SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Simplicity> 3503 (Misses Day or Evening Knit)

101 more reviews
Viewed 2048 times 
Reviewed by:MissCelie
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About MissCeliestarstarstarstar
MD United States
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 227 people
patterns reviewed: 130
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:7/4/08 7:39 PM
Last Updated:4/3/09 11:07 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 23 people   
See other patterns in this category: Formalwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
69 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
French.Seam said...
I was going to make view D, but after seeing your dress, I'm going for a maxi, it's just gorgeous, and the sunny colour suits your skin so well
1/25/10 12:53 PM
Bonnie123 said...
Very nice....I love the fabric choice and version you made. I am soon to make this pattern and I agree, who needs pockets????
7/10/09 10:05 AM
Raye Ann said...
i am late to the party- but this dress if FABULOUS! great fit and really great fabric-
6/3/09 10:07 PM
Kellie R. said...
Gorgeous! Your friend is so lucky!
4/6/09 11:30 AM
Lisa p said...
This is now on my to do list , GORGEOUS !!
4/4/09 3:18 AM
SewingSho said...
I love it, the fabric is perfect. I'm looking for nice boho fabric to make several maxi dresses out of; do you have any suggestions?
3/9/09 9:31 PM
neverenoughtime said...
Great Review, Great fitting job!
2/1/09 10:39 AM
JJ said...
Awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
8/31/08 3:29 AM
Hooptastic said...
OMG! TOTALLY CUTE - LOVE LOVE LOVE LOVE (did I say LOVE?) it.
8/21/08 1:45 AM
trishapatk said...
Looks great on you! I've never been into patterned fabric but this makes it obvious that it can make a dress quite smashing. Great job!
8/1/08 5:43 PM
Jennielee685 said...
Those colors are perfect on you!
8/1/08 12:30 PM
Big Dog said...
Hey Hot Mama, that dress is just stunning on you. It lookslike time for dinner and dancing to celebrate such a gorgeous creation!
7/28/08 7:03 AM
Meggie LuLu said...
What a BEAUTIFUL dress!!! You look WONDERFUL in it and it fits GREAT!!! Your fabric is ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS!!!
7/24/08 7:46 PM
misscoleen said...
Great looking dress! I haven't thought about maxi's since 1976! Seeing you in yours makes me want one too!! Beautiful...
7/23/08 5:34 PM
Marji said...
Chiming in on the Amazing Looking part. I just love the engineered prints and what you've done with the placement. Raising my hand in the corner, wanting one.
7/15/08 10:52 AM
KrystalL said...
Okay, I am so late to this review, but your dress is gorgeous. I'm a maxi dress fan too! Can you ever have too many? And I totally love the no hemming idea! If you don't need to, why put yourself through it? LOL
7/14/08 8:57 AM
Athene said...
You look fabulous - a stunning dress and you pull if off so well.
7/12/08 5:51 PM
Rhonda Noah said...
Fabulous! This dress is so versatile, I can see it at a casual outing as well as a more formal one. Or, for just sipping a glass of champagne while waiting for Sunday brunch to be ready....
7/11/08 9:48 PM
janet said...
You look hot!
7/9/08 9:09 PM
chrisquilts_2 said...
please share you "sorting out of sew in bra cups". Some of us still haven't mastered that one. Looks fantastic on you.
7/9/08 12:52 PM
nicegirl said...
This came out GREAT! And I love the way you centered the big motifs. I never have the patience for that sort of thing.
7/8/08 11:49 AM
Twinset said...
What a beautiful dress that fits you like a dream! Really nice placement of fabric, too!
7/7/08 7:12 PM
Karen6790 said...
Absolutely gorgeous, and even better because of all you had to go through to get it done in time. I'm with you on the no-hemming on knit dresses, I've made 2 now and I've given up even saying "oh, I just haven't gotten around to it yet."
7/7/08 10:42 AM
Gold said...
Your dress came out beautiful!!
7/6/08 10:21 PM
leeak said...
Beautiful dress and it looks wonderful on you!!!
7/6/08 7:13 PM
phthooey said...
OK, this dress rules. Simple as that. Great job with the print, and the style is perfect for you!
7/6/08 4:47 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
As always, Outstanding!
7/6/08 7:33 AM
Dei said...
Love it!
7/5/08 11:24 PM
Markie1 said...
I LOVE your reviews Cidell! And I LOVE this dress! I, too made a dress for the Fourth and was ripping things out up to Friday morning. Ann's fabric is gorgeous (what else) and your use of it is, as usual, spot on. Next on my list for sure.
7/5/08 9:48 PM
Heatherrique said...
Cidell, this is definitely a beautiful work of art! You can wear anything and look sensational!
7/5/08 9:10 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Gorgeous fabric and it made up very nicely as a maxi dress. Looks great on you!
7/5/08 8:03 PM
carolynw said...
Oh I love this and you look just superb in it - way to go girl!!
7/5/08 4:42 PM
Sigrid. said...
SUPER. Great use of the print, and happy for you that the fabric arrived in time.
