Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Other: Issue 67 (Pretty in Pink, AustralianS&E) - Type:Baby clothes    printable version
Viewed 110 times
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:Kbenco
photo
About Kbencostarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 190
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 189
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/27/08 5:15 AM
Last Updated:6/27/08 5:15 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JenniferBee said...
Gorgeous baby and of course the dress is gorgeous as well. :-) Isn't Viyella a dream to work with, sadly I don't have any in my stash.
6/27/08 5:50 AM
CA Eisenhour said...
Your little dress is so beautiful! I just received my smocking books, now to learn to do this fabulous craft! I'm so envious of you gals with this marvelous gift of smocking. Gorgeous work! BTW, what is Viyella? I've never heard of it before. ~Connie
6/27/08 9:13 AM
tatterbat said...
Very pretty dress, and love the generational connection. My Mom had cut out and half-sewn baby dresses that were for me when I got married. Sadly, she'd passed them on before my own daughter was born.
6/27/08 9:14 AM
Heatherrique said...
Such an enchanting and precious picture of the beautiful baby in her lovely attire! I see that baby adores her dress! Wow, you added your magic to a 35 year old fabric and the dress will be a treasured memento in the family! Your talents are so admirable and inspiring!
6/27/08 12:11 PM
Sandi S said...
What a lovely dress! With that fabric, it is definitely an heirloom piece.
6/27/08 1:01 PM
Mahler said...
Wonderful little dress worn by a real model.
6/27/08 5:42 PM
Kbenco said...
Thank you for your kind comments, I agree, she is a gorgeous baby! Connie, Viyella is a finely woven wool fabric, originally English, I think. It tended to be expensive, due to its high quality. It does not seem to be readily available anymore, which is a great pity, as it is fabulous in drape and feel for dresses, blouses etc. It is a traditional fabric for baby clothes. I have only ever seen 2 pieces of it, one from my MIL that you see in the photo, and another that Marji who is a moderator here generously sent me. She said her fabric is about the same vintage. If anyone knows of a source for Viyella, please leave a comment, as I would love to get my hands on more of it!
6/27/08 6:50 PM
MagpieJen said...
What a lovely story to go along with that sweet dress!
6/28/08 1:44 AM
Annette1 said...
What a beautiful dress for a beautiful little girl, and all the more special because of the story that comes along with it. :o) I LOVE smocking.
6/29/08 0:57 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Simplicity 3774 Misses Dresses
photo
Review by laranoelle on 9/28/09
Read Review

Simplicity 2229 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 2229 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3498 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3498 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other 1001
photo
Review by JuliaS on 8/7/06
Read Review

Sis Boom Cathy Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Cathy Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Baby Toy Basics Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Baby Toy Basics Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $40.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern
Sewn Square One Paper Bag Pant Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us