Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 06-2008-124 (knit top with side gathering) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 573 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Kbenco
photo
About Kbencostarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/8/06
Reviews written: 190
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 43 people
patterns reviewed: 189
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/28/08 8:51 AM
Last Updated:6/28/08 9:00 AM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
dbsewer said...
This is a really cute top and I disagree with your DH, it looks very nice on you. Glad you worked out all the fitting bugs. It will make a great wardribe staple.
6/28/08 9:10 AM
TrixieD said...
This is on my to-do list, and your details will be so useful when I get around to sewing. i love the colour and the style. It's flattering.
6/28/08 9:12 AM
MagpieJen said...
Thank you for such a great review! I think you look wonderfully curvy in the top, and you did a great job persevering on the fit.
6/28/08 11:16 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
That top is SOOOO CUTE!!! It looks SOOO NICE on you!!! You did an excellent job!!!!
6/28/08 11:31 AM
Heatherrique said...
Wow! Your top is absolutely FANTASTIC! Very nice neckline (thanks for the tip and your pattern piece with the raised neckline!) and I think the asymmetry really looks great on you! Glad to be of help and I am so glad that you incorporated your modifications to create a top that you can call your own. Thanks for a super review with your construction details!
6/28/08 11:34 AM
figtree said...
Looks great, your v-neck came out really nice. I still struggle with them.
6/28/08 6:18 PM
WendyGR said...
Uh oh, another great Bwof pattern! It's amazing to me how much better these look in real pics instead of the stylized pics in the magazine. Great job!
6/28/08 9:29 PM
Annette1 said...
Are you NUTS? This looks FANTASTIC on you! If I had your figure, I'd be flaunting this top all over the God's green earth. :o) And ACTUALLY, I think the asymmetric gathers at the hip are flattering BECAUSE they're asymmetrical. I'm planning to make yet this weekend that Simplicity pattern that has gathers similar to this, but it's sleeveless. I like this one with sleeves better. :o) I LOVE IT!
6/29/08 0:54 AM
Squeezylemon said...
Oh, to have a lovely waist like yours! I agree with everyone, this top is GORGEOUS on you! Thanks for a great review, will try this one (or at least add it to my long list of "Must makes"!!)
6/29/08 9:10 AM
Danvillegirl said...
This was most helpful review. I like the look of this top. Like the beading you did at the neckline.
6/29/08 2:40 PM
BeckyMc said...
OK, I think your top looks great! But I have to disagree with you about it making you look hippy. All I see when I look at the photo is a tiny waist and shapely bust. Celebrate those curves! I grew up in a family of women who always over analyzed everything in regards to hips. So my body self-image became distorted because of their hang ups. It wasn't until I was in my thirties that I learned by attending a sewing class and having my peers visually critique my figure that I had an hour glass shape, NOT big hips! Everyone was in agreement, including the instructors. I had been agonizing about hips for nothing. So, I would like to say to you: It looks great! Wear it!
7/1/08 12:34 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

McCall's 6292
photo
Review by 3kids1036 on 2/2/11
Read Review

Vogue 1325 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 1325 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5985 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Butterick 5985 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5032
photo
Review by lillibet on 4/16/14
Read Review

Victory Chloe Dress Digital Pattern
Victory Chloe Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Birgitte Basic Tee Digital Pattern
Birgitte Basic Tee Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern
SewBaby Reversible Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us