SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> New Look> 6203 (Evening Separates)

7 more reviews
Viewed 2196 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 244
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 87 people
patterns reviewed: 225
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/16/03 1:26 AM
Last Updated:6/5/05 7:42 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    Formalwear    
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $4.49 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Pam Z said...
Cool outfit, Lisa! Your pattern changes are great. Who would think horizontal stripes could be so slimming :)
7/16/03 2:58 AM
AnneM said...
What great pants! Love that fabric. This pattern does have some nice designs, and obviously has even more versatility when in your hands.
7/16/03 7:56 AM
Jeanine said...
I really like your pants, they look so nice on you. And your stripes match up so perfectly!
7/16/03 9:19 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Great Job Lisa. I love the outfit! -Ann
7/16/03 9:20 AM
Lou. said...
Love the outfit!
7/16/03 9:22 AM
Lisa Laree said...
thanks, ladies! Pam, I felt 'empowered ' to use the horizontal stripes when I saw Nancy Erickson's May newsletter; she had a photo of knit pants with horizontal stripes that really didn't look too bad. I think the stripes work on this because 1) the fabric is so drapey 2) the stripes are very narrow and 3) the crinkles add a hint of vertical lines. I did think about it as I was cutting it out, though, and hoped the stripes wouldn't make me look 'as broad as a barn' ;)
7/16/03 11:14 AM
Ann C said...
Neat pants and top. Thanks for sharing your experience with the fabric. Haven't sewn on Tencel yet.
7/16/03 3:37 PM
SouthernStitch said...
Great review, Lisa, I too never considered horizontal stripes for pants but yours look really good!
7/16/03 7:25 PM
Jules/Vancouver BC said...
Wow - does that outfit ever look cool and comfy...and slimming! I keep on saying it - wide leg pants, especially in drapey fabrics, are a very slimming look - much more so than the usual somewhat tapered style.
7/16/03 11:03 PM
klutzbydesign said...
I just bought this pattern, with the intent to make the top, I never thought about making the pants. Now you've inspired me! I like your whole outfit, definately looks comfortable, drapey and chic. If you get around to making one of the tops, I'd love to know how that came out!
10/17/03 6:05 PM
Lisa Laree said...
I have some silk jacquard that's been in my stash long enough to have whiskers that I think is destined to be the tunic length top! Just need to get out the ol 'round tuit'! I've gotten lots of compliments on this outfit when I wear it, including the coveted 'You made that??' :p Alas, it's put up for the season now...
10/17/03 7:32 PM
gardener said...
I'm so glad you opted for the drawstring! I'm about to do the same thing, and I'm glad it turned out. I bought some raw silk while I was in Singapore, it's all pinned, waiting to be sewn!
6/4/05 7:38 PM
SewScientist said...
Has anyone made one of the shirts? How does it fit? Based upon the garment measurements its a looser fit. I prefer a snugger fit so maybe I will make a size smaller.
10/21/05 0:22 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sew Liberated Fleece Hoodie

photo
by: Stacie Thi...

Review
Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

Buy Now