SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6203 (Evening Separates)

7 more reviews
Viewed 2196 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 245
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 88 people
patterns reviewed: 226
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/16/03 1:26 AM
Last Updated:6/5/05 7:42 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewScientist said...
Has anyone made one of the shirts? How does it fit? Based upon the garment measurements its a looser fit. I prefer a snugger fit so maybe I will make a size smaller.
10/21/05 0:22 AM
gardener said...
I'm so glad you opted for the drawstring! I'm about to do the same thing, and I'm glad it turned out. I bought some raw silk while I was in Singapore, it's all pinned, waiting to be sewn!
6/4/05 7:38 PM
Lisa Laree said...
I have some silk jacquard that's been in my stash long enough to have whiskers that I think is destined to be the tunic length top! Just need to get out the ol 'round tuit'! I've gotten lots of compliments on this outfit when I wear it, including the coveted 'You made that??' :p Alas, it's put up for the season now...
10/17/03 7:32 PM
klutzbydesign said...
I just bought this pattern, with the intent to make the top, I never thought about making the pants. Now you've inspired me! I like your whole outfit, definately looks comfortable, drapey and chic. If you get around to making one of the tops, I'd love to know how that came out!
10/17/03 6:05 PM
Jules/Vancouver BC said...
Wow - does that outfit ever look cool and comfy...and slimming! I keep on saying it - wide leg pants, especially in drapey fabrics, are a very slimming look - much more so than the usual somewhat tapered style.
7/16/03 11:03 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Great review, Lisa, I too never considered horizontal stripes for pants but yours look really good!
7/16/03 7:25 PM
Ann C said...
Neat pants and top. Thanks for sharing your experience with the fabric. Haven't sewn on Tencel yet.
7/16/03 3:37 PM
Lisa Laree said...
thanks, ladies! Pam, I felt 'empowered ' to use the horizontal stripes when I saw Nancy Erickson's May newsletter; she had a photo of knit pants with horizontal stripes that really didn't look too bad. I think the stripes work on this because 1) the fabric is so drapey 2) the stripes are very narrow and 3) the crinkles add a hint of vertical lines. I did think about it as I was cutting it out, though, and hoped the stripes wouldn't make me look 'as broad as a barn' ;)
7/16/03 11:14 AM
Lou. said...
Love the outfit!
7/16/03 9:22 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Great Job Lisa. I love the outfit! -Ann
7/16/03 9:20 AM
Jeanine said...
I really like your pants, they look so nice on you. And your stripes match up so perfectly!
7/16/03 9:19 AM
AnneM said...
What great pants! Love that fabric. This pattern does have some nice designs, and obviously has even more versatility when in your hands.
7/16/03 7:56 AM
Pam Z said...
Cool outfit, Lisa! Your pattern changes are great. Who would think horizontal stripes could be so slimming :)
7/16/03 2:58 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Kwik Sew 3696

photo
by: DebLee

Review
Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

Sew Chic Phantom Jacket and Pant Pattern (ln1106)

More Info
Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

Petite Plus Patterns Yoked Blouse

More Info