Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda Easy Fashion Magazine: E971-2008-2ABC (Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 1091 times 2 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 34 people   
Reviewed by:Vonnevo
photo
Friend of PR
About Vonnevostarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 10/25/04
Reviews written: 52
Favored by: 176 people
patterns reviewed: 46
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/26/08 1:35 AM
Last Updated:6/27/08 6:55 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
51 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SarahSM said...
This jacket is fabulous! I really like the slightly retro style... It's great on you, too!
6/26/08 1:51 AM
Lori V said...
Vonnevo, these jackets are gorgeous, in fact, you always make the most gorgeous jackets. Thanks for the very thorough review, I am heading to ebay to look for this magazine!
6/26/08 1:56 AM
Simka72 said...
Great, great, great - love the style of this jacket. Thanks for the detailed review!
6/26/08 2:14 AM
Heatherrique said...
Vonnevo, it's good to see you back and sewing! You have an exquisitely great talent to take an ordinary looking pattern to turn it into something outstanding! Thanks for the sharing your details in your very helpful review!
6/26/08 2:26 AM
Sew4Fun said...
I've been waiting and you didn't disappoint. :) I LOVE the denim version! Thanks for the info about how flared it is at the bottom. I can't wait to start mine, but probably not until spring. It's far too cold.
6/26/08 3:03 AM
Sigrid. said...
Fabulous jackets, I love both versions. Such nice details and you made them perfect. I'm a bit surprised that this jacket is part of the "Easy fashion" issue. It's not that easy!
6/26/08 5:19 AM
SansSouci572 said...
Great review! Nice photos, and tips!
6/26/08 6:51 AM
Ronda Rae said...
So wonderful! I love both versions. Especially the pocket detail. Interesting tip with the press and seal stuff. Do you do this with all your garments? Your jackets and garments are always so beautifully put together so any other tips you have that helps with construction?
6/26/08 6:58 AM
nellc said...
Lovely jacket with great details, the covered buttons are very stylish.
6/26/08 8:18 AM
Fran G said...
Absolutely wonderful, Vonne! Can I just write "See Vonne's review" when I finally get around to posting my own jacket??!!?? Love your fabric, the pockets..I'm going to dig my scraps out of the trash so I can add a band on my pocket so it looks like yours. Then, of course, I'll have to add the pocket to my jacket!! Using Press and Seal is new to me..I'll have to try it. Wonderfully detailed, tip laden review. You are the jacket queen!!
6/26/08 8:33 AM
kim*brown said...
You are the queen of jackets! Your jackets are always top notch!
6/26/08 8:39 AM
Puppy said...
Yes, it IS good to see you reviewing again. I'm salivating over your jackets. They are primo.
6/26/08 9:05 AM
Frogstitcher said...
We've missed your reviews - they're alot like sewing lessons and I thank you for that. Love your jackets. It is always so much fun to see the details that you add to your versions and I'm sure that the pattern companies kick themselves and wish they would have thought of it. Beautiful Vonne originals.
6/26/08 9:17 AM
cindyann said...
More fantastic jackets, Vonnevo! Beautiful colors.
6/26/08 9:40 AM
Karen6790 said...
You always make the best jackets. I'm not sure which version I like better - maybe the blue by the tiniest bit, but they're both fabulous. Of course.
6/26/08 11:46 AM
Kathi R said...
Great jackets, and great review. I hope I will be able to write reviews as informative as yours, someday.....and I also hope I can produce garments as beautifully fitted and sewn, too. Thanks for taking the time to write a review that is a sewing lesson.
6/26/08 12:02 PM
Terri Smith said...
Great jackets. I love the denim one the most. Please expand on the Glad Press & Seal...Do you leave it in the jacket or do you snip it out? What fabrics does it work best in? I am so facinated!
6/26/08 12:07 PM
Peacock Chic said...
Those look great. Kinda Jackie-O gone casual :O) Great job!
6/26/08 12:07 PM
patrica said...
You Jacket is just beautiful. I never heard of this mag, isn't it nice to have illustrations. Thanks for a great review.
6/26/08 12:22 PM
Aixoise said...
It's always a boost to see your beautiful jackets - makes me want to get busy on some of my own. Thanks for an informative review.
6/26/08 12:40 PM
moushka said...
Another Vonne masterpiece! Beautiful jackets, you are really a pro. This style suits you perfectly. I'd love to see you make a 'glam' version :-) Sue
6/26/08 12:44 PM
2BSewing said...
Wow...stunning! I love both versions and they fit you beautifully. The denim fabric caught my eye and is so unusual. That was a wonderful find. I enjoyed your review and the many helpful tips and pictures. :)
6/26/08 1:53 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
You are the jacket Queen my friend, they are both gorgeous on you! Thanks for all the helpful photos and information throughout the review.
