Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3484 (Men's casual shirt) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 297 times 22 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 1 people   
Reviewed by:EveS
photo
Friend of PR
About EveSstarstarstarstar
MI USA
Member since: 11/26/06
Reviews written: 116
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 111 people
patterns reviewed: 98
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/27/08 11:17 PM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Shirts    
Available for sale on PR: $11.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.49     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
I think it's a handsome shirt of its type. That stand-less collar is typical of the style, and works just fine for my dh. He, by the way, is a teacher, and has for decades favored Hawaiian shirts for on-the-job wear. He thinks it wakes the kids up (and certainly his fabric choices do!). You ask 'how many Hawaiian prints can (or should) a guy have??' Mine has a couple of dozen I have made him--and I ain't done yet. His closet looks like a rainbow.
6/28/08 0:38 AM
EveS said...
Thank you, Elona. I meant no offense to anyone who wears (or makes) this type of shirt...it's just not a style that DH cares for, nor is it flattering to his body type. Re the Hawaiian prints...DH has exactly one, and he rarely wears it, so I probably wouldn't want to make him more than one more. And as I noted, what REALLY caused the issue was the combination of fabric and pattern (my Mom even confirmed my pj theory). I always worry that DH will wear what I make just so he doesn't hurt my feelings. After being w/ the man for almost 20 yrs, I can guarantee that this is one of those shirts. Again, nothing wrong with the principle of the shirt, but it's just not his personal style so I won't be making him any more.
6/28/08 1:05 AM
Elona said...
No offense taken or intended, Eve. I see what you mean about this particular shirt: More, what, utilitarian than one might want, eh? The plain lines of the pattern do seem to cry out for, as you said, something really loud, like a Hawaiian print, or the Charlie Sheen look. Sometimes the best solution IS an accident in the laundry room.
6/28/08 2:53 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!!! You did such a NICE job!!!
6/28/08 11:14 AM
michellep74 said...
You had me laughing out loud with the Charlie Sheen comment. I bought this pattern to make shirts for my fiance, and something about it seemed "off" to me...you nailed it with the Charlie Sheen crack!
6/28/08 12:05 PM
FloraNature said...
I love that fabric! It looks so cool and summery. I can see this on the beach.
6/28/08 12:38 PM
ITAdmin said...
I'm with you on the collar; I don't much like this style even for women's shirts. I do think it has a place on casual men's shirts meant to be worn outside the pants, what my DH calls a fat man's shirt. I'm starting to warm up to the style a little, especially since it's so easy to make. I like the stripes on this fabric; too bad it didn't really work out.
7/1/08 7:23 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

Tessuti Eva Dress Eva Dress
photo
Review by CissieW on 1/22/14
Read Review

Butterick 5391 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Butterick 5391 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 0109 Pattern
Kwik Sew 0109 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Advance Pattern Company 4440
photo
Review by BrightFeat... on 6/10/11
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Dreess Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Victoria Fur Trim Dreess Coat Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)
Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop Onde Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Easy Coat
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us