Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 3805 - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 711 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:Sherril Miller
photo
Friend of PR
About Sherril Millerstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 137
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 181 people
patterns reviewed: 126
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/23/08 8:25 PM
Last Updated:6/23/08 8:25 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Pants    Plus    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jennikatten said...
I love JoAnn's $1.99 and $0.99 pattern sales! Great dress!
6/23/08 8:39 PM
chacha45 said...
I am simply astonished at this review. Until I found PR a few weeks ago I thought I was the only one in the world who had to go through major alterations. But not this many! No more wallowing in self-pity anymore! Great dress, by the way!
6/23/08 8:47 PM
cmarie12 said...
Now that you've started down the path to making dresses, you are in trouble! :) There will be soooo many more to come now that you know you can make what you can't find in the stores! Take it from me, I know! Nice dress, btw!!!
6/23/08 9:29 PM
michellep74 said...
Thanks for such a helpful review! Your dress is very pretty! I really need to get this S-dart thing figured out--I think it'd help me a ton with below-the-bust fit...
6/23/08 9:49 PM
Debbie Cook said...
This must be the week for S darts LOL! Your dress turned out great. This pattern has been in my stack for a while now. Maybe I'll get to it soon.
6/23/08 11:18 PM
mastdenman said...
Nice looking dress. It looks like it will be cool and comfortable this summer.
6/23/08 11:46 PM
Cathy Loves Fabric said...
You look great in your pretty summer print dress. It looks like so much more than the simple little pattern it is. Your sandals and necklace really are a nice addition. Pretty!
6/24/08 0:07 AM
Athene said...
Such a lovely summer look - the fabric print is gorgeous, the fit is so good and I too really love that necklace - it completes your outfit so well.
6/24/08 2:13 AM
Danvillegirl said...
This is a lovely dress on you. The floral pattern looks nice. You mentioned in a previus review that you like floral prints but sometimes they don't look well on you. I think this floral works because it is in all in the same colorway, not the contrast. That is what I find so flattering about this one on you as well as how it fits. Very helpful information you provided. Stay cool!!
6/24/08 5:19 AM
Flying Seamstress said...
Beautiful & very flattering ~ definitely make more dresses!
6/24/08 7:29 AM
carolynw said...
Nice dress Sherril - like you I am planning on adding a dress or two to my wardrobe - you are one ahead of me
6/24/08 8:29 AM
Irene Q said...
Very cute! That S-dart really helps turn this unfitted sack into a very flatterning dress! (So, are you going to enter it into the stash contest??)
6/24/08 8:55 AM
meli88a said...
This is such a lovely summer dress. With the fabric you chose and the alterations you made, it's perfect on you!
6/24/08 9:31 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I like your version of this dress much better than the one on the envelope. Can't wait to see what else you can do with this pattern! Love your dress!
6/24/08 10:40 AM
OP Gal said...
I like that "everything from a stash costs nothing" comment. I'll have to show it to my husband. ; ) I'm amazed at all the alterations you did, but they certainly paid off. The dress looks wonderful. Thanks for all the details.
6/24/08 11:28 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Looks like a Maria dress - "I feel pretty, oh so pretty" - lovely work as always, and a most helpful review as well. Thanks!
6/24/08 1:33 PM
Stitchcakes said...
VERY pretty! Your accessories are perfect!
6/24/08 2:46 PM
Annette1 said...
Thank you for an EXCELLENT review. Your dress is lovely, and the fit is PERFECT.
6/24/08 2:47 PM
moushka said...
Very, very pretty dress; lovely colour. Thanks for the reminder about the S dart and the caution about the small dart. I badly need some summer dresses, too. This pattern looks like it will be a real work-horse in your wardrobe now that you've got the adjustments done. Dresses are the coolest thing to wear in summer, imho. Sue
6/24/08 10:36 PM
waikikimum said...
Sherril, this dress is stunning. Your alterations are perfect and seeing the pattern pieces really helped show how you did the adjustments. The fabric is just lovely and you look gorgeous.
6/25/08 10:24 AM
Carolecd00 said...
I love this web site and enjoy reading the reviews. I was looking in particular though, for reviews on the jacket.
9/8/09 7:07 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Pants
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Pants

Vogue Patterns 1762
photo
Review by Kay Y on 2/20/14
Read Review

Vogue 8957 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8957 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6557 Pattern
New Look 6557 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2007-20 Corduroy Skirt
photo
Review by callmeRuth on 5/24/10
Read Review

Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)
Simple Things Cozy Cap Digital Pattern (003)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Pier 49 Convertible Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Pier 49 Convertible Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern
Paradiso Designs Lolita Simple Skirt Formula Pattern

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us