SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Silhouette Patterns> 575 (Sonya's Blouse)

5 more reviews
Viewed 514 times 
Reviewed by:Kathi R
photo

 
 
About Kathi Rstar
CA USA
Member since: 2/28/05
Reviews written: 65
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
patterns reviewed: 47
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/2/08 8:25 PM
Last Updated:7/2/08 8:29 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Aunt Gail said...
Kathi - This is a FINE review. Besides your written commentary, the pix of the front and back yoke alterations was very helpful. I'm just starting out at a total redraw of pattern pieces. Your clear writing and the additional notes on the pix themselves REALLY are helpful additions.
7/7/08 5:57 PM
mech said...
Ohh - your blouse looks great! I wish I would have read your review before my failed attempt!! I think I've given up for now.
7/6/08 6:02 PM
Tall Mary said...
My much thinner than me modelled this blouse and told me that she had made no alterations. It fit her perfectly and I was going to buy the pattern. I am so glad that you reviewed this one thoroughly. Your blouse is beautiful thanks to your patience and skill but I think that I will pass on this one. Thanks for the helpful review.
7/3/08 11:47 AM
kellymailinglist said...
Thanks for the review--as a plus size gal myself, it's good to know when patterns are properly drafted for the size range, rather than simply scaled up. I appreciate that info. I think your result was dandy, regardless of how the pattern may have started out!
7/3/08 10:53 AM
MaryBeth said...
Hi Kathi: Funny thing about the straight, dartless, tunic based styles: even some of the best seamstresses with lots of fitting knowledge are frustrated by this kind of style. It's based on a rectangle and very difficult to make comfortable on a human body from curvy girl to slim sally. You've given it your all!
7/3/08 10:09 AM
fryman said...
I think you basically redrafted the pattern. It's great that you have such great fitting skills. I don't think I'll do a Silhouette pattern, yours looks great however.
7/3/08 9:18 AM
carolynw said...
Your hard work and tweaking sure paid off - very nice looking blouse
7/3/08 9:04 AM
Vonnevo said...
Great result Kathi, even though it was a lot of effort. Your patience and dedication are admirable :)
7/3/08 5:24 AM
mastdenman said...
Good job. Your fabric is nice. I just have buttons left to put on mine. I'll try and review it this weekend.
7/2/08 11:54 PM
mastdenman said...
Good job. Your fabric is nice and the fit is nice. I just have buttons left to put on mine. I'll try and review it this weekend.
7/2/08 11:53 PM
Annette1 said...
Oooo, very nice! All of your patience and fitting skills have really paid off. I predict you've got a TNT here!
7/2/08 10:29 PM
sew2little said...
Great blouse, Kathi. I love the fabric--what great taste you have! Marci
7/2/08 10:20 PM
Sherril Miller said...
Good thing I'm a patient gal. I think it came out perfectly. I know how hard you worked, and a pretty new blouse is your reward. I still have to cut out the pattern and see how much fun I can have with it. I'm definitely going to keep your alterations in mind since we're practically the same size. Just wish I was as tall.
7/2/08 9:58 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Hi Love your result... lots of neat details. You are a hero in that you kept at it & did not get discouraged & quit (I give up too easy sometimes). Great looking blouse! Thanks for the review.
7/2/08 9:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Indygo Junction IJ874

photo
by: susandf

Review
Other Clever Charlotte

photo
by: Alison Cum...

Review
Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Favorite Things Little Lounge Around Pattern

Buy Now
Couch Caddy

Couch Caddy

Buy Now