Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 05-2008-123 (Cropped Blouse/Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 431 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 295
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 295
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/4/08 12:16 PM
Last Updated:7/4/08 12:16 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Vivienne said...
Hope you're wearing this cute little number today!
7/4/08 12:26 PM
squirrellypoo said...
It looks fantastic! I love the fabric, too, you should submit this to ikieahacker... And thanks for the translations. :)
7/4/08 1:09 PM
CatMukai said...
I like it and think using two buttons was a good choice. The sleeves are also adorable! I'm gonna give this pattern a second look now, and maybe head to IKEA, too....
7/4/08 1:38 PM
Beryl said...
I love your tops! This is another great one. It looks very good on you. I also think the captions for your pictures on your site are really clever.
7/4/08 1:40 PM
Frogstitcher said...
Yea, I'm so glad you reviewed this pattern. This is one that I really liked from this issue and I'm still considering it. Congratulations on your first BWOF jacket - it's wonderful in red.
7/4/08 1:59 PM
michellep74 said...
Ooh, I love everything about this! The fit, the IKEA fabric...everything!
7/4/08 5:11 PM
fabeins said...
That's adorable. I recently saw this at Ikea but was afraid of the scale, but you really make it work!
7/4/08 5:15 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
Such a great jacket! I LOVE the fabric. I've been to IKEA but never realized what great fabric they have. Great job!
7/4/08 8:42 PM
2BSewing said...
Great looking jacket! Congrats on your first BWOF jacket. I'm still looking through my first issue wondering what to try. lol! Your fabric is a winner...got to love IKEA for its unique design. Enjoyed your review and Burda interpretations. :)
7/4/08 9:01 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh, this is PERFECT for the 4th, and all summer long too. I LOVE your fabric, and when you see the entire jacket, you have nothing to worry about with the placement of the design either. It REALLY looks nice on you -- just perfect for your petite frame. Great review!
7/4/08 9:22 PM
blessedtosew said...
I have been wanting to see this jacket sewn up. It is gorgeous. Thank you for translating the Burda verbage. It will he helpful when I attempt this jacket.
7/4/08 9:36 PM
MareeAlison said...
I really like your jacket and your great review. Thank you.
7/4/08 10:16 PM
crisford said...
Very cute jacket! And great job on not getting bogged down in the instructions!
7/5/08 2:29 AM
ITAdmin said...
You're right, this would be cute for Valentine's Day. Sounds as if you're learning to speak Burda very well.
7/5/08 6:57 AM
Karen8320 said...
Congratulations on your first BWOF jacket! You've honestly done a great job and this jacket looks good on you. I never noticed anything about the design placement - in fact, I was quite impressed at how you cleverly matched the design in the centre front. Fabric from IKEA - what a great IDEA!
7/5/08 7:55 AM
shesflipped said...
This is super cute! I ADORE this fabric and had no idea IKEA sold fabric. I clicked your link to their site...I think I was drooling! Nearest IKEA is 2 1/2 - 3 hours away. I need to come up with some kind of road trip! Adorable! (and, yes wear it with blue! I would even do yellow!)
7/5/08 8:12 AM
Birgitte said...
Now this is one smart, fresh jacket! Excellent choices you made here.
7/5/08 1:30 PM
Dmd4106 said...
Cute jacket! I like it as single breasted jacket too! I hope you rocked it with your blue or black jeans. I'm on my way to get some of that fabric though.
7/5/08 7:56 PM
kellymailinglist said...
What a great review, and a great jacket. Love 'My-KEA' and 'burdage verbage'!
7/6/08 6:04 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Adorable jacket. I like how you used the fabric to compliment the style of the jacket.
7/6/08 7:30 AM
nancy2001 said...
What a cute summer jacket. Looks great on you.
7/7/08 6:22 AM
Markie1 said...
This is adorable! Thanks so much for translating the Burda instructions for me, because, based on your review, I am going to make this! Well done, i love the fabric.
7/10/08 2:44 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Simplicity 2311
photo
Review by michou68 on 10/18/10
Read Review

Burda 7065 Pattern
Burda 7065 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8849 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8849 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3076
photo
Review by CarolynD on 1/22/06
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Coney Island Tankini Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern
Oliver + S Lullaby Layette Set Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern
SewBaby Prairie Bonnet Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern
Sewing Workshop Riviera Shirt Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us