SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 06-2008-125 (Trousers/Pants)

3 more reviews
Viewed 460 times 
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 181
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 155 people
patterns reviewed: 179
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/08 4:59 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Nice save on these! The final result is certainly very cute and flattering!
6/30/08 5:26 PM
Ronda Rae said...
Wonderful! We must have the same taste in clothing; I want to make these, too! Thank you for reviewing- It'll probably March 2010 before I get to them though. ;p Ronda
6/30/08 5:55 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Nice Pants.
6/30/08 6:15 PM
2BSewing said...
Your pants look great and fit beautifully. I guess you didn't really need the seam allowance after all. I enjoyed your review. :)
6/30/08 6:22 PM
Annette1 said...
You look AWESOME in these pants. I think your version is SO much classier than the pair shown on the model, not just in style but in construction, as well. I LOVE the center leg detailing on your version.
6/30/08 7:59 PM
ocotillo said...
Great pants! I have to say that I also think they looked fine in the wide version, but they look great now--just a different style. I love the topstitching you did. I always look forward to your reviews because we seem to have a similar frame and style. I've added this one to my wishlist, as well!
6/30/08 8:01 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
The final result is great! I'm not sure I would have had the determination to make all those adjustments. It was well worth the work.
6/30/08 8:55 PM
rosannec said...
I love your modification! I, too, loved the look of the pants on the fashion photos, but the line drawing had me second guessing. I own one pair of pants with pleat font legs and they do to me what these did to you pre-alteration. Great fix with sewing down the pleat! And, thank you for the review!!
6/30/08 10:03 PM
svenskaflicka said...
These are really cute with your modifications! I like yours better than the original. Those pleats opening at the thigh are weird.
6/30/08 10:25 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great save to have a very nice looking and fitting pair of pants.
7/1/08 7:01 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Your alterations really made this pair of pants look fantastic!
7/1/08 11:09 AM
Dei said...
I don't know what looks better, these pants or your flat stomach. With a 4 yr. old, no less. The pants are fantastic and I love the idea of continuing the pleat down the length on the leg. I really want to try this pattern, but had concerns over the wide leg as well.
7/1/08 9:56 PM
EveS said...
Wow, Dawn, those are seriously impressive! What a fabulous save!!! Love 'em, love 'em, love 'em.
7/2/08 0:54 AM
KrystalL said...
I agree with everyone else. Great save on the pants, and stitching the pleat all the way down was a good move! The look really nice.
7/3/08 8:42 AM
MareeAlison said...
Although I know the wide legs are all the fashion in Europe, I still like your pants better. They're fantastic.
7/4/08 0:46 AM
starset said...
The BURDA patterns are lovely - I selected several -- LISTED EASY - and am stuck and going no where. It is so discouraging to work on cutting, reading, only to find I do not know how to accomplish the end product. My sewing skills have simply gone to the dogs.
7/4/08 1:35 AM
Deepika said...
Thanks for your honest review. I too thought that they are bootleg but after reading your review I've decided that they may not be flattering on me. Your pants look awesome though. Great save!
7/21/08 2:04 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Ottobre Design Magazine 03-2012-16

photo
by: cath1492

Review
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Favorite Things A Safe Place Pattern

Buy Now