Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Butterick: 5047 (Women's Jacket) thumbsup - Type:Coordinates    printable version
Viewed 755 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:NicholeMc
photo
About NicholeMcstar
NH USA
Member since: 3/26/08
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/29/08 4:40 PM
Last Updated:6/30/08 8:21 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!!!! You did such a NICE job!!! It's looks BEAUTIFUL!!!!
6/29/08 5:02 PM
Gelbean said...
Your jacket is absolutely beautiful.
6/29/08 7:14 PM
Carol B. said...
Very nice job, Nichole! As the "co-worker" who looked at your jacket, I am so impressed with the end result. It's lovely. Your buttonholes came out great. You matched up the plaid nicely. And the fit looks good. Your enthusiasm, skill and perseverance are inspiring. I can't wait to see your next project.
6/30/08 9:04 AM
echolalia said...
First jacket - wow! I can't believe that you braved a plaid particularly with having to use other unfamiliar skills. Fantastic.
6/30/08 9:28 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Great looking jacket. No way I would guess it's your first. You've made me look at this pattern again because your jacket looks so much better than the envelope drawings. I've been having great luck with Butterick's plus size patterns so I might need to add this one to my stash.
6/30/08 9:36 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking jacket and your details are great. Love all the information in your review, too.
6/30/08 9:57 AM
CurlyCrafter said...
Lovely jacket - it came out far more than decent, it's great!!!
6/30/08 10:57 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Oops. Duplicate.
6/30/08 11:31 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Your jacket turned out great!
6/30/08 11:56 AM
marycds said...
Great job and a nice review. I'm especially impressed with you seam finishes. I too will take another look at this pattern. I don't like the Crawford patterns without a bust dart but the princess seams may do the trick. Thanks
6/30/08 6:14 PM
ITAdmin said...
Outstanding job on your first jacket. Very impressive!
7/1/08 7:10 AM
Larkin said...
Super job! Your jacket looks fabulous! Enjoy all the compliments!
7/1/08 1:23 PM
michellep74 said...
Very impressive jacket. This looks fabulous on you!
7/2/08 1:40 PM
Sew4Fun said...
You did an outstanding job on this jacket, matching the plaid especially. As an advanced sewer I still find plaid a challenge. Well done!
7/10/08 6:40 AM
Athene said...
A very impressive job with all your first techniques. A wonderful jacket with lovely finishing details.
7/10/08 7:34 PM
mis_priss said...
Very nice jacket, I love the fabric. I made this jacket a couple times now, The first time the sleeve caps were way too gathered for me, I think it looks stupid, and I won't wear it. The second Jacket I made of loosely woven wool and it came out real nice, I left the collar off that one, as I had way too much trouble with it. I used my dress dummy to pin the sleeves in first then hand basted them, then sewed them on the machine and they came out perfect that way. I wear that one all the time. except now it is comming apart in one of the back seams. I have to figure out how to fix that. I was so happy that pattern was so easy to alter.
7/15/08 3:18 PM
rjc said...
Well done...I am so impressed that I am going to get this pattern and give it a try myself...I doubt that mine will turn out quite so well though.
7/16/08 8:44 AM
Berniev said...
I think you did a beautiful job on this jacket. You look great. I will have to take a look at this pattern again. Thank you for the review.
10/31/08 5:14 PM
Enis said...
NicholeMc, You did a beautiful job on your jacket. I bought this pattern too and hope that when I finally make it, I have a nice a product as you do. Great job!
2/19/09 8:15 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2009-122 Dress
photo
Review by MissCelie on 2/27/12
Read Review

McCalls 6554 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
McCalls 6554 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4789 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )
Simplicity 4789 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4150
photo
Review by Immelu on 8/21/07
Read Review

Blank Slate Cool Cardigan Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Cool Cardigan Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo All Star Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )
Peek-A Boo All Star Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0-18 months )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern
Sewing Workshop Hong Kong Vest Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Pocket Purse
Lily Pocket Purse

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us