Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8489 (MISSES’ DRESS) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 1030 times 22 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
Reviewed by:drsue
photo
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews written: 169
Sewing skills:Beginner
Favored by: 184 people
patterns reviewed: 152
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/4/08 2:45 PM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $22.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $22.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Elona said...
Cute little dress, Dr. Sue (and nice to see you here).
7/4/08 2:52 PM
Terri Smith said...
I missed you! And your dress does look better than RTW. Thanks for the review and the warning!
7/4/08 3:02 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous drsue !!! I have missed you and glad to see you here :))))
7/4/08 3:17 PM
Olivia Sews said...
I love that color and Thanks for the tips sewing this. How about sewing in a modesty panel at the bodice? I have missed your reviews.
7/4/08 4:31 PM
CarolynGM said...
I love your color combo. Any aggravation is so worth it if the dress makes your figure look 20 years younger. You should model it for us.
7/4/08 5:01 PM
echolalia said...
I am another who has missed your reviews and postings. Your reviews always highlight the good points and warn about the difficulties and this is no exceptions. Thanks.
7/4/08 8:35 PM
mermaids said...
what a fab dress. despite your issues with it and the fact that i will need to grade it down at least two sizes, i might give this one a try because i totally love the waist line treatment.
7/5/08 5:27 AM
tinac said...

7/5/08 7:32 AM
tinac said...
I like the contrasting bands and the colors are gorgeous. I found that using Steam A Seam to hold the facings in place made it almost effortless sewing everything...took a bit of time, bit no wrinkles. I also sewed a piece of fabric into the front neckline as a fake cami because, YES it is low!
7/5/08 7:33 AM
cindyann said...
Glad to "see" ya, Sue. Pretty dress. Love the contrast you used for neck and sleeves.
7/5/08 11:44 AM
Robin Denning said...
Thank you for all the details about your experience. I just bought this pattern and some fun poly knit and I am working up the courage to give it a try. The short sleeve looks very nice, I may do it that way, too.
7/5/08 4:30 PM
goldenthreads said...
drsue, i love your outfits and your reviews,
8/7/08 11:43 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Ay, bummer that the process dragged out so, but the viewer sees nothing but a pretty dress in a lovely color :) Betcha it's pretty on you.
11/11/08 4:59 AM
jso4fun said...
Hi drsue, I am a newbie on PR, and I've really enjoyed looking at your reviews. I am really pleased to find another short/petite sewer. If you get this message, do you want to exchange info? What patterns work the best for you? I love Sewing Workshop patterns but they are humongous on me (5', 106 pounds). I am slowly learning what alterations I need to make on patterns, as I get back into sewing for myself. Hope to hear from you!
3/12/09 10:41 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Online Sewing Classes
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Jalie 2908
photo
Review by Mazzygirl on 8/25/10
Read Review

SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern
SewBaby Animal Mittens Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Veronica Pocketbook
Veronica Pocketbook

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Sundress Digital Pattern
Salme Sundress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Leighanna Peasant Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2009-101
photo
Review by Kim12469 on 11/27/09
Read Review

New Look 6188 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )
New Look 6188 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16-18 )

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6531 Pattern
New Look 6531 Pattern

Details
Price: $4.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us