Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Contest: MY Pattern 2008 (Renaissance Gown) thumbsup - Type:Costumes    printable version
Viewed 873 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:papalacios
photo
About papalacios
TX USA
Member since: 8/22/06
Reviews written: 12
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/26/08 3:07 PM
Last Updated:8/3/08 0:33 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mufffet said...
WOW. LOVELY gown. You do wonderful work. COuld you put more links to pictures of the ensemble? I would LOVE to see detailing and more views. :)
6/26/08 3:20 PM
JMarie1962 said...
An amazing work of art!
6/26/08 3:30 PM
papalacios said...
Thank you very much!! I love this gown and am looking forward to making another.


6/26/08 3:32 PM
Deb Thompson said...
WOW!!!! Beautiful! This dress must of cost you a small fortune to make! What a gorgeous piece of art!
6/26/08 3:58 PM
Mahler said...
Fantastic, overwhelming, awesome... I could go on for ever. You are an artist. Thousands of Bravo !
6/26/08 7:30 PM
prokleta said...
Just WOW!
6/26/08 8:10 PM
QuiltersFan said...
The dress is stunning. Thanks for posting the extra photos - the details are beautiful.
6/26/08 8:41 PM
chacha45 said...
What an amazing achievement! Did you know tht you accidently put "advanced beginner" in your profile?
6/26/08 11:00 PM
chacha45 said...
What an amazing achievement! Did you know tht you accidently put "advanced beginner" in your profile?
6/26/08 11:01 PM
tatterbat said...
Splendid. Thanks for the extra photo links, enjoyed seeing more details.
6/26/08 11:45 PM
CA Eisenhour said...
Um, Advanced Beginner? I don't think so! What a truly stunning work of art! You must be so very proud of yourself. the details are incredible. Simply, LOVELY! ~Connie
6/27/08 0:12 AM
piffle said...
Droooooooooooool!
6/27/08 5:33 AM
Kbenco said...
Amazing outfit. Thank you for showing this. I am feeling tired just thinking about sewing on all those pearls.
6/27/08 6:50 AM
HeyJane said...
Wow. I have said 'wow' about a hundred times now, viewing your photos. And the skirt hangs and flares so beautifully.
6/27/08 11:17 AM
Stitchcakes said...
This is beyond beautiful. Not really so 'helpful' , I'm afraid, as I won't ever be attempting anything like this! :-) In fact, I'm going to check with Deepika now to see if she can add 'Single-Celled Organism' to the skills category, since this is Advanced Beginner work. OH WAIT! I see you promoted yourself. Whew! I am feeling better! :-) You should be VERY proud of this!!
6/27/08 1:31 PM
Mufffet said...
I am SOOOO glad you are rated Advanced now because you surely are. No matter how you put that together, it doesn't matter how someone else might! Thanks for the extra pictures, they are just lovely!
6/27/08 5:36 PM
wvsher said...
Stunning gown and hat! Very impressive!
6/27/08 9:37 PM
Annette1 said...
BEAUTIFUL!! Your workmanship is truly admirable. I especially like the fact that you used really nice fabric and didn't cheapen it up with something of lesser quality. :o)
7/9/08 12:01 PM
Elona said...
Spectacular! I think a lady of the time wearing your gown would have been the envy of the court.
7/9/08 2:05 PM
crisford said...
Suitable for royalty!
7/9/08 3:04 PM
Athene said...
Absolutely beautiful - thank you for all the pictures to look at.
7/9/08 3:15 PM
nancy2001 said...
Absolutely breathtaking.
7/9/08 3:26 PM
Warrior Princess said...
*Speechless... yet I must find words*....You deserve serious kudos for this. Perseverance by the bucketful here! I adore those shirt sleeves!... How did you make them drape so beautifully? I want more!
7/9/08 5:28 PM
papalacios said...
Thank you all very much for the wonderful comments.

I guess I was at the right place at the right time for the dark blue silk. I got a 20 meter roll for only $150. The inner skirt was an older set of drapes and the chemise was a lighter set of drapes that I found at an estate sale.

For the sleeve question, if you mean the flouncy chemise sleeve, those are 2 set-in squares on each side with hand crocheted lace edging. I stitched on the lace trim before I attached them. It's a lot easier that way. The squares were 16" and 24" with a hole cut out of the center. I basted one small square on top of a larger square then stitched them to the upper sleeve just past the elbow so the bulk wouldn't lie in the arm bend. It creates a lot of fullness and Erin just loved it.

