SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Brother
Brother

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8489 (MISSES’ DRESS)

23 more reviews
Viewed 1034 times 
Reviewed by:drsue
photo

 
 
About drsuestarstarstarstar
Member since: 11/11/03
Reviews: 169 (patterns: 152)
Skill level:Beginner
Favored by: 183 people
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/4/08 2:45 PM
Review Rating:
Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
jso4fun said... (3/12/09 10:41 PM) Reply
Hi drsue, I am a newbie on PR, and I've really enjoyed looking at your reviews. I am really pleased to find another short/petite sewer. If you get this message, do you want to exchange info? What patterns work the best for you? I love Sewing Workshop patterns but they are humongous on me (5', 106 pounds). I am slowly learning what alterations I need to make on patterns, as I get back into sewing for myself. Hope to hear from you!
Katharine in BXL said... (11/11/08 4:59 AM) Reply
Ay, bummer that the process dragged out so, but the viewer sees nothing but a pretty dress in a lovely color :) Betcha it's pretty on you.
goldenthreads said... (8/7/08 11:43 AM) Reply
drsue, i love your outfits and your reviews,
Robin Denning said... (7/5/08 4:30 PM) Reply
Thank you for all the details about your experience. I just bought this pattern and some fun poly knit and I am working up the courage to give it a try. The short sleeve looks very nice, I may do it that way, too.
cindyann said... (7/5/08 11:44 AM) Reply
Glad to "see" ya, Sue. Pretty dress. Love the contrast you used for neck and sleeves.
tinac said... (7/5/08 7:33 AM) Reply
I like the contrasting bands and the colors are gorgeous. I found that using Steam A Seam to hold the facings in place made it almost effortless sewing everything...took a bit of time, bit no wrinkles. I also sewed a piece of fabric into the front neckline as a fake cami because, YES it is low!
tinac said... (7/5/08 7:32 AM) Reply

mermaids said... (7/5/08 5:27 AM) Reply
what a fab dress. despite your issues with it and the fact that i will need to grade it down at least two sizes, i might give this one a try because i totally love the waist line treatment.
echolalia said... (7/4/08 8:35 PM) Reply
I am another who has missed your reviews and postings. Your reviews always highlight the good points and warn about the difficulties and this is no exceptions. Thanks.
CarolynGM said... (7/4/08 5:01 PM) Reply
I love your color combo. Any aggravation is so worth it if the dress makes your figure look 20 years younger. You should model it for us.
Olivia Sews said... (7/4/08 4:31 PM) Reply
I love that color and Thanks for the tips sewing this. How about sewing in a modesty panel at the bodice? I have missed your reviews.
Vonnevo said... (7/4/08 3:17 PM) Reply
Fabulous drsue !!! I have missed you and glad to see you here :))))
Terri Smith said... (7/4/08 3:02 PM) Reply
I missed you! And your dress does look better than RTW. Thanks for the review and the warning!
Elona said... (7/4/08 2:52 PM) Reply
Cute little dress, Dr. Sue (and nice to see you here).
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

New Look 6074

photo
by: SewWil

Review
No Pattern Used 0001

photo
by: BADBamaBun...

Review
Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Be Green Market Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Sew Chic Southern Belle Dress Pattern (ln8503)

Pattern Details