SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Ottobre Woman Magazine> 05-2007-19 (Hooded sweat jacket)

3 more reviews
Viewed 362 times 
Reviewed by:Elsie14
photo

 
 
About Elsie14
PA
Member since: 9/5/07
Reviews written: 5
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
patterns reviewed: 3
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/08 9:55 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 15 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CherylStillSews said...
Nice job & great colour. Thanks for the reminder on this pattern - I need to make some sweat jackets and I'd forgotten about this one.
6/30/08 10:25 PM
JMarie1962 said...
You did a fantastic job on this sweatshirt! Plus... how on earth were you so lucky to find a zipper that matched your fabric exactly?? Wow!
6/30/08 10:31 PM
rebija said...
Wow. Your sweatshirt looks great! I've heard that Ottobre paterns are a little challenging. Thanks for the motivation!
6/30/08 10:33 PM
misscoleen said...
You did really nice work. It fits you perfectly. Congatulations - nice review too. BTW, you can use a longer zipper then needed, just cut off the excess and bartack across the teeth. It is easier apply a zipper when the zipper is longer because the pull can be beyond where you sewing, you don't have to try to sew around it. :)
6/30/08 10:36 PM
shesflipped said...
I love your sweatshirt! What a great project for the beginner contest~great job on the zipper! (something I haven't dared to try yet.)
6/30/08 10:51 PM
ladybirdlove said...
Excellent work!! This looks great!
7/1/08 12:19 PM
busyozmum said...
Wow! It looks amazing. You did a great job and a great review. :o)
7/1/08 6:01 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great hoodie! Very nicely finished. I'm also impressed with your zipper and how the bottom and pocket edges line up. I probably shouldn't tell you but this is hard to do. :) You should be very pleased with your first efforts at putting in a separating zipper.
7/1/08 7:01 PM
Elsie14 said...
Thanks for all the positive comments everyone! It was a little tricky lining everything up when inserting the zipper. When I first machine basted it in, I noticed that the 2 sides were off by about 1/8 - 1/4", and the perfectionist in me couldn't stand it, so I ripped it out. I then matched them up by drawing a chalk line across the zipper where the top of the pocket and the hemband should be and I used wonder tape and a couple of pins to make sure it stayed in the right place when I basted it again. It was a little depressing to rip out such a long zipper when it was so close to being right, but I do feel like it was worth it. I'm hoping that as I get more experience I'll be better able to keep things lined up the first time!
7/2/08 9:07 AM
CarolynGM said...
Wow. I'm really impressed with that zipper and the entire hoodie for that matter. You'll be a sewing maestro in no time.
7/5/08 4:50 PM
AnneM said...
Great sweatshirt. And it's a nice compliment that your DS wants one also. I really like the sweatshirt style, with the zip-up & the hood. Looks like you are on your way to a great sewing adventure.
7/5/08 6:28 PM
Karla Kizer said...
If someone said your jacket had a pricey name brand on the label, I would have no reason to suspect otherwise. It looks great!
7/5/08 6:34 PM
Athene said...
This hooded jacket looks great. Very well done.
7/11/08 8:21 PM
kyartslave said...
Lovely hoddie, I REALLY like that you shared the truth about the zipper. :)
8/30/08 8:28 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Fantastic work -- what a beautiful sweatshirt jacket.
10/19/08 10:58 PM
jlbrannon said...
I've been waiting to do my daughter's hoodie until I could find ribbing for the cuff. It looks like you did fine with the same fabric as the rest, so I may try that. Thanks.
11/16/08 8:49 PM
Patzee said...
Very helpful review. Thanks for the tip about the sizing.
5/20/09 5:58 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Understanding Interfacings
Understanding Interfacings

Register

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

You Sew Girl Laptop Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Marfy 3057

photo
by: starryfish

Review