SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2008-125 (Trousers/Pants)

3 more reviews
Viewed 460 times 
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 182
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 156 people
patterns reviewed: 180
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/08 4:59 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Nice save on these! The final result is certainly very cute and flattering!
6/30/08 5:26 PM
Ronda Rae said...
Wonderful! We must have the same taste in clothing; I want to make these, too! Thank you for reviewing- It'll probably March 2010 before I get to them though. ;p Ronda
6/30/08 5:55 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Nice Pants.
6/30/08 6:15 PM
2BSewing said...
Your pants look great and fit beautifully. I guess you didn't really need the seam allowance after all. I enjoyed your review. :)
6/30/08 6:22 PM
Annette1 said...
You look AWESOME in these pants. I think your version is SO much classier than the pair shown on the model, not just in style but in construction, as well. I LOVE the center leg detailing on your version.
6/30/08 7:59 PM
ocotillo said...
Great pants! I have to say that I also think they looked fine in the wide version, but they look great now--just a different style. I love the topstitching you did. I always look forward to your reviews because we seem to have a similar frame and style. I've added this one to my wishlist, as well!
6/30/08 8:01 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
The final result is great! I'm not sure I would have had the determination to make all those adjustments. It was well worth the work.
6/30/08 8:55 PM
rosannec said...
I love your modification! I, too, loved the look of the pants on the fashion photos, but the line drawing had me second guessing. I own one pair of pants with pleat font legs and they do to me what these did to you pre-alteration. Great fix with sewing down the pleat! And, thank you for the review!!
6/30/08 10:03 PM
svenskaflicka said...
These are really cute with your modifications! I like yours better than the original. Those pleats opening at the thigh are weird.
6/30/08 10:25 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great save to have a very nice looking and fitting pair of pants.
7/1/08 7:01 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Your alterations really made this pair of pants look fantastic!
7/1/08 11:09 AM
Dei said...
I don't know what looks better, these pants or your flat stomach. With a 4 yr. old, no less. The pants are fantastic and I love the idea of continuing the pleat down the length on the leg. I really want to try this pattern, but had concerns over the wide leg as well.
7/1/08 9:56 PM
EveS said...
Wow, Dawn, those are seriously impressive! What a fabulous save!!! Love 'em, love 'em, love 'em.
7/2/08 0:54 AM
KrystalL said...
I agree with everyone else. Great save on the pants, and stitching the pleat all the way down was a good move! The look really nice.
7/3/08 8:42 AM
MareeAlison said...
Although I know the wide legs are all the fashion in Europe, I still like your pants better. They're fantastic.
7/4/08 0:46 AM
starset said...
The BURDA patterns are lovely - I selected several -- LISTED EASY - and am stuck and going no where. It is so discouraging to work on cutting, reading, only to find I do not know how to accomplish the end product. My sewing skills have simply gone to the dogs.
7/4/08 1:35 AM
Deepika said...
Thanks for your honest review. I too thought that they are bootleg but after reading your review I've decided that they may not be flattering on me. Your pants look awesome though. Great save!
7/21/08 2:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Vogue Patterns 8191

photo
by: Cosso

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Purse Frame Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Victory Chloe Paper Pattern

Buy Now
McCall's 6517

photo
by: butterflyf...

Review

Pattern