Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8499 (Marcy Tilton pant) thumbsup - Type:Suits / Separates    printable version
Viewed 1451 times 32 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 21 people   
Reviewed by:Ann Smith
photo
Friend of PR
About Ann Smithstarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 347
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 381 people
patterns reviewed: 344
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/2/08 2:05 AM
Last Updated:7/24/08 11:08 PM


See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $25.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Lori V said...
Those are very stylish pants, great job Ann.
7/2/08 5:45 AM
kkkkaty said...
I made these a few weeks ago, in the shorter version, and in a linen blend, and I love them! Crisp and cool, just right for a Sunday market on a warm and sunny morning....
7/2/08 6:47 AM
DeniseF said...
Very nice looking and I can see that they would be comfortable. Nice job.
7/2/08 6:52 AM
CarolynGM said...
Do make them again. I like the way yours turned out. They would be lovely in linen.
7/2/08 7:00 AM
carolynw said...
Hope yiou don't mind the word "cute" but this is exactly how these look on you. I hope you go for the linen - the style suits you so well
7/2/08 9:46 AM
piginaquilt said...
Very nice!
7/2/08 10:22 AM
DorothyK said...
I think they came out good but I agree about using a drapier fabric. I bet the linen would look great.
7/2/08 10:22 AM
Jane S said...
These do look like wonderful summer pants, love them with your top.
7/2/08 10:23 AM
Barbara V said...
These are good looking on you and turned out well despite your concern over the use of the fabric. I too am anxious to see these sewn with linen....go for it!
7/2/08 10:53 AM
Luckylibbet said...
Great summer pants! I bet they'll look wonderful in linen.
7/2/08 12:02 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
Linen would be the perfect fabric for these pants. I love your white top with the denim pair!
7/2/08 1:40 PM
sew2little said...
I just bought some Brussels Washer linen blend to make these pants--so your tips are welcome. Yours look just great, as usual. I'm curious about your method of removing 3 inches from the legs. Did you take a fold or reduce at the seam lines? Thanks, Marci
7/2/08 3:16 PM
loohoo44 said...
your topstitching looks great Ann, cute pants!
7/2/08 3:58 PM
Ann Smith said...
Marci, as I had already sewn these before realizing I needed to remove extra fabric I did it in the seam allowances. When I make them again I will fold out the excess before cutting and that way I can take more out of the back where it needs to be removed most. I took in all seams except the front leg seam.
7/2/08 5:05 PM
LindsayT said...
I think these pants rock! They look as good on you as they do on the pattern.
7/2/08 8:13 PM
Terri Smith said...
I looked at this pattern today, and thought, "I'll wait for a review" and here you are! The pants look much better on you than the envelope suggests. Nice work.
7/2/08 9:44 PM
Karine said...
These are currently a work in progress for me. I got a poly microfiber from Marcy Tilton's web site. She refers to it as "stretch woven foolproof pant fabric." Based on what I'm experiencing, I think your observations are right on target. The drape of my fabric seems to make the pants appear less full. Your finished pants, however, look great on you and I hope you try another pair!
7/3/08 8:32 AM
blue mooney said...
Thanks for your take on these pants. I like them, and want a pair myself! They look so cool!
7/4/08 7:41 AM
Dee2 said...
I love them! This version is even better than the first. Thanks for the update.
7/24/08 11:33 PM
pterion said...
Such a wonderful review - I have this pattern so thanks for the heads-up on the sizing. Both versions turned out great but I see what you mean about the drape of the linen bringing out the best in the pattern.
7/25/08 10:12 AM
Izzie said...
Great pants Ann! I have the pattern and I want to make them soon. Could you clarify what size you used? You said you used small on the 2nd pair, but the pattern is labled with numbered sizes (12-14-16 etc). How many sizes did you end up going down from your measurments? Thanks for the review, I always enjoy seeing your creations.
7/25/08 11:20 AM
Ann Smith said...
Izzie, I see I stated the sizing incorrectly. I meant to say I went a size smaller on the second pair and that would be two sizes smaller than my measurements indicated.
7/25/08 11:42 AM
DorothyK said...
I like these pants better than the original and I love the new top.
7/25/08 12:26 PM
LindsayT said...
You're rockin' that whole West Coast casual look! Nice!
7/25/08 2:33 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Very stylish, comfortable summer outfit. Thanks for the great review.
7/25/08 2:47 PM
davin said...
Reading your blog re: Haute Couture -- are they in the L.A. area? I'd love to learn more. Pls. leave me a message. Thanks, Davin
7/25/08 5:36 PM
Ann Smith said...
Davin, Haute Couture is a fashion/sewing club based in Stockton, Ca. Sorry, not in LA. Ann
7/25/08 7:18 PM
blue mooney said...
Love the whole outfit. I recognise the linen your top is made from! I looked really hard at it at JoAnn's but ended up passing on it. Wonder if they have any left?
7/26/08 6:56 PM
soulnoir said...
I agree. at least 3 inches need be removed from the side front and back.
11/18/08 10:55 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

New Look 6710
photo
Review by a.me.s on 2/10/08
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Pyper Ruffle Cardi Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Favorite Purse Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Favorite Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2006-113 Wrap Top
photo
Review by cabinbaby on 8/4/08
Read Review

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern
Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1361 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )
Simplicity 1361 Pattern ( Size 6-8-10-12-14 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3115 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3115 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us