SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Other> Issue 67 (Pretty in Pink, AustralianS&E)

Viewed 110 times 
Reviewed by:Kbenco
photo

 
 
About Kbencostarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 196
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 44 people
patterns reviewed: 195
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/27/08 5:15 AM
Last Updated:6/27/08 5:15 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 1 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JenniferBee said...
Gorgeous baby and of course the dress is gorgeous as well. :-) Isn't Viyella a dream to work with, sadly I don't have any in my stash.
6/27/08 5:50 AM
CA Eisenhour said...
Your little dress is so beautiful! I just received my smocking books, now to learn to do this fabulous craft! I'm so envious of you gals with this marvelous gift of smocking. Gorgeous work! BTW, what is Viyella? I've never heard of it before. ~Connie
6/27/08 9:13 AM
tatterbat said...
Very pretty dress, and love the generational connection. My Mom had cut out and half-sewn baby dresses that were for me when I got married. Sadly, she'd passed them on before my own daughter was born.
6/27/08 9:14 AM
Heatherrique said...
Such an enchanting and precious picture of the beautiful baby in her lovely attire! I see that baby adores her dress! Wow, you added your magic to a 35 year old fabric and the dress will be a treasured memento in the family! Your talents are so admirable and inspiring!
6/27/08 12:11 PM
Sandi S said...
What a lovely dress! With that fabric, it is definitely an heirloom piece.
6/27/08 1:01 PM
Mahler said...
Wonderful little dress worn by a real model.
6/27/08 5:42 PM
Kbenco said...
Thank you for your kind comments, I agree, she is a gorgeous baby! Connie, Viyella is a finely woven wool fabric, originally English, I think. It tended to be expensive, due to its high quality. It does not seem to be readily available anymore, which is a great pity, as it is fabulous in drape and feel for dresses, blouses etc. It is a traditional fabric for baby clothes. I have only ever seen 2 pieces of it, one from my MIL that you see in the photo, and another that Marji who is a moderator here generously sent me. She said her fabric is about the same vintage. If anyone knows of a source for Viyella, please leave a comment, as I would love to get my hands on more of it!
6/27/08 6:50 PM
MagpieJen said...
What a lovely story to go along with that sweet dress!
6/28/08 1:44 AM
Annette1 said...
What a beautiful dress for a beautiful little girl, and all the more special because of the story that comes along with it. :o) I LOVE smocking.
6/29/08 0:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Bluegingerdoll Stella Blouse

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Three Tees

Christine Jonson Three Tees

Buy Now