7/5/08 4:30 PM
svenskaflicka said...
Ooh, I missed this on first posting! Very cool! It reminds me of the Nicole Miller patterned maxis.
7/5/08 4:29 PM
StyleGirl68 said...
I actually have had this pattern for some time and was not sure if it would be flattering. Based on your review and photos, I am now going to be making this one very soon! Thanks so much for the inspiration. Your dress is gorgeous!
7/5/08 3:22 PM
Ann Smith said...
Smashing look on you! And great review. You are amazing.
7/5/08 1:08 PM
shesflipped said...
I LOVE this Dress on you simply stunning! When I clicked on the picture, I saw that I have the very same fabric! I swear, it is the most beautiful fabric I have ever seen!
7/5/08 1:06 PM
loohoo44 said...
Love your review!! LOL And great, great dress. Pattern, fabric, EVERYTHING!!
7/5/08 11:36 AM
cindyann said...
It's perfection on you!
7/5/08 11:32 AM
Mary Stiefer said...
You've done it again - another beautiful creation
7/5/08 11:18 AM
mastdenman said...
Fabulous dress. Wonderful use of the design of the fabric. You look great.
7/5/08 10:45 AM
cmarie12 said...
Love the bias cut! It makes the fabric sing!
7/5/08 10:18 AM
cabinbaby said...
That dress is dead cute. Thanks for sharing it!!!
7/5/08 10:16 AM
Mahler said...
Magnifique ! You look wonderful. This is a really great review as well. So you put on weight behind your ears ? ;-) Common! This dress is a master piece on you.
7/5/08 9:56 AM
leanmeansewingmachine said...
The dress looks amazing! You did a great job.
7/5/08 8:17 AM
Karen8320 said...
Cidell, you look absolutely gorgeous! What a fabulous job you've done with this print - so professional! Everything about it is so stylish. I'm very impressed.
7/5/08 8:12 AM
Linda G said...
Beautiful work, dress and you.
7/5/08 6:20 AM
crisford said...
You look awesome, and the photo is so professional!
7/5/08 2:40 AM
CynthiaSue said...
Hey gorgeous. only real stylish, classy ladies can pull of the maxi dress. You look straight out of a magazine! right on girl!
7/5/08 1:49 AM
Annette1 said...
FAAAAAAAAAAAAAANTASTIC! Love the use of the print in your design. :o)
7/5/08 1:02 AM
sewmodest said...
Okay my jaw just dropped!!!!!!! I have to get this fabric now. Lovely and the little one says hi again ;)
7/5/08 0:37 AM
Sewing Chick said...
Cidell, you always blow me away with your designs. Another winner!
7/5/08 0:29 AM
EveS said...
FABULOUS dress!!! I just love this style but have yet to make one. Ironically, I had my hand on this one in stash the other day and thought, "Hmmm, wonder if I've already missed the boat on this trend?" Thanks for the nudge! I'll have to whip one up before the end of the season for sure. You think this could work w/ a halter-strap bra or is the back too low?
7/5/08 0:13 AM
Sheila457 said...
Awesome dress.
7/4/08 11:55 PM
Lori V said...
Fabulous, Cidell, you look wonderful and great job on the fabric.
7/4/08 11:23 PM
ladybirdlove said...
stunning! I've actually got the other view of this on the board right now...
7/4/08 11:07 PM
cindy-lou said...
Okay. LOVE the dress! You lined it up perfectly, too. Very Kevin Christiana of you to skip the hem-- keeps it light and flowy (and easy to make!). I'm in line after Sue V for this one!
7/4/08 10:07 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Great dress! It is very flattering on you and I like the style. (Much nicer than the maxi dresses my mother wore last time round. :) ) I also really like the way you used the print/stripes on the front. Glad you got your extra fabric.
7/4/08 10:06 PM
SueV said...
Wow, I love it, the way you did the fabric, it's beautiful and looks great on you; when your done with it, I'll take it :)
7/4/08 9:33 PM
Cowtown Karen said...
Absolutely stunning! Super job!
7/4/08 9:14 PM
Vonnevo said...
Fabulous Cidell !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
7/4/08 8:45 PM
echolalia said...
And that is why we sew! Stunning. Enjoy.
7/4/08 8:42 PM
CurlyCrafter said...
What a striking dress with your fabric selection. You look so great!
7/4/08 8:39 PM
CarolynGM said...
Wow -- you sew fast. The dress is perfect, and Ann is a really nice name. I love the way you arranged the motifs.
7/4/08 8:30 PM
heathercampbell29 said...
Gorgeous! Has a nice 70's feel without being overly retro.
7/4/08 8:19 PM
piginaquilt said...
Beautiful!! I love the way you chose to maximize the print.
7/4/08 8:09 PM
PegL said...
You look fabulous!! Great use of that fabric!
7/4/08 7:51 PM
Nancy K said...
Looks great on you! Glad you got the fabric in time.
7/4/08 7:51 PM
Gelbean said...
It's beautiful!
7/4/08 7:45 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Buy Now