SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3805 

Viewed 770 times 
Reviewed by:Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Sherril Millerstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 137
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 185 people
patterns reviewed: 126
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/23/08 8:25 PM
Last Updated:6/23/08 8:25 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Plus    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jennikatten said...
I love JoAnn's $1.99 and $0.99 pattern sales! Great dress!
6/23/08 8:39 PM
chacha45 said...
I am simply astonished at this review. Until I found PR a few weeks ago I thought I was the only one in the world who had to go through major alterations. But not this many! No more wallowing in self-pity anymore! Great dress, by the way!
6/23/08 8:47 PM
cmarie12 said...
Now that you've started down the path to making dresses, you are in trouble! :) There will be soooo many more to come now that you know you can make what you can't find in the stores! Take it from me, I know! Nice dress, btw!!!
6/23/08 9:29 PM
michellep74 said...
Thanks for such a helpful review! Your dress is very pretty! I really need to get this S-dart thing figured out--I think it'd help me a ton with below-the-bust fit...
6/23/08 9:49 PM
Debbie Cook said...
This must be the week for S darts LOL! Your dress turned out great. This pattern has been in my stack for a while now. Maybe I'll get to it soon.
6/23/08 11:18 PM
mastdenman said...
Nice looking dress. It looks like it will be cool and comfortable this summer.
6/23/08 11:46 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
You look great in your pretty summer print dress. It looks like so much more than the simple little pattern it is. Your sandals and necklace really are a nice addition. Pretty!
6/24/08 0:07 AM
Athene said...
Such a lovely summer look - the fabric print is gorgeous, the fit is so good and I too really love that necklace - it completes your outfit so well.
6/24/08 2:13 AM
Danvillegirl said...
This is a lovely dress on you. The floral pattern looks nice. You mentioned in a previus review that you like floral prints but sometimes they don't look well on you. I think this floral works because it is in all in the same colorway, not the contrast. That is what I find so flattering about this one on you as well as how it fits. Very helpful information you provided. Stay cool!!
6/24/08 5:19 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Beautiful & very flattering ~ definitely make more dresses!
6/24/08 7:29 AM
carolynw said...
Nice dress Sherril - like you I am planning on adding a dress or two to my wardrobe - you are one ahead of me
6/24/08 8:29 AM
Irene Q said...
Very cute! That S-dart really helps turn this unfitted sack into a very flatterning dress! (So, are you going to enter it into the stash contest??)
6/24/08 8:55 AM
meli88a said...
This is such a lovely summer dress. With the fabric you chose and the alterations you made, it's perfect on you!
6/24/08 9:31 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I like your version of this dress much better than the one on the envelope. Can't wait to see what else you can do with this pattern! Love your dress!
6/24/08 10:40 AM
OP Gal said...
I like that "everything from a stash costs nothing" comment. I'll have to show it to my husband. ; ) I'm amazed at all the alterations you did, but they certainly paid off. The dress looks wonderful. Thanks for all the details.
6/24/08 11:28 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Looks like a Maria dress - "I feel pretty, oh so pretty" - lovely work as always, and a most helpful review as well. Thanks!
6/24/08 1:33 PM
Stitchcakes said...
VERY pretty! Your accessories are perfect!
6/24/08 2:46 PM
Annette1 said...
Thank you for an EXCELLENT review. Your dress is lovely, and the fit is PERFECT.
6/24/08 2:47 PM
moushka said...
Very, very pretty dress; lovely colour. Thanks for the reminder about the S dart and the caution about the small dart. I badly need some summer dresses, too. This pattern looks like it will be a real work-horse in your wardrobe now that you've got the adjustments done. Dresses are the coolest thing to wear in summer, imho. Sue
6/24/08 10:36 PM
waikikimum said...
Sherril, this dress is stunning. Your alterations are perfect and seeing the pattern pieces really helped show how you did the adjustments. The fabric is just lovely and you look gorgeous.
6/25/08 10:24 AM
Carolecd00 said...
I love this web site and enjoy reading the reviews. I was looking in particular though, for reviews on the jacket.
9/8/09 7:07 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Beginner Sewing Lab 104 - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Beginner Sewing Lab 104  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Other The Curvy clutch

photo
by: sewcool21

Review