SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 5047 (Women's Jacket)

5 more reviews
Viewed 755 times 
Reviewed by:NicholeMc
photo

 
 
About NicholeMcstar
NH USA
Member since: 3/26/08
Reviews written: 6
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 2 people
patterns reviewed: 6
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/29/08 4:40 PM
Last Updated:6/30/08 8:21 AM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Meggie LuLu said...
WOW!!!! You did such a NICE job!!! It's looks BEAUTIFUL!!!!
6/29/08 5:02 PM
Gelbean said...
Your jacket is absolutely beautiful.
6/29/08 7:14 PM
Carol B. said...
Very nice job, Nichole! As the "co-worker" who looked at your jacket, I am so impressed with the end result. It's lovely. Your buttonholes came out great. You matched up the plaid nicely. And the fit looks good. Your enthusiasm, skill and perseverance are inspiring. I can't wait to see your next project.
6/30/08 9:04 AM
echolalia said...
First jacket - wow! I can't believe that you braved a plaid particularly with having to use other unfamiliar skills. Fantastic.
6/30/08 9:28 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Great looking jacket. No way I would guess it's your first. You've made me look at this pattern again because your jacket looks so much better than the envelope drawings. I've been having great luck with Butterick's plus size patterns so I might need to add this one to my stash.
6/30/08 9:36 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
Great looking jacket and your details are great. Love all the information in your review, too.
6/30/08 9:57 AM
CurlyCrafter said...
Lovely jacket - it came out far more than decent, it's great!!!
6/30/08 10:57 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Oops. Duplicate.
6/30/08 11:31 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Your jacket turned out great!
6/30/08 11:56 AM
marycds said...
Great job and a nice review. I'm especially impressed with you seam finishes. I too will take another look at this pattern. I don't like the Crawford patterns without a bust dart but the princess seams may do the trick. Thanks
6/30/08 6:14 PM
ITAdmin said...
Outstanding job on your first jacket. Very impressive!
7/1/08 7:10 AM
Larkin said...
Super job! Your jacket looks fabulous! Enjoy all the compliments!
7/1/08 1:23 PM
michellep74 said...
Very impressive jacket. This looks fabulous on you!
7/2/08 1:40 PM
Sew4Fun said...
You did an outstanding job on this jacket, matching the plaid especially. As an advanced sewer I still find plaid a challenge. Well done!
7/10/08 6:40 AM
Athene said...
A very impressive job with all your first techniques. A wonderful jacket with lovely finishing details.
7/10/08 7:34 PM
mis_priss said...
Very nice jacket, I love the fabric. I made this jacket a couple times now, The first time the sleeve caps were way too gathered for me, I think it looks stupid, and I won't wear it. The second Jacket I made of loosely woven wool and it came out real nice, I left the collar off that one, as I had way too much trouble with it. I used my dress dummy to pin the sleeves in first then hand basted them, then sewed them on the machine and they came out perfect that way. I wear that one all the time. except now it is comming apart in one of the back seams. I have to figure out how to fix that. I was so happy that pattern was so easy to alter.
7/15/08 3:18 PM
rjc said...
Well done...I am so impressed that I am going to get this pattern and give it a try myself...I doubt that mine will turn out quite so well though.
7/16/08 8:44 AM
Berniev said...
I think you did a beautiful job on this jacket. You look great. I will have to take a look at this pattern again. Thank you for the review.
10/31/08 5:14 PM
Enis said...
NicholeMc, You did a beautiful job on your jacket. I bought this pattern too and hope that when I finally make it, I have a nice a product as you do. Great job!
2/19/09 8:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2010-13

photo
by: dawn so ca...

Review
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6387

photo
by: KamiSue2

Review