SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 6515 (EAsy Seperates)

Viewed 347 times 
Reviewed by:Fabricgurl
photo

 
 
About Fabricgurlstar
OH
Member since: 12/17/07
Reviews written: 24
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 17
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/3/08 4:07 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized 


Review Rating: Helpful by 7 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Darla in PA said...
What a nice summer dress! Very creative with turning the pattern into a dress.
7/3/08 4:42 PM
Sherril Miller said...
I'm sorry you found linen so difficult. You must have gotten a bad quality as I find linen beautiful to sewn. It is one of my favorites. I like how you made this pattern your own and got a very nice summer dress as a reward. That ivory goes beautifully with your coloring.
7/3/08 4:43 PM
Fabricgurl said...
Thank you ladies so much.
7/3/08 5:27 PM
Amanda S. said...
This looks really nice on you. Perfect for summer. Great job!
7/3/08 5:47 PM
Cowtown Karen said...
Your dress is pretty and elegant. Good job!
7/3/08 6:12 PM
Kbenco said...
Your top makes a lovely dress, great use of the pattern. I like the ivory colouring on you too. I sew with linen frequently, and have never had a seam shredding problem - perhaps as Sherril suggested, the problem was a fault with the particular piece of fabric - I hope it doesn't put you off linen!
7/3/08 7:03 PM
Gold said...
Very nice dress!Great job on the changes!
7/3/08 7:11 PM
Jill Giard said...
Very nice!
7/3/08 8:45 PM
bananaoil said...
Kudos for taking that blouse where you wanted to go. The dress looks fresh and cool. For fabric that ravels, you could trim the seams with pinking shears, that might help a little bit. Or could use a narrow zig-zag or short straight stitch in the seam allowance before you sew the seams together. Don't judge all linen by this fabric. I've seen "linen" used to describe fabric that had never passed by a flax plant (had no real linen in it).
7/4/08 0:02 AM
blue mooney said...
Great adaptation, and you ended up with a wonderful summer dress. Some linens can be shifty and hard to work with, but usually they are very easy to handle and sew. They look great with topstitching. I hope you give linen another try. It is soooo comfy in the heat!
7/4/08 7:25 AM
carolynw said...
Lovely dress and you look so nice in it - good for you taking a pattern and making it into something else. Linen should not have shredded like you experienced - it is wonderful to work with - you will have to finish the seam edges but doubt you will need to go to the lengths you mention - maybe it was not so good linen - like any fabric there are different grades
7/4/08 8:18 AM
kellymailinglist said...
Lovely--your changes made for a very flattering fit!
7/4/08 8:28 AM
MarilynB said...
This pattern looks better as a dress than a top. It's very flattering on you.
7/4/08 9:17 AM
jcortell said...
very flattering!
7/4/08 11:13 AM
Jane S said...
Lovely summer dress. You really made this pattern work for you.
7/4/08 6:21 PM
Heatherrique said...
Very attractive dress, FabricGurl! Clever idea to conver this pattern to a dress! You look sensational!
7/4/08 6:38 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

My Image Magazine M1152

photo
by: westmoon

Review
Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Christine Jonson Cuff Pant

Buy Now
Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now