SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4440 (Fitted Bodice A-line Dresses)

15 more reviews
Viewed 917 times 
Reviewed by:bbgrilla
photo

 
 
About bbgrilla
MA USA
Member since: 2/5/08
Reviews written: 4
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 4
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/08 9:15 AM
Last Updated:6/30/08 11:57 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
32 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RuthieSews said...
For some reason I can't make the small picture get any larger, but what I can see looks pretty good! Well done.
6/30/08 11:46 AM
SewingSusan said...
This is really nice. I love the denim with contrasting top-stitching. Looks great on you! Sometimes when I first read through a pattern I'll go through with a highlighter and highlight a bar along the section that applies. It's saved me from mistakes before.
6/30/08 11:54 AM
Ann Smith said...
It looks pretty smashing to me from your photos. Great fit, cute addition of the tie, even the top-stitching looks good from here. Keep it up, you are on a roll!
6/30/08 12:04 PM
rebija said...
Oooh. So Cute! I love the versatility of the Simplicity Project Runway patterns. Great Job!
6/30/08 12:13 PM
misscoleen said...
The dress looks perfect on you! Nice work. Thanks for the review.
6/30/08 12:38 PM
Kris O said...
Very cute. It looks like a nice job.
6/30/08 12:45 PM
mochalover said...
Very cute dress and excellent job!
6/30/08 12:46 PM
patrica said...
CONGRATS ITS PERFECT. NICE JOB
6/30/08 12:49 PM
kjcaron said...
Very pretty and flattering dress! Nice sewing!
6/30/08 1:20 PM
Nancy K said...
It is lovely on you! I love the polka dot lining.
6/30/08 3:46 PM
Morisot said...
Wow. You did a terrific job. The dress looks great.
6/30/08 4:11 PM
LindsayT said...
Great dress. Love the polka dot lining. Sure you're a beginner?
6/30/08 6:22 PM
Twinset said...
Really nice, I love it! The belt is not too short from my point of view, I think I saw something just like that at Anthropologie...
6/30/08 6:49 PM
JMarie1962 said...
I think your choice of denim and contrasting top stitching looks great - much better than the patter sleeve versions. Nice job!
6/30/08 7:02 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
Great job on the dress! It looks great on you.
6/30/08 8:50 PM
Gelbean said...
Super cute. Great job.
7/1/08 0:02 AM
tashainflorence said...
So cute, the dress looks great on you.
7/1/08 2:55 AM
sb1280 said...
Uh oh - I totally covet this dress! It looks terrific and I love the "surprise" polka dot facings and linings. It looks terrific on you - perfect for summer! Excellent job!
7/1/08 8:57 AM
Dei said...
Denim was the perfect chose. You took it from ho-hum to fabulous. And you look fab in it.
7/1/08 9:58 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous dress! You shouldn't regret the topstitching as it really makes the dress. Well done! I can't believe you have only been sewn for five months! Keep up the great work!
7/2/08 7:40 AM
Anabolina said...
Wow, I love your dress. It's lovely.
7/2/08 10:15 PM
AmyBee said...
You've definitely inspired me to do something in denim!
7/4/08 2:13 AM
shesflipped said...
This dress looks great on you! I love how it's denim and pretty at the same time!
7/4/08 11:18 PM
CarolynGM said...
Very chic dress. Nice idea to use the polka dot contrast.
7/5/08 5:01 PM
AnneM said...
Great dress. Love your lining fabric choice. You did a great job with this.
7/5/08 6:30 PM
Athene said...
This dress looks really nice in the picture even though you think your denim may be a bit too heavy. The fit looks really good too.
7/6/08 2:34 AM
Christina Sonja said...
Oooh, the polka dot lining is great - I love special stuff like that. Well done!!
7/7/08 5:31 PM
bbgrilla said...
Thank you so much for all the nice comments!
7/7/08 7:18 PM
Blooms said...
That's a great dress in denim. Very stylish!
7/7/08 7:29 PM
MissCelie said...
I wish I could have sewed like this after five months! It's just adorable. I love the denim.
7/8/08 7:20 AM
Woolygal said...
I'm amazed that you tackled this dress after only sewing for 5 months. Great Job!
7/8/08 12:15 PM
Sew What Teri said...
This is a very nicely made dress, you did a great job with the top stitching. Denim dresses never go out of style, so I think you'll be enjoying this dress for a long time.
7/9/08 5:47 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2007-105

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Sewing Workshop Inventor Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Little Belle Skirts Pattern

Buy Now
BurdaStyle Magazine 06-2005-110

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review