SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> flax eye rest (flax eye rest)

Viewed 193 times 
Reviewed by:tourist
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About touriststar
BC CANADA
Member since: 7/23/07
Reviews written: 17
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 6 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/5/08 10:47 PM
Last Updated:7/5/08 10:47 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
4 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
SewVeryTall said...
I wonder why flax is used to fill it...is there some benefit? It seems like this would be more comfortable without the weight of the flax, if it is used only for keeping light out of your eyes. I'll check back for your reply, hopefully :)
7/6/08 4:30 AM
tourist said...
The weight of the flax is really nice and helps the eyes relax. Some/most people love it, others not. Personally, I found it comfortable even when I wore contact lenses. Flax is especially nice because even under the fabric it feels smooth and is easy to shape to get the weight just where you want it. It can be kept in the freezer for a cool eye pack, though not recommended for warming as the flax oil would not tolerate the heat well. You can add lavender or essential oils for a scented effect. The flax does eventually go "off" but the set of plain rectangular ones we have used for yoga classes have been good for well over 5 years before we needed to dump the seeds, wash the bags and refill them.
7/6/08 11:43 AM
SewVeryTall said...
Aha, so it's not used just to keep the light out. I didn't know that weight helped to relax the eyes...thanks for your reply! I buy flax for its omega-3 and fiber content, so I already have it on hand...I may try your design. Thanks for the review!
7/7/08 7:08 AM
tourist said...
Well, it does keep the light out as well - at least, as one of my yoga teachers says, the "external light" because with any luck the "internal light" always shines:-)
7/7/08 10:13 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Sew Liberated Simple Skinny Jeans Pattern

Buy Now