SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2008-124 (Knit Top with front gathers)

10 more reviews
Viewed 610 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/26/08 1:30 AM
Last Updated:6/26/08 1:30 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Annette1 said...
SO cute, I love it! I would have never thought to wear the gathers on your side of choice, but now that you mention it, that makes perfect sense. Red is definitely your color! :o)
6/26/08 4:15 AM
trinicity said...
looks great!
6/26/08 4:25 AM
ITAdmin said...
I think the final version is really cute. "Learning experiences" are frustrating, but in this case, everything turned out OK in the end.
6/26/08 7:42 AM
cindy-lou said...
THANKS for reviewing this top! It's the one I liked from June. Yours is wonderful. I love that you mirror-imaged the ruching to best suit you-- the beauty of sewing, huh?
6/26/08 9:03 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Isn't this just so cute. I think you're right about the "IT" top. It really is about the only pattern I was drawn to in this issue. You look lovely in it and thank you for taking us down your sewing adventure road.
6/26/08 9:26 AM
pterion said...
Sorry about the frustrations, but it really did turn out very cute. Very flattering - both the style and the color!
6/26/08 10:21 AM
nicegirl said...
I love your addition of the collar! It really adds something to the style.
6/26/08 10:26 AM
Aunt Gail said...
Goofing up seems to me to be an integral part of the sewing process. I used to just get frustrated and throw it away. Now days, by reading PR reveiws like yours, I try to hang in there and at least figure what I did right and what I did wrong. Its so good of you to share your experiences. and the end result looks absolutely FINE! :)
6/26/08 11:15 AM
michellep74 said...
Very cute top! I prefer ruching/gathers to be on my right side, too.
6/26/08 11:48 AM
Karen6790 said...
I like the collar! Keeping that in mind in case I make this top again. Yours turned out great, and I understand your "asymmetrical" situation - it happens to us all.
6/26/08 11:51 AM
Sweetiebop said...
Whatever your goofs I think this is a beautiful top in your funky flower fabric Great review.
6/26/08 12:11 PM
Em's Summer said...
I like that you altered the style so it would be more flattering on you! And it worked, because you look soo pretty in this! Another great top!
6/26/08 12:55 PM
Birgitte said...
I love the version with the added collar, it looks super cute on you. Thank you for sharing that, I might try it.
6/26/08 2:15 PM
HeyJane said...
Beautiful top, I just love the print on you. Hmmm, what a great idea to add different collars...I think I will take a second look at some of my patterns regarding that!
6/26/08 2:40 PM
Karen8320 said...
Despite all your trials and tribulations, this top has turned out fabulously. It looks great on you! What a great idea to add a collar! You have reinforced to us all that sewing is about making things that suit the wearer and if changing things or adding things to a pattern results in a flattering garment to one's body shape, then that is the way to go.
6/26/08 7:33 PM
Kbenco said...
Your version looks very cute. I am off to cut it out now, and will put the gathers wherever they end up, thanks for being liberating!
6/26/08 8:30 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
Wow Lou, smashing top! Looks fabulous on you too, and as usual, very informative review!. ~Connie
6/26/08 8:47 PM
Sheila457 said...
Very pretty top and I so agree with you on going with your PREFERRED side.
6/29/08 6:51 AM
Jane S said...
Thanks for such a fun and helpful review. I've made a few of these asymmetrically ruched tops and also got caught up in which side is which...I love calling it my preferred side! Thanks.
6/29/08 12:20 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
That's too bad about the goofs! I wonder when I'll stop goofing myself during each project, lol. Anyway, your top looks fabulous - it really makes me want to venture into Burda patterns. Great job! and p.s. Thanks for the kind words on my apron review - you made my day!
7/1/08 7:24 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Register

Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2012-9

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now
Take-Along Bags

Take-Along Bags

Buy Now