SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB027BH (Blue Sky Hats)

13 more reviews
Viewed 521 times 
Reviewed by:LindsayT
photo

 
 
About LindsayTstarstarstar
Member since: 8/2/07
Reviews written: 65
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 68 people
patterns reviewed: 57
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/26/08 9:41 AM
Last Updated:6/26/08 9:43 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sewingmi said...
Very cute hat! It's great that you could modify it so it's just perfect for you!
6/26/08 5:24 PM
Darla in PA said...
Your hat turned out very nice and I would think that it looks great with a black suit. As far as the interfacing for the brim, there is a couple of weights of Peltex that are available. Peltex 70 is rather thick and Peltex 50 is a heavy-weight interfacing. Both are washable. Buckram would make a nice stiff brim but I'm unsure about the washability. Maybe someone else knows the answer to that. Good luck with your next hat!
6/26/08 4:34 PM
Clareew said...
Great hat, it has got my hat creative juices going. How about Buckram for stiffening? (I live in the UK and don't know whether it is available in the US)
6/26/08 2:20 PM
pterion said...
Love your hat. I have the pattern but have yet to make it. I would probably trim away some of that extra width like you did- it seems excessive.
6/26/08 1:38 PM
HeyJane said...
Love your edging idea! That's a great timesaver. I used cloth-backed foam in mine (1/4 inch) because it's light and dries quickly if you get the hat wet (which I do constantly wearing it in the pool). It worked well but ideally I am on the lookout for 1/8 inch foam but haven't been able to find it yet. There are also other closed-cell foams around that are even thinner but would still maintain the shape. Love your fabric, I can picture that it looks wonderful with a black suit.
6/26/08 1:16 PM
Karen6790 said...
This is so cute. I don't wear hats pretty much for the same reason, so it's nice to know the pattern covers up to XL. Love the edge treatment and the bling.
6/26/08 11:38 AM
nicegirl said...
That is so cute! I really love what you did with the edge of the brim, and the nailheads.
6/26/08 11:31 AM
sewing for fun said...
Thanks for the review. I suggest TimTex, which is a good stiff interfacing for hat brims, purses and the like. Another alternative at your local fabric store is the fusible stuff they use to make window shades - it's super-stiff fusible. The hat's very cute - hope you will make another and update the review when you have solved the stiffener problem!
6/26/08 11:25 AM
sewonandsewforth said...
Your hat looks great! I don't think you need the brim any bigger (deeper?) that it is; it is perfect the way it is. Good job and I hope you enjoy wearing it at the beach this summer. Looking forward to seeing any future ones you make, too.
6/26/08 10:38 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

New Look 6150

photo
by: craftsanct...

Review
Vogue Patterns 1330

photo
by: wizechyld

Review
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Buy Now