Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Ottobre Woman Magazine: 05-2007-19 (Hooded sweat jacket) - Type:Activewear    printable version
Viewed 361 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:Elsie14
photo
About Elsie14
VA
Member since: 9/5/07
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/08 9:55 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CherylStillSews said...
Nice job & great colour. Thanks for the reminder on this pattern - I need to make some sweat jackets and I'd forgotten about this one.
6/30/08 10:25 PM
JMarie1962 said...
You did a fantastic job on this sweatshirt! Plus... how on earth were you so lucky to find a zipper that matched your fabric exactly?? Wow!
6/30/08 10:31 PM
rebija said...
Wow. Your sweatshirt looks great! I've heard that Ottobre paterns are a little challenging. Thanks for the motivation!
6/30/08 10:33 PM
misscoleen said...
You did really nice work. It fits you perfectly. Congatulations - nice review too. BTW, you can use a longer zipper then needed, just cut off the excess and bartack across the teeth. It is easier apply a zipper when the zipper is longer because the pull can be beyond where you sewing, you don't have to try to sew around it. :)
6/30/08 10:36 PM
shesflipped said...
I love your sweatshirt! What a great project for the beginner contest~great job on the zipper! (something I haven't dared to try yet.)
6/30/08 10:51 PM
ladybirdlove said...
Excellent work!! This looks great!
7/1/08 12:19 PM
busyozmum said...
Wow! It looks amazing. You did a great job and a great review. :o)
7/1/08 6:01 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great hoodie! Very nicely finished. I'm also impressed with your zipper and how the bottom and pocket edges line up. I probably shouldn't tell you but this is hard to do. :) You should be very pleased with your first efforts at putting in a separating zipper.
7/1/08 7:01 PM
Elsie14 said...
Thanks for all the positive comments everyone! It was a little tricky lining everything up when inserting the zipper. When I first machine basted it in, I noticed that the 2 sides were off by about 1/8 - 1/4", and the perfectionist in me couldn't stand it, so I ripped it out. I then matched them up by drawing a chalk line across the zipper where the top of the pocket and the hemband should be and I used wonder tape and a couple of pins to make sure it stayed in the right place when I basted it again. It was a little depressing to rip out such a long zipper when it was so close to being right, but I do feel like it was worth it. I'm hoping that as I get more experience I'll be better able to keep things lined up the first time!
7/2/08 9:07 AM
CarolynGM said...
Wow. I'm really impressed with that zipper and the entire hoodie for that matter. You'll be a sewing maestro in no time.
7/5/08 4:50 PM
AnneM said...
Great sweatshirt. And it's a nice compliment that your DS wants one also. I really like the sweatshirt style, with the zip-up & the hood. Looks like you are on your way to a great sewing adventure.
7/5/08 6:28 PM
Karla Kizer said...
If someone said your jacket had a pricey name brand on the label, I would have no reason to suspect otherwise. It looks great!
7/5/08 6:34 PM
Athene said...
This hooded jacket looks great. Very well done.
7/11/08 8:21 PM
kyartslave said...
Lovely hoddie, I REALLY like that you shared the truth about the zipper. :)
8/30/08 8:28 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Fantastic work -- what a beautiful sweatshirt jacket.
10/19/08 10:58 PM
jlbrannon said...
I've been waiting to do my daughter's hoodie until I could find ribbing for the cuff. It looks like you did fine with the same fabric as the rest, so I may try that. Thanks.
11/16/08 8:49 PM
Patzee said...
Very helpful review. Thanks for the tip about the sizing.
5/20/09 5:58 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Vogue Patterns 8784 dress
photo
Review by mnitts on 11/8/12
Read Review

Petite Plus 150 Pattern
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)
Sew Chic Clara Bow Apron Pattern (ln102)

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Flippy Skirt Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Flippy Skirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1194
photo
Review by TheaBerlin on 6/10/10
Read Review

McCalls 6790 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6790 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4051 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4051 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us