is why your bottom tier seemed small? Maybe you only cut 2? Anyhow, thanks for the comment!
6/22/08 4:10 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such a delightful and enchanting dress for that lucky little girl! I agree about the tiers and what seems endless gathering! Wonderful first review and looking forward to reading more!
6/22/08 3:16 PM
heathercampbell29 said...
Thanks, Ronda65! I will check out the ruffler foot. I have an older (80's) Pfaff so sometimes finding feet is a bit of a trick. I found PR because DD was asking for disney princess dresses and there are some great reviews of those on here.
6/22/08 2:25 PM
Ronda Rae said...
Very adorable. I have made this pattern so I understand the gathering. Although, I have a ruffler with my machine. Since you have a girl, I suggest buying one for your machine. It makes gathering soooo easy! Welcome to PR and great first review. Hope to see more- I love little girls' clothing.
6/22/08 11:38 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Class Details

Master Pattern Book Bold & Beautiful - Simple Tuni

photo
by: jannw

Review
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Waterfall Pattern Pattern

More Info