SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> M4817 (6 great looks, 1 easy pattern)

6 more reviews
Viewed 125 times 
Reviewed by:heathercampbell29
photo

 
 
About heathercampbell29star
Member since: 5/23/08
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 3 people
patterns reviewed: 21
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/22/08 11:13 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy Anne said...
What a stinkin' cute dress! I am sure your daughter is thrilled with it!
8/18/08 1:01 PM
Amanda S. said...
Your girls dresses are so pretty. I have 2 boys and wish I had a little girl to sew for.
6/30/08 3:11 PM
Kbenco said...
A really pretty dress, it is great that you could find a fabric similar to that on the pattern envelope to keep your little one happy. Gathering is a pain. I get my girls to help pull up the threads, and 4 or so is a great age for "help"!, then they think they have sewn it themselves. - or maybe I should look for a ruffling foot too, that twirl factor is very important!
6/24/08 9:14 PM
Annette1 said...
My gosh, that IS a lot of gathering -- ha! -- but so worth it for the resulting twirl factor! Such a cute and summery little dress, I know your daughter will love it.
6/23/08 7:25 PM
pterion said...
This is a very sweet little dress. All the time spent gathering was worth it.
6/22/08 8:10 PM
heathercampbell29 said...
Heatherrique, I read your review before I started sewing and was worried about that bottom tier, but I didn't have any trouble with having enough fabric. The one thing that was a bit unexpected is that you are supposed to cut 3 of the bottom tier and sew them together (I expected 2) so maybe that is why your bottom tier seemed small? Maybe you only cut 2? Anyhow, thanks for the comment!
6/22/08 4:10 PM
Heatherrique said...
Such a delightful and enchanting dress for that lucky little girl! I agree about the tiers and what seems endless gathering! Wonderful first review and looking forward to reading more!
6/22/08 3:16 PM
heathercampbell29 said...
Thanks, Ronda65! I will check out the ruffler foot. I have an older (80's) Pfaff so sometimes finding feet is a bit of a trick. I found PR because DD was asking for disney princess dresses and there are some great reviews of those on here.
6/22/08 2:25 PM
Ronda Rae said...
Very adorable. I have made this pattern so I understand the gathering. Although, I have a ruffler with my machine. Since you have a girl, I suggest buying one for your machine. It makes gathering soooo easy! Welcome to PR and great first review. Hope to see more- I love little girls' clothing.
6/22/08 11:38 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

New Look 6516

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Petite Plus 202 Pattern

More Info
Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

More Info
BurdaStyle Magazine 11-2010-146

photo
by: Blooms

Review