6/26/08 2:12 PM
carolynw said...
This is a seriously beautiful jacket - actully both are - your top notch workmanship is so evident - all the details make this stand out.
6/26/08 2:25 PM
sewbehind said...
Beautifully sewn as always. I missed your reviews!
6/26/08 5:58 PM
Erica B. said...
That jacket is fabulous! Just like everything you make!
6/26/08 6:36 PM
LindsayT said...
I want a jacket just like this!!
6/26/08 6:47 PM
Cody7 said...
Hi Vonne, It is great to see you back posting reviews. Just like everyone before has said the jacket is gorgeous. You certainly are the jacket queen of PR.
6/26/08 8:07 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Beautiful jackets and I love the press 'n seal tip!
6/26/08 8:24 PM
Aless said...
Just GORGEOUS!
6/26/08 10:54 PM
mastdenman said...
Like everyone else, I love your jackets. It's good to see you reviewing again.
6/26/08 11:38 PM
JMarie1962 said...
This jacket is awesome! and I love the little pebble design in the denim and the covered buttons. Wonderful review!!
6/26/08 11:47 PM
Kay Y said...
That is beautifully sewn! And thanks so much for the tip re press N seal - I think I will buy some and try it out!
6/26/08 11:52 PM
hongkongshopper said...
Great jackets Vonne! Your details make them special. You are looking well too :)
6/27/08 4:38 AM
trinicity said...
beautiful Vonne, this is so stunning on you
6/27/08 5:24 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Another great pattern and love the jackets!
6/27/08 5:29 AM
Christy Alex said...
Very nicely made!
6/27/08 8:46 AM
Lilibet said...
Both jackets are terrific. Thank you for all the extra sewing tips.
6/27/08 7:14 PM
Diane E said...
Vonne, your review was as delicious as your jackets. Thank you for all the wonderful tips; when I make mine, your review will come in very handy! By the way, you're right, GLP in the US does offer subscriptions to BEF.
6/27/08 7:21 PM
cmarie12 said...
Oh what an absolutely wonderful jacket! I love that you sew one test or wearable jacket first and then sew the main event! And I'm glad to see you back sewing...I have missed your garments!
6/27/08 8:53 PM
Olivia Sews said...
I hope they come out with a envelope pattern in these styles in plus sizes. I like the way they have all the different details that make the jackets so unique.
6/28/08 6:05 AM
Karen8320 said...
'A girl can never have enough jackets'. A truer word has never been spoken. Vonnevo, your work is superb, as always, and these jackets suit you perfectly. Really fantastic!
6/28/08 6:44 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Everyone has said it all - beautifully done.
6/28/08 11:25 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Lovely jackets, and what an interesting denim that is! I think I remember your Press n Seal tip from a while ago, thanks for reminding us of it.
6/28/08 11:59 AM
rivergum said...
Fabulous jackets, Vonne. Thrilled to see you are getting your mojo back.
6/28/08 5:19 PM
Winifred said...
Welcome,welcome back to the fold Vonne, you have been so missed! Your jackets are superb and so beautifully made. Off to my sewing machine with a stop-off en route to my stash!!
6/28/08 5:56 PM
MareeAlison said...
Lovely jackets Vonne. :)
6/29/08 8:35 PM
Krissi said...
Wonderful innovative as usual, love your jackets, love everything you sew
6/30/08 8:18 AM
Squeezylemon said...
A wonderful jacket and review Vonnevo, I've missed your reviews but knew there was no way you had given up sewing! (We all have this obsession that will never go away.....) Looking forward to seeing what you continue to make to inspire us all.
7/1/08 4:54 AM
blue mooney said...
Firstly, beautiful jacket! Second - thanks for highlighting the Press N Seal tip! I'm going to get some of that stuff.
7/27/08 8:09 AM
Joann Eidhoff said...
I missed this jacket when I looked through the magazine. Lucky me..I still have ten vacation days left. Maybe I can get it sewn up in the time I have. Vacation---a nice tan and a jacket for fall. Who can ask for more. Thanks for showing how to change the pattern and build a new jacket every time!
7/28/08 5:06 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Understanding Sheer Fabrics
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Understanding Sheer Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Self Drafted Pattern 197911-1004
photo
Review by Mimsy Boro... on 9/21/13
Read Review

Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern
Favorite Things Nightie Night Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Baja Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Floppy Flower Sun Hat Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victory Anouk Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Anouk Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewaholic Patterns 1301 Robson Coat
photo
Review by Nelliethem... on 3/30/14
Read Review

McCalls 6733 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )
McCalls 6733 Pattern ( Size 6-7-8 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1678 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1678 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us