SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 575 (Sonya's Blouse)

6 more reviews
Viewed 535 times 
Reviewed by:Kathi R
Friend of PR

About Kathi Rstarstar
Member since: 2/28/05
Reviews: 66 (patterns: 47)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 22 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/2/08 8:25 PM
Last Updated:7/2/08 8:29 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Nature's Fabrics

Natural & Organic Fabrics

Elliott Berman Textiles

Fabrics for Greater Ideas

O! Jolly! Shop

Sweater Knit Fabrics
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Aunt Gail said... (7/7/08 5:57 PM) Reply
Kathi - This is a FINE review. Besides your written commentary, the pix of the front and back yoke alterations was very helpful. I'm just starting out at a total redraw of pattern pieces. Your clear writing and the additional notes on the pix themselves REALLY are helpful additions.
mech said... (7/6/08 6:02 PM) Reply
Ohh - your blouse looks great! I wish I would have read your review before my failed attempt!! I think I've given up for now.
Tall Mary said... (7/3/08 11:47 AM) Reply
My much thinner than me modelled this blouse and told me that she had made no alterations. It fit her perfectly and I was going to buy the pattern. I am so glad that you reviewed this one thoroughly. Your blouse is beautiful thanks to your patience and skill but I think that I will pass on this one. Thanks for the helpful review.
kellymailinglist said... (7/3/08 10:53 AM) Reply
Thanks for the review--as a plus size gal myself, it's good to know when patterns are properly drafted for the size range, rather than simply scaled up. I appreciate that info. I think your result was dandy, regardless of how the pattern may have started out!
MaryBeth said... (7/3/08 10:09 AM) Reply
Hi Kathi: Funny thing about the straight, dartless, tunic based styles: even some of the best seamstresses with lots of fitting knowledge are frustrated by this kind of style. It's based on a rectangle and very difficult to make comfortable on a human body from curvy girl to slim sally. You've given it your all!
fryman said... (7/3/08 9:18 AM) Reply
I think you basically redrafted the pattern. It's great that you have such great fitting skills. I don't think I'll do a Silhouette pattern, yours looks great however.
carolynw said... (7/3/08 9:04 AM) Reply
Your hard work and tweaking sure paid off - very nice looking blouse
Vonnevo said... (7/3/08 5:24 AM) Reply
Great result Kathi, even though it was a lot of effort. Your patience and dedication are admirable :)
mastdenman said... (7/2/08 11:54 PM) Reply
Good job. Your fabric is nice. I just have buttons left to put on mine. I'll try and review it this weekend.
mastdenman said... (7/2/08 11:53 PM) Reply
Good job. Your fabric is nice and the fit is nice. I just have buttons left to put on mine. I'll try and review it this weekend.
Annette1 said... (7/2/08 10:29 PM) Reply
Oooo, very nice! All of your patience and fitting skills have really paid off. I predict you've got a TNT here!
sew2little said... (7/2/08 10:20 PM) Reply
Great blouse, Kathi. I love the fabric--what great taste you have! Marci
Sherril Miller said... (7/2/08 9:58 PM) Reply
Good thing I'm a patient gal. I think it came out perfectly. I know how hard you worked, and a pretty new blouse is your reward. I still have to cut out the pattern and see how much fun I can have with it. I'm definitely going to keep your alterations in mind since we're practically the same size. Just wish I was as tall.
Nancy Rhodes said... (7/2/08 9:56 PM) Reply
Hi Love your result... lots of neat details. You are a hero in that you kept at it & did not get discouraged & quit (I give up too easy sometimes). Great looking blouse! Thanks for the review.
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Ottobre Design Magazine 04-2013-14

by: grays08

The City Bag Paper Pattern

The City Bag Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Sew Liberated Aurelia Cardigan

Pattern Details
Papercut Patterns 1005

by: devviePuu