Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 06-2008-125 (Trousers/Pants) - Type:Pants    printable version
Viewed 460 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:cabinbaby
photo
Friend of PR
About cabinbabystarstarstarstar
AK USA
Member since: 4/8/07
Reviews written: 177
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 153 people
patterns reviewed: 175
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/08 4:59 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
michellep74 said...
Nice save on these! The final result is certainly very cute and flattering!
6/30/08 5:26 PM
Ronda Rae said...
Wonderful! We must have the same taste in clothing; I want to make these, too! Thank you for reviewing- It'll probably March 2010 before I get to them though. ;p Ronda
6/30/08 5:55 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Nice Pants.
6/30/08 6:15 PM
2BSewing said...
Your pants look great and fit beautifully. I guess you didn't really need the seam allowance after all. I enjoyed your review. :)
6/30/08 6:22 PM
Annette1 said...
You look AWESOME in these pants. I think your version is SO much classier than the pair shown on the model, not just in style but in construction, as well. I LOVE the center leg detailing on your version.
6/30/08 7:59 PM
ocotillo said...
Great pants! I have to say that I also think they looked fine in the wide version, but they look great now--just a different style. I love the topstitching you did. I always look forward to your reviews because we seem to have a similar frame and style. I've added this one to my wishlist, as well!
6/30/08 8:01 PM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
The final result is great! I'm not sure I would have had the determination to make all those adjustments. It was well worth the work.
6/30/08 8:55 PM
rosannec said...
I love your modification! I, too, loved the look of the pants on the fashion photos, but the line drawing had me second guessing. I own one pair of pants with pleat font legs and they do to me what these did to you pre-alteration. Great fix with sewing down the pleat! And, thank you for the review!!
6/30/08 10:03 PM
svenskaflicka said...
These are really cute with your modifications! I like yours better than the original. Those pleats opening at the thigh are weird.
6/30/08 10:25 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Great save to have a very nice looking and fitting pair of pants.
7/1/08 7:01 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Your alterations really made this pair of pants look fantastic!
7/1/08 11:09 AM
Dei said...
I don't know what looks better, these pants or your flat stomach. With a 4 yr. old, no less. The pants are fantastic and I love the idea of continuing the pleat down the length on the leg. I really want to try this pattern, but had concerns over the wide leg as well.
7/1/08 9:56 PM
EveS said...
Wow, Dawn, those are seriously impressive! What a fabulous save!!! Love 'em, love 'em, love 'em.
7/2/08 0:54 AM
KrystalL said...
I agree with everyone else. Great save on the pants, and stitching the pleat all the way down was a good move! The look really nice.
7/3/08 8:42 AM
MareeAlison said...
Although I know the wide legs are all the fashion in Europe, I still like your pants better. They're fantastic.
7/4/08 0:46 AM
starset said...
The BURDA patterns are lovely - I selected several -- LISTED EASY - and am stuck and going no where. It is so discouraging to work on cutting, reading, only to find I do not know how to accomplish the end product. My sewing skills have simply gone to the dogs.
7/4/08 1:35 AM
Deepika said...
Thanks for your honest review. I too thought that they are bootleg but after reading your review I've decided that they may not be flattering on me. Your pants look awesome though. Great save!
7/21/08 2:04 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

New Look 6119
photo
Review by slmstyle on 4/25/13
Read Review

Salme Pleat Front Sleeveless Dress Digital Pattern
Salme Pleat Front Sleeveless Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Beachy Boatneck Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2949 Misses Topper
photo
Review by Brodie on 5/9/07
Read Review

You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Fan Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $18.15
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt
Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6629 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )
McCalls 6629 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 6926 Pattern
Burda 6926 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us