SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Folkwear> 240 (Rosie the Riveter)

Viewed 1003 times 
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 166
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 49 people
patterns reviewed: 120
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:7/6/08 12:08 PM
Last Updated:2/16/09 4:05 PM


Folkwear: 240 by FreyaStark  Folkwear: 240 by FreyaStark  
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
Very cute!
2/16/09 10:09 PM
fourkid said...
This is a great pattern - I loved your pictures wearing it. And you choose such beautiful fabrics!!!
2/16/09 6:16 PM
Kellie R. said...
I love your shirt! I love fun fabrics, tropical fabrics and fun garments - your lovely shirt fits all of these descriptions. Great job!
2/16/09 4:24 PM
fuzzygalore said...
I have extreme trouble remembering different seam allowances myself too - much better to trim after sewing the usual. Why don't you just trace the affected pieces, draw a regular allowance around them (or add whatever to it if you don't have seamlines) and use these pieces instead (big "NO' on the old ones). It'd take you 15mn, and spare you the grief for many future shirts. This is a really nice shirt, no point in looking elsewhere, it's worth a bit of time to make it all yours..
1/10/09 2:42 AM
birdmcfarland said...
Excellent photo! And I love the shirt! I just ordered my first Folkwear pattern, but I may have to do this shirt also.
1/9/09 10:12 AM
dbsewer said...
Love your shirt and the fabric is great. FYI, the sa is an issue on most of the Folkwear patterns. I keep the pattern handy to remind myself, but these patterns are fun to make otherwise, with period details included in the historic ones.
1/9/09 9:18 AM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks all for your comments and suggestions. No, I haven't tried the Rosie the Riveter pants, although I certainly like the style.
7/7/08 10:02 PM
HeyJane said...
Great looking shirt, and a nice photo of it "in action"!
7/7/08 10:16 AM
elanor said...
Oops...tried to fix a spelling mistake. Still love your shirt!
7/7/08 9:30 AM
elanor said...
Love it! I've started toying with the idea of cutting all the seam allowances off my patterns after working with Burda WOF. I just draw the seam line on with a washable marker. Makes for accurate sewing. And I really appreciate your action shot. It's nice to see clothes in their natural environment. I've liked this shirt for a while. Have you tried the pants?
7/7/08 9:29 AM
Aixoise said...
Great shirt in that fabric. If you want to experiment with an alternative, try Cutting Line Designs Town and Country shirt pattern. I've made several of these campshirts and the construction is magical. The line drawing looks exactly like the shirt you made.
7/6/08 2:04 PM
crisford said...
What a great photo! THe difference in seam allowance should be noted on the pattern pieces. But you could also write your own reminder on them with a bright color. Usually it's easier to work with a smaller SA on the collar pieces. They should come out more accurate, with less trimming.
7/6/08 1:23 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Alabama Chanin sleeveless tee and skirt

photo
by: beanchor

Review
Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Retro Granny Skirt Formula Pattern

More Info
Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

More Info