Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 5479 (Jackets) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 561 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 10 people   
Reviewed by:Terri Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Terri Smithstar
CA USA
Member since: 9/16/04
Reviews written: 34
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 23 people
patterns reviewed: 31
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/25/08 10:30 PM
Last Updated:6/25/08 11:54 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cheryl Reeves said...
I love your jacket. Your changes to the pattern really makes it look like the RTW jacket. Good job.
6/26/08 1:08 AM
tashainflorence said...
OMG! This is fantastic work. I love the way you matched the pattern, not just on the bodice but the sleeves as well. I love it and it looks so great on you. Bravissima!
6/26/08 1:34 AM
Lori V said...
Wow, wow, your jacket is fantastic. Your changes are perfect and they way you matched the floral pattern is amazing.
6/26/08 1:46 AM
Heatherrique said...
Absolutely eyecatching and chic! This looks much more enticing than a very expensive jacket I just saw at Macy's!
6/26/08 1:59 AM
Vonnevo said...
Just beautiful Terri !!!!! The style and fabric are perfect.
6/26/08 2:39 AM
Jane S said...
What a fantastic jacket!! You look terrific and I appreciate your guidance on changing the collar. That's a part of pattern re-drafting that can definitely challenge me. I love Lafayette 148 styles and am so impressed with your version.
6/26/08 7:09 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Fantastic! The jacket you made looks so much better than the RTW one. Your jacket looks great on you, too.
6/26/08 8:23 AM
Aunt Gail said...
Your attention to detail and continued trying on to fit, fit again and refit a third time certainly paid off! Great look
6/26/08 11:09 AM
Aixoise said...
Great jacket. Love the combo of fabric and pattern. The fit is superb. As is the fit of the pants. Did you make those, too?
6/26/08 12:51 PM
2BSewing said...
Your jacket is beautiful! I love the fabric. You do awesome work!
6/26/08 1:39 PM
Terri Smith said...
Aixoise, Thank you for your kind words, but no, I did not make the pants. However, I will be attempting to draft from scratch my first pair next week. I am excited at the prospects!
6/26/08 1:46 PM
carolynw said...
OMG - this is so striking - I love black and white and this is stunning. I would never have thought this pattern could make up so nicely - your modifications have made a huge difference - well done!!
6/26/08 2:32 PM
Mahler said...
Thank you for this great review. Your jacket is great, really great ! Also, many people must tell you that you look like Lady Di... you do .
6/26/08 3:08 PM
JMarie1962 said...
You've done a fantastic job with this jacket and I especially love your fabric choice.
6/26/08 3:33 PM
LindsayT said...
Excellent job with fabric placement. A classy jacket and I want one just like it.
6/26/08 6:49 PM
Sheila457 said...
Fabulous jacket.
6/29/08 6:57 AM
Terri A said...
This looks great on you!
7/16/08 11:49 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Simplicity 3882
photo
Review by DebJ on 9/7/09
Read Review

Pattern Runway Easy Kimono Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Easy Kimono Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver + S Sailboat Top, Skirt & Pants Digital Pattern ( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2614
photo
Review by lydianmode on 8/29/10
Read Review

SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern
SewBaby Easy Appliqued Bibs Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)
Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2674 Pattern
Jalie 2674 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1356 Pattern ( Size )
Vogue 1356 Pattern ( Size  )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us