SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2694 (Wrap top)

106 more reviews
Viewed 1831 times 
Reviewed by:Oopsy-Daisy!
photo

 
 
About Oopsy-Daisy!starstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 11/16/02
Reviews written: 125
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 32 people
patterns reviewed: 96
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/12/03 10:05 PM
Last Updated:4/28/04 1:53 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karla Kizer said...
Okay, I'm convinced: if the neckline is low on someone who is 6 feet tall, then I would have to do a bikini wax before I wore it. However, I'll bet my daughter would consider the neckline just right. (Who raised that kid?) I'll try it and let you know how it goes over with the college-age crowd....
7/12/03 10:41 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Evidently my height is not between my neck and upper bust! ;)
7/13/03 5:49 PM
AnneM said...
Looks very nice; good solution to the neckline issue.
7/13/03 11:14 PM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
3 cheers for the Wally-World $1/yard fabric! I also made the top again in a chocolate brown thin knit and it looked terrific. You'd be hard-pressed to find a great top like this in RTW for $2! In fact, I wore it last weekend to Quilt Festival with a remake of the Elle pants in batik. Ran into an old friend who said, "D*mn, girl - you look fine!" I don't think you could get a better accolade for this pattern than that! ;)
11/8/03 11:50 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Oops, guys, sorry! I didn't mean to have this re-appear at the top of the list.
4/1/04 9:46 PM
marya said...
THanks for a really helpful review. It will save me significant trial and error time because of your fitting cues and that steam a seam tip.
4/2/04 7:58 AM
LBJ said...
Beautiful top! But what is Steam a Seam? I thought I was up to date on notions?
4/2/04 8:03 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
LBJ-You can find Steam A Seam 2 (which stands for double stick) at Hancock's and other sewing stores. It comes in a roll either 1/2" or 1/4"wide -- sometimes you can get a double pack with both. It sticks temporarily to both sides then bonds permanently with an iron. Louise Cutting is also a big fan of S-A-S. I did another review with her vest pattern and it worked like a charm with it. Want to hear a funny story? A friend of mine was out of town and went fabric shopping, finding the perfect fabric and pattern to make the perfect dress. She didn't have her sewing machine with her, but she was staying in a hotel/motel with an iron! Long story short, she cut out her outfit and Steam-A-Seamed it! She has worn it and has since washed it over and over. It is still sticking together! Call it an emergency portable sewing machine! :)
4/2/04 10:33 AM
LBJ said...
Thank you so much! I'm always cutting fusable interfacing 1/4'' and it's kind of a pain. This will save time. And hat's off to your friend, she's a wild one!
4/2/04 11:42 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Sorry, ya'll -- I hit the wrong button and didn't mean to have the revised review reappear at the top of current reviews. I was just trying to add my tip about the camisoles.
4/28/04 1:56 PM
sewtall1963 said...
Thank you for the steam a seam tip! I'll use it when I make this.
10/21/04 9:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

BRUSH FRINGE JACKET, a CD book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Tiny Handbag Pattern

Buy Now
Butterick 7988

photo
by: The Dreams...

Review