I had seen that style of sleeve done on a commercial pattern, don't remember which one, but it was a lot shorter and only a single layer.
7/9/08 6:22 PM
Warrior Princess said...
Yes they were the ones I meant... They're beautiful! I love unusual sleeve designs but often find it difficult to draft myown pattern that fits! I'd never seen any quite like those before.
7/10/08 5:54 AM
Alexruthe said...
wow, gorgeous!
7/11/08 8:19 PM
marjenann said...
Incredible in everyway!!!
7/15/08 7:43 PM
jeanyus said...
Impressive! I think that includes the feat of securing an excellent deal on silk. Have you sewn a similar gown with a pattern? What did you use for sources, reference other than your sketch?I hope you get to show it off at the Faire!!!
7/16/08 10:31 PM
AuntieBat said...
Jaw-dropping wonderful! Your achievement is even more impressive given that this is your first Tudor gown. May I ask how long you were working on this? The handstitched beading alone must have taken months. Which Renfaire or historical re-enactment group do you frequent? And I want to go shopping with you. :) That is a great silk at such a great price!
7/18/08 1:10 PM
papalacios said...
I had to look up how to do cartridge pleats since I hadn't done them before and I had looked through lots of sites for tips on Renaissance gowns. Like having the bodice use 4 layers. The stays are attached to the inside on the inner layer and basted in place to the outer layer. That was the stays don't show and the line of the dress is smooth.

Cartridge pleat tutorial I used. http://www.vertetsable.com/demos_cartridgepleating.htm

Since I stay home with my son, I had lot's of time to sew this. The pearls went on pretty fast. I had machine stitched down the lace, ribbon, and gems. The pearls just filled in the blank spots. I think it was 3 days for all the pearls. The pearls and the cartridge pleats were the only hand work, the rest was by machine.

I would guess that the total working hours on this (after the research and sketch) was about 80+.

I don't participate in any Ren groups. I just have a love for the period. I've been fascinated with Queen Elizabeth I since I was a child.
7/21/08 12:51 PM
Sew4Fun said...
This is magnificient! As a friendly reminder you may want to read rule 7,8 & 9 of the My Pattern Contest and update your review. After all your hard work it would be nice if you had a chance at winning. I'd also generally be interested in hearing how you went about drafting/draping this pattern.
7/31/08 2:34 AM
pipet said...
not just a dress but a masterpiece... wow!
8/1/08 2:54 AM
svetlana said...
As someone who has made several Ren dresses, I am in awe. Surely 80 hours is an underestimate.
8/1/08 8:11 AM
Stacy Sews said...
Wow, gorgeous!!!
8/1/08 3:31 PM
GinnyMae said...
This is wonderful! So you didn't even go to the Renfaire? Oh it's wonderful if you love that time period! Great job on the gown, I'm in awe.
8/1/08 11:08 PM
trishapatk said...
Superb! What a lot of work you put into this ... with outstanding results! Keep up the great work!
8/3/08 10:25 AM
Debra H said...
While I would never need anything like this, my hats off to a beautiful job on a very complicated design.
8/3/08 11:36 AM
Nancy Anne said...
I made a renaisance gown for one of my daughters 5 years ago, self-drafted for the most part, and while it is not as detailed as you and didn't have a hat (how brave you are!), I can fully appreciate the process and work you went through to construct such a marvelous finished product. Absolutely stunning! I hope it is worn zillions of times.
8/4/08 6:10 PM
AliciaNoel said...
Completely beautiful!!! I have always wanted to create a Renaissance dress, but unfourtunately, been unambitious and have lots of fabric sitting & waiting to be made into one... this is so inspiring to see though. You should be very proud of yourself for such an amazing creation!
8/11/08 7:16 PM
AnneM said...
A gown like that in silk? Fantastic. You did a great job on the dress. What a special dress for your friend.
8/11/08 9:05 PM
mad4sewing said...
Awesome!!
8/13/08 10:53 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

New Look 6405
photo
Review by slanden99 on 1/24/07
Read Review

Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Sandra Betzina Vest & Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern
Sewn Square One Swing Shift Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Sundress Digital Pattern
Salme Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew Sewing for Toddlers Book
photo
Review by Trinity. on 10/24/07
Read Review

Simplicity 2188 Pattern( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )
Simplicity 2188 Pattern( Size XXS-XS-S-M-L-XL-XXL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8939 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 8939 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us