SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB027BH (Blue Sky Hats)

13 more reviews
Viewed 521 times 
Reviewed by:LindsayT
photo

 
 
About LindsayTstarstarstar
Member since: 8/2/07
Reviews: 65 (patterns: 57)
Skill level:Beginner
Favored by: 66 people
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/26/08 9:41 AM
Last Updated:6/26/08 9:43 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater Knit Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sewingmi said... (6/26/08 5:24 PM) Reply
Very cute hat! It's great that you could modify it so it's just perfect for you!
Darla in PA said... (6/26/08 4:34 PM) Reply
Your hat turned out very nice and I would think that it looks great with a black suit. As far as the interfacing for the brim, there is a couple of weights of Peltex that are available. Peltex 70 is rather thick and Peltex 50 is a heavy-weight interfacing. Both are washable. Buckram would make a nice stiff brim but I'm unsure about the washability. Maybe someone else knows the answer to that. Good luck with your next hat!
Clareew said... (6/26/08 2:20 PM) Reply
Great hat, it has got my hat creative juices going. How about Buckram for stiffening? (I live in the UK and don't know whether it is available in the US)
pterion said... (6/26/08 1:38 PM) Reply
Love your hat. I have the pattern but have yet to make it. I would probably trim away some of that extra width like you did- it seems excessive.
HeyJane said... (6/26/08 1:16 PM) Reply
Love your edging idea! That's a great timesaver. I used cloth-backed foam in mine (1/4 inch) because it's light and dries quickly if you get the hat wet (which I do constantly wearing it in the pool). It worked well but ideally I am on the lookout for 1/8 inch foam but haven't been able to find it yet. There are also other closed-cell foams around that are even thinner but would still maintain the shape. Love your fabric, I can picture that it looks wonderful with a black suit.
Karen6790 said... (6/26/08 11:38 AM) Reply
This is so cute. I don't wear hats pretty much for the same reason, so it's nice to know the pattern covers up to XL. Love the edge treatment and the bling.
nicegirl said... (6/26/08 11:31 AM) Reply
That is so cute! I really love what you did with the edge of the brim, and the nailheads.
sewing for fun said... (6/26/08 11:25 AM) Reply
Thanks for the review. I suggest TimTex, which is a good stiff interfacing for hat brims, purses and the like. Another alternative at your local fabric store is the fusible stuff they use to make window shades - it's super-stiff fusible. The hat's very cute - hope you will make another and update the review when you have solved the stiffener problem!
sewonandsewforth said... (6/26/08 10:38 AM) Reply
Your hat looks great! I don't think you need the brim any bigger (deeper?) that it is; it is perfect the way it is. Good job and I hope you enjoy wearing it at the beach this summer. Looking forward to seeing any future ones you make, too.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Other 105-Sacotin

photo
by: VeroSewsSt...

Review
Self Drafted Pattern 45793-1021

photo
by: nancy2001

Review
Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Pattern Details
Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Favorite Things Little Smartie Pants Pattern

Pattern Details