SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2008-124 (Knit Top with front gathers)

10 more reviews
Viewed 610 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 101 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/26/08 1:30 AM
Last Updated:6/26/08 1:30 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 10 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
CurlyCrafter said...
That's too bad about the goofs! I wonder when I'll stop goofing myself during each project, lol. Anyway, your top looks fabulous - it really makes me want to venture into Burda patterns. Great job! and p.s. Thanks for the kind words on my apron review - you made my day!
7/1/08 7:24 PM
Jane S said...
Thanks for such a fun and helpful review. I've made a few of these asymmetrically ruched tops and also got caught up in which side is which...I love calling it my preferred side! Thanks.
6/29/08 12:20 PM
Sheila457 said...
Very pretty top and I so agree with you on going with your PREFERRED side.
6/29/08 6:51 AM
CA Eisenhour said...
Wow Lou, smashing top! Looks fabulous on you too, and as usual, very informative review!. ~Connie
6/26/08 8:47 PM
Kbenco said...
Your version looks very cute. I am off to cut it out now, and will put the gathers wherever they end up, thanks for being liberating!
6/26/08 8:30 PM
Karen8320 said...
Despite all your trials and tribulations, this top has turned out fabulously. It looks great on you! What a great idea to add a collar! You have reinforced to us all that sewing is about making things that suit the wearer and if changing things or adding things to a pattern results in a flattering garment to one's body shape, then that is the way to go.
6/26/08 7:33 PM
HeyJane said...
Beautiful top, I just love the print on you. Hmmm, what a great idea to add different collars...I think I will take a second look at some of my patterns regarding that!
6/26/08 2:40 PM
Birgitte said...
I love the version with the added collar, it looks super cute on you. Thank you for sharing that, I might try it.
6/26/08 2:15 PM
Em's Summer said...
I like that you altered the style so it would be more flattering on you! And it worked, because you look soo pretty in this! Another great top!
6/26/08 12:55 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Whatever your goofs I think this is a beautiful top in your funky flower fabric Great review.
6/26/08 12:11 PM
Karen6790 said...
I like the collar! Keeping that in mind in case I make this top again. Yours turned out great, and I understand your "asymmetrical" situation - it happens to us all.
6/26/08 11:51 AM
michellep74 said...
Very cute top! I prefer ruching/gathers to be on my right side, too.
6/26/08 11:48 AM
Aunt Gail said...
Goofing up seems to me to be an integral part of the sewing process. I used to just get frustrated and throw it away. Now days, by reading PR reveiws like yours, I try to hang in there and at least figure what I did right and what I did wrong. Its so good of you to share your experiences. and the end result looks absolutely FINE! :)
6/26/08 11:15 AM
nicegirl said...
I love your addition of the collar! It really adds something to the style.
6/26/08 10:26 AM
pterion said...
Sorry about the frustrations, but it really did turn out very cute. Very flattering - both the style and the color!
6/26/08 10:21 AM
Frogstitcher said...
Isn't this just so cute. I think you're right about the "IT" top. It really is about the only pattern I was drawn to in this issue. You look lovely in it and thank you for taking us down your sewing adventure road.
6/26/08 9:26 AM
cindy-lou said...
THANKS for reviewing this top! It's the one I liked from June. Yours is wonderful. I love that you mirror-imaged the ruching to best suit you-- the beauty of sewing, huh?
6/26/08 9:03 AM
ITAdmin said...
I think the final version is really cute. "Learning experiences" are frustrating, but in this case, everything turned out OK in the end.
6/26/08 7:42 AM
trinicity said...
looks great!
6/26/08 4:25 AM
Annette1 said...
SO cute, I love it! I would have never thought to wear the gathers on your side of choice, but now that you mention it, that makes perfect sense. Red is definitely your color! :o)
6/26/08 4:15 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

More Info
Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Okashi Courier Bag Pattern

More Info