SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 575 (Sonya's Blouse)

5 more reviews
Viewed 512 times 
Reviewed by:Kathi R
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kathi Rstar
CA USA
Member since: 2/28/05
Reviews written: 65
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/2/08 8:25 PM
Last Updated:7/2/08 8:29 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Nancy Rhodes said...
Hi Love your result... lots of neat details. You are a hero in that you kept at it & did not get discouraged & quit (I give up too easy sometimes). Great looking blouse! Thanks for the review.
7/2/08 9:56 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Good thing I'm a patient gal. I think it came out perfectly. I know how hard you worked, and a pretty new blouse is your reward. I still have to cut out the pattern and see how much fun I can have with it. I'm definitely going to keep your alterations in mind since we're practically the same size. Just wish I was as tall.
7/2/08 9:58 PM
sew2little said...
Great blouse, Kathi. I love the fabric--what great taste you have! Marci
7/2/08 10:20 PM
Annette1 said...
Oooo, very nice! All of your patience and fitting skills have really paid off. I predict you've got a TNT here!
7/2/08 10:29 PM
mastdenman said...
Good job. Your fabric is nice and the fit is nice. I just have buttons left to put on mine. I'll try and review it this weekend.
7/2/08 11:53 PM
mastdenman said...
Good job. Your fabric is nice. I just have buttons left to put on mine. I'll try and review it this weekend.
7/2/08 11:54 PM
Vonnevo said...
Great result Kathi, even though it was a lot of effort. Your patience and dedication are admirable :)
7/3/08 5:24 AM
carolynw said...
Your hard work and tweaking sure paid off - very nice looking blouse
7/3/08 9:04 AM
fryman said...
I think you basically redrafted the pattern. It's great that you have such great fitting skills. I don't think I'll do a Silhouette pattern, yours looks great however.
7/3/08 9:18 AM
MaryBeth said...
Hi Kathi: Funny thing about the straight, dartless, tunic based styles: even some of the best seamstresses with lots of fitting knowledge are frustrated by this kind of style. It's based on a rectangle and very difficult to make comfortable on a human body from curvy girl to slim sally. You've given it your all!
7/3/08 10:09 AM
kellymailinglist said...
Thanks for the review--as a plus size gal myself, it's good to know when patterns are properly drafted for the size range, rather than simply scaled up. I appreciate that info. I think your result was dandy, regardless of how the pattern may have started out!
7/3/08 10:53 AM
Tall Mary said...
My much thinner than me modelled this blouse and told me that she had made no alterations. It fit her perfectly and I was going to buy the pattern. I am so glad that you reviewed this one thoroughly. Your blouse is beautiful thanks to your patience and skill but I think that I will pass on this one. Thanks for the helpful review.
7/3/08 11:47 AM
mech said...
Ohh - your blouse looks great! I wish I would have read your review before my failed attempt!! I think I've given up for now.
7/6/08 6:02 PM
Aunt Gail said...
Kathi - This is a FINE review. Besides your written commentary, the pix of the front and back yoke alterations was very helpful. I'm just starting out at a total redraw of pattern pieces. Your clear writing and the additional notes on the pix themselves REALLY are helpful additions.
7/7/08 5:57 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Sew Chic Beatrice Pocket Dress Pattern (ln1310)

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Buy Now