Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 04-2008-108 (Pleat-front skirt) - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 406 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:nicegirl
photo
About nicegirlstarstarstarstar
DC USA
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 319
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 308 people
patterns reviewed: 319
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/25/08 9:46 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
tatterbat said...
Nice job, and a great save with adding the tucks to take up excess length. The tucks look integral to the design.
6/25/08 9:56 AM
Allie in Hong Kong said...
Looks great - this is one of those BWOF patterns that is really hard to see how it will turn out so it's great to see yours in real life! The horizontal tucks are inspired!
6/25/08 9:56 AM
MissCelie said...
I am actually wearing that dress today! super cute!
6/25/08 10:14 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
You have a lovely skirt - brilliant idea with the horizontal tucks!
6/25/08 10:33 AM
merteuil said...
So cute! Great idea to put white underlining under the eyelet pattern!
6/25/08 10:41 AM
Heatherrique said...
Dashing skirt, Nicegirl! I need to start wearing skirts again! You inspired me to trace, cut and sew this one!
6/25/08 11:16 AM
Karen6790 said...
I wouldn't have given up that fabric, no way, no how. Love it with the white fabric underneath. That's a much cuter skirt than it looked in the magazine.
6/25/08 11:57 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
That is such a CUTE skirt!!! I just LOVE it!!!! You did an excellent job!!!
6/25/08 8:14 PM
donna mel said...
the hem solution with 3 tucks was a great one. my mom suggested this to me many (many) years ago to fix my (vogue) prom dress. it is simple with the added bonus of an interesting detail. thanks for reminding me!
6/26/08 6:45 AM
Jane S said...
Wonderful skirt, tres chic...and what a scrumptious ice cream choice. You have all around good taste.
6/26/08 6:57 AM
LisaG said...
This is why I love Pattern Review....if it had been me, I would have been ripping out that waist binding and cursing myself the whole time. What an ingenious solution! You are so creative, Nice Girl. I love to read your reviews!
6/27/08 11:46 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

No Pattern Used grand-daughter quilt
photo
Review by lvs2sew on 12/26/12
Read Review

Simplicity 4055 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )
Simplicity 4055 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8681 Pattern( Size )
Vogue 8681 Pattern( Size  )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 3130 Women's Shirt
photo
Review by 1SewSweet on 1/25/14
Read Review

Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Library Dress Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Chloe Ruffle Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King
THE MOULAGE - A CD